Baba 's Reviews > After Hours

After Hours by Cara McKenna
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4669232
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: dirty-talker, erotica-or-erotic-romance, older-hero-younger-heroine, books-kelly-and-baba-liked-or-loved, cara-mckenna, best-sex-scenes, memorable-favorite-heroes
Read 2 times. Last read May 2, 2016 to May 5, 2016.

4.5 stars. Reread May 2016. Review edited May 8, 2016

 photo oie_kYGSVOfCDEKB_zpshc342xej.gif

I enjoyed Willing Victim very much, but I think that After Hours is better. Much better, that is. There is more meat to the bone and the story is longer and also better developed. Though I think that Flynn is superior when it comes to dirty talk.

After a somewhat bumpy beginning, I really did warm up to Kelly. I love his smile, his motivation for working as an orderly in a psychiatric ward and his irresistible skills as a lover. Let's face it: the man doesn't beat around the bush between the sheets. About halfway through, there is a superb and long sex scene that's intensely erotic and fu%%ing amazing. Yum. Kelly Robak can do me anytime six ways from sunday. It's kinda strange, though After Hours did remind me a little bit of Willing Victim, even though the stories and characters are different. I'm not sure, but maybe it was the controlling sex or the bossy hero. Be that as it may, I absolutely enjoy Cara's voice and engaging writing. Witty and bold dialogue as well as interesting characters did complete a compelling picture.

Kelly Sexy-As-Sin Robak, come on over here to Baba! We need to have a little heart-to-heart. Hold your horses, and stop right now. Don't growl and get it into your thick head of yours. You can't boss me around. Nope, I'm in charge now. I wanna look into your intriguing eyes while having a serious chat. I promise to be very nice. *crosses fingers behind back* Please scroll down…

He leaned his elbow on the bar and looked me square in the face. "I got exes who might try to tell you I treated them like servants. They were all fond of telling me a smuch, anyhow. But I work hard. I've got needs. If they don't get me to my satisfaction, I get grouchy."
"Charming."

"And I'm not. But I spend forty to fifty hours a week at everybody's beck and call. When I'm off, I want what I want, the way I want it."

"This is your room, so I'm letting you get your way--"
"Letting me?"
"Come by my place some weekend and maybe I'll show you mine."
"Your way doesn't sound like it takes no for an answer."
"You're welcome to find out."
"Good night, Kelly."
He straightened. "See you beneath me on the gym floor tomorrow."


 photo oie_0OCQMvfYH6Pp_zpspnlsohi2.jpg

 photo tumblr_lm14mkPonq1qicqjwo1_500_zps6e4a077b.gif

 photo tumblr_m9lyvyjVfz1rwh77jo1_500_zpsb2292907.gif

"More what?" Another kiss, another hot exhalation.
I spoke from some thoughtless, honest place. "I don't trust myself around you. This way."
"There's something between us," he murmured. "We're just doing what it's asking."
"It feels like I'm just doing what you ask."
"And you don't like that?" As he said it, his fingers traced my lips through my panties, cock pressing close. Heat flashed, dizzying me.
I swallowed a moan, scrabbling for words. "I like it now. I'm afraid I'll wish I hadn't done so much in the morning. It feels good, but it won't last."
"That's what pleasure is."


 photo tumblr_llonozeyeL1qky3ndo1_500_zps4c11f3a7.gif

He spoke right against my neck, lips tickling my skin.
"Feel that?"
"Yeah."
"Feel how bad I want you?"
He pressed roughly against me, a thrust that would've made us lovers if not for my last stitch of clothing. I answered with a little moan.
"You're so wet," he whispered. He rubbed my clit, letting his length tease my lips with the friction of wet cotton. I felt the flex of his hips as he thrust, muscle as hdd as his dick. "I can't wait to feel you."


 photo tumblr_mjygw6Hc4K1qffcrao3_500_zps22424209.gif

"Six thirty," he said, slamming the passenger door. "We'll grab dinner."
"Yeah, sure. We'll grab dinner. We'll grab one drink, and nothing else will get grabbed for the rest of the night."
"Fine."

He leaned on the bar, arm flexed, head resting on his hand. "I know you feel this, too."
"If everyone acted on every impulse they had, we'd all be obese and syphilitic and a hundred grand in debt from the home-shopping channel."
"When's the last time you spent a whole weekend just fucking?"
I laughed. "Never. Who does that?"
"We could."
"That sounds very…abrasive."
"Sex doesn't have to be some chore you do on Saturday nights after your husband rubs your feet. Come over, and let me show you a good time. Lemme have my way with you, like in your bed the other night. Was that really so bad?"

"Listen. I like you. And I want you. I'm inviting you to come over so we can explore the thing that's between us. I know you feel it, same as me. I'm offering you a chance to shut your brain off for a weekend, so we can spoil each other's bodies rotten. Let me boss you around and I promise you'll find out I give twice as good as I get. I'm not gonna try to fuck your ass or dress you up like a hooker--"
"Be still my heart. Kelly Robak, you charmer, you."
"There's four things a real man has to be able to do for a woman."
"Exactly how many man-lists do you have?"
He let my wrist go and ticked the items off on his fingers. "Fix her car. Grill her a steak. Kick the ass of any guy who makes her cry. And fuck her so hard she wakes up half-crippled."
"Oh my God." For a moment I just blinked at the gall of him. "You're…You are ridiculous. Goodnight, Kelly." I got up, heading for the exit. I realized my mistake a millisecond before he called me on it.
"Said I can fix your car, not teleport it from two towns over."
I swiveled. "I'm sure a real man can call a woman a cab, can't he?"


 photo oie_yyJSGtn8wsY7_zpsv3xu0jm6.jpg

 photo tumblr_mdf3dp4ufZ1r8ufr0o1_500_zps6027b411.gif



Dear Kelly,

When I first met you at Larkhaven I was not psyched. I saw a tall, self-controlled and utterly imposing man displaying muscled arms and a chest dressed in dull gray, sporting bruises and scars and a mean face. You seemed to be untouchable and very remote. Truth be told, the beginning did not wow me and I was reluctant to see where we'd go from there. And even though the start was slow-paced, I did warm up to you eventually. Boy, did I almost burn my fingers. Also, your smile truly knocked my socks off. After all, still waters run deep, and I enjoyed the unraveling of Kelly Paul Robak. Shut it, Kel, I'm holding the reins now.

You found your perfect match in nurse, Erin Coffey. Aside from being extremely compatible in the bedroom, both of you have an unbending will to control your lives. Erin craves steadiness above and beyond, and she fears the consequences of a casual sexual encounter. For both of you it's almost a physical impossibility to hand over the reins to someone else or to ask for help. But. If this person is trustworthy, it's worth a try. Doesn't it feel amazing to open up a little bit? It's nice to have someone to lean on and share some of your problems. Do you remember the saying, 'A sorrow shared is a sorrow halved?'

And just remember that sadness is like rain. Keep reminding yourself it'll pass.


Kel, you're pushy and tenacious as hell. Un-freakin-believable. But there's no getting around it to admit that I dug your general bossy assholery. I hope you're proud that your obstinacy paid off big time. Holy crappity crap! About halfway through there was a first class sex-a-thon and Baba was a goner. Devour me! The sensation was so intensely erotic, I had to remind myself to breathe from time to time. And I was thinking, 'Hot damn, this is panty-melting hot!' You sure made my lady-parts tingle. Dude, stop grinning, you showoff. Yeah, yeah, I gotta admit I was close to jumping into your story, sitting on your lap and telling you to grab my hair, my ass, and my boobs. Plus, I wanted you to put your.Mouth.On.Me. Pathetic, I know. Oh, please, spare me your smug smile. *grumbles* Hmm…though you know revenge is sweet. Anyway, it's a thing of beauty to see a man who is usually so in control to come undone. Yup, where is your complacent smile now, huh?

"Whatever happened to you being Mr. Control, and me just keeping my pretty mouth shut?"
"Guess I like what comes out of your mouth, as much as I care about what might go in."


An intriguing aspect of your story was the different and unique setting. Granted, I wouldn't want to work in a psychologic ward, but I found the insight interesting and it was sensitively executed. All in all, the special setting enhanced the plot very nicely. Besides, I appreciated your motivation why you chose the job you do. Behind your scary face lies so much kindness, and you have a heart of gold. You really do care, and you want to help human beings everybody else has given up on. It's good to know that some people want to make a difference.

Yeah, I can feel it too, we got a little something between us…in my dreams.

I wish you and Erin all the best and much love!

Take care.

Baba xxx



P.S. Tell Cara it would have been nice to read an epilogue.


As a side note
After Hours contains explicit sex including oral but no anal. Even though there is some spanking (no bondage, no toys), this is not a BDSM story.
155 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read After Hours.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading
April 17, 2013 – Shelved
April 17, 2013 –
page 0
0.0% " photo removed_zps9d3498ab.gif\n Yes, let's take our clothes off. But most of all...let this be good. Pleeeeease!"
April 18, 2013 –
page 0
0.0% "25% done: "We're just doing what it's asking." "It feels like I'm just doing what you ask." "And you don't like that?" As he said it, his fingers traced my lips through my panties, cock pressing close. Heat flashed, dizzying me. I swallowed a moan, scrabbling for words. "I like it now. I'm afraid I'll wish I hadn't done so much in the morning. It feels good, but it won't last." "That's what pleasure is." Me likey!!"
April 18, 2013 –
page 0
0.0% " photo tumblr_mj3vr3yeD21s6vzq8o1_500_zps4f586e62.gif\n At 42 %: I felt the scrape of his teeth, the slick, firm drag of his tongue along my throat, just as the teasing of his fingers turned gruff, a whisper deepening to a growl. "I'm gonna make you so wet." Lovin' it!"
April 19, 2013 –
page 0
0.0% " photo tumblr_mc6kyxFQBf1rwh77jo1_500_zps23144049.gif\n I'm 88% done: "Whatever happened to you being Mr. Control, and me just keeping my pretty mouth shut?" "Guess I like what comes out of your mouth, as much as I care about what might go in." Good stuff!! <3"
April 19, 2013 – Shelved as: older-hero-younger-heroine
April 19, 2013 – Shelved as: dirty-talker
April 19, 2013 – Shelved as: erotica-or-erotic-romance
April 21, 2013 – Shelved as: books-kelly-and-baba-liked-or-loved
August 28, 2015 – Shelved as: cara-mckenna
May 2, 2016 – Started Reading
May 2, 2016 –
page 101
35.94% " photo oie_1oKMh1rVFJYj_zpsukswh7gu.gif\n I wanted to read something great. That's why I'm doing a reread of After Hours. Kelly Robak, you sexy stud, how I missed you and your bold mouth! YUM. Cara McKenna writes some super hawt goodness, all right."
May 3, 2016 –
page 219
77.94% " photo oie_aBAKTlb3QiDx_zpsraibljwc.png\n I <333 Kelly's dirty talk!"
May 5, 2016 –
page 281
100.0% " photo oie_eLVcxnzMuAQ3_zpsh39lzl4n.gif\n I wouldn't mind having a Kelly Robak in my life. <333"
May 5, 2016 – Finished Reading
May 8, 2016 – Shelved as: best-sex-scenes
May 8, 2016 – Shelved as: memorable-favorite-heroes

Comments Showing 1-50 of 160 (160 new)


JM ♔ Pipsqueak Excited about your thoughts on this, Baba :)


Baba  JM ♔ wrote: "Excited about your thoughts on this, Baba :)"

So far so good, JM. I'm really liking it a lot!


Baba  Chanda wrote: "This sounds good! Hope you like it =)"

Yes, I'm enjoying it, Chanda. Not your common hero but really good so far! Also, the plot is interesting (psych ward).


KindleRomance Reviews Sounds great!


Baba  Kris (KindleRomance) wrote: "Sounds great!"

Kris, it's sooooo good!


Linda (un)Conventional Bookworms sounds pretty intense! added it :)


Baba  Lexxie (un)Conventional Bookviews wrote: "sounds pretty intense! added it :)"

It's worth a shot, Lexxie. Love it! :)


MandaLee Looks good Baba! Do you mind if I name a shelf w/your name in it lol. I see your reviews and mark to read then can't find them in my mountain of TBR:))


Baba  Manda wrote: "Looks good Baba! Do you mind if I name a shelf w/your name in it lol. I see your reviews and mark to read then can't find them in my mountain of TBR:))"

Hey, that's all right. I don't mind, Manda. :)
I loved Cara's Willing Victim and I have an inkling that this book will be better. It's seriously good!


MandaLee Yay!! Thanks Baba;)) I loved Willing Victim so if this one talks half as dirty I'll be sold lol. But I'm easy;)) Enjoy!!


Baba  Manda wrote: "Yay!! Thanks Baba;)) I loved Willing Victim so if this one talks half as dirty I'll be sold lol. But I'm easy;)) Enjoy!!"

I'm 42 % done and the good stuff is about to happen...nom noms... :)))


Lise *friends don't flag* Oh Yay... looking forward to this one!


message 13: by Ness (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ness hmmm right to the top of m TBR!!


Mandy Just finished "Resisting Her" and now this one is on deck for me :)


JM ♔ Pipsqueak Great! This is my next, B. So I'm glad you like it.


Genney Blass Oh My, Can't wait to read it.


Baba  Lise *the deleted gif gal* wrote: "Oh Yay... looking forward to this one!"

I loved Willing Victim but this one is better, Lise. :)
There is more meat to the bone AND it's definitely a full length novel.


Baba  Ness wrote: "hmmm right to the top of m TBR!!"

It's worth reading, Ness. Enjoy!


Baba  Mandy wrote: "Just finished "Resisting Her" and now this one is on deck for me :)"

Ok, hope you'll like it, Mandy. The beginning is slow paced but it will pick up eventually. Besides, I really like it when a couple doesn't hit the sack too soon. Definitely worth the wait. ;-))


Baba  ❤Summer wrote: "Wow! HOT HOT HOT, I need to get this book, stat!! Thanks for the tid bits!"

Enjoy the ride. ;-))


Baba  JM ♔ wrote: "Great! This is my next, B. So I'm glad you like it."

Just keep on reading coz it's possible that the beginning won't wow you either, however, the more I read the more I loved it. Have fun!


Baba  Genney wrote: "Oh My, Can't wait to read it."

I'm rather sure that readers who loved Willing Victim will enjoy After Hours as well. Happy reading, Genney!


Geri Reads I'm up for hot read. Bumping this up on my reading list. :D


Baba  Geri's ~ EverAfterRomance ~ wrote: "I'm up for hot read. Bumping this up on my reading list. :D"

Be patient coz they won't jump each other's bones instantly but it's so worth the wait! :)


Bookhooking (Tanya Witt) oh boy I can't wait to read this one :)


Baba  Kindlehooked (Tanya Childress) wrote: "oh boy I can't wait to read this one :)"

It's a great read, Tanya. Hope you enjoy it when you get a chance to read it. :))


message 27: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Great review. Can't wait to read it.


message 28: by Mo (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mo Ok see that FULL review to come - that one would have done me fine.


Baba  Mo wrote: "Great review. Can't wait to read it."

Thank you, Mo. Hope you enjoy it too. :))


Lise *friends don't flag* Great mini-review, Baba. Reading this one next!


Duchess Nicole I got all giddy, Baba! This does sound awesome! Added!


Bookhooking (Tanya Witt) Baba ♥♥♥ Marcus, Tyler, Tate, Dan, Ty, & Hunter wrote: "Kindlehooked (Tanya Childress) wrote: "oh boy I can't wait to read this one :)"

It's a great read, Tanya. Hope you enjoy it when you get a chance to read it. :))"


Sounds like I definitely will :0)


Baba  Mo wrote: "Ok see that FULL review to come - that one would have done me fine."

Hehe...I need to have a little chat with Kelly. :))


Baba  Lise *the deleted gif gal* wrote: "Great mini-review, Baba. Reading this one next!"

Thanks, Lise. I hope you'll enjoy it. :)


Baba  Duchess Nicole wrote: "I got all giddy, Baba! This does sound awesome! Added!"

It's very good. Enjoy!


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ He he. Good girl! Not!
Another awesome 1st review Baba!!! And thanks for gifs. I need my daily dosage of “hot bod” and you are a great source for that ; )))))
And since I have been enjoying WV….. [licking lips]


message 37: by Sheri (new)

Sheri Ooooo, looks good!
looking forward to your full review :D


StScho Nice! I know what I'm reading tonight :)


message 39: by Ness (new) - rated it 4 stars

Ness hot hot hot:)


message 40: by Kristen (new) - added it

Kristen Can't wait to read this one. Great review, Baba!


Alexis *Reality Bites* WOW! Can't wait for the full review, Baba! You already have me salivating over here!LOL!!! Adding this!


KindleRomance Reviews Great review Baba!! I'm so glad it finished out strong.


message 43: by KatLynne (new)

KatLynne Your pre-review is excellent! Added this to my pile lovely Babs:)!


message 44: by Susanne (new)

Susanne Better than Willing Victim?! And the quotes *fans self* I am adding this on top of my pile xD


Louise You're right Baba, the story was getting better...oh no I think Flynn will be replace by Kelly's yummyness:)


Karla I loved this one too Baba, great characters and a captivating story.


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* GREAT pre-review Baba. I need to read this one, loved Willing Victim so much! X


Baba  ★SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "He he. Good girl! Not!
Another awesome 1st review Baba!!! And thanks for gifs. I need my daily dosage of “hot bod” and you are a great source for that ; )))))
And since I have been enjoying W..."


Thanks, Sue, and you are welcome. I love a great visual myself... ;-))
Since you enjoyed WV I'm pretty sure that you will like Kelly too. Happy reading!


Baba  Sheri wrote: "Ooooo, looks good!
looking forward to your full review :D"


Yep, it's very good, Sheri. My full review should be up sometime tomorrow. :)


Baba  Lisa wrote: "Love the review so far, Baba! I will have to give this one a go! :)"

Thank you, Lisa. It's a goodie. :))


« previous 1 3 4
back to top