☆ Sammy ☆彡's Reviews > If I Were You

If I Were You by Lisa Renee Jones
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
14144676
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: alpha-goodness, romantic-suspense

4.5 Mysterious & Seductive Stars

When her best friend is whisked off to Paris for a month long honeymoon, Sara McMillan is left with a storage unit full of a stranger's belongings. Sara is uncomfortable with the idea of selling the stranger's belongings so she vows to find the woman and return the contents of the storage unit to her. Her only clues to finding the owner, Rebecca Mason, are through some journals that were found in with the woman's belongings. After reading the journal entries and having no success in contacting Rebecca, Sara begins to wonder if something really bad happened to the woman. In her quest to find out what happened to Rebecca, Sara ends up being hired by the same art gallery that Rebecca is an employee of (but is currently on leave of absence from).

My Cast
 photo Untitled_zps06339e8e.png


Overall, I really enjoyed this book. All the mystery and suspense surrounding the art gallery, Rebecca, Mark, and Chris really pulled me into this story. There were some similarities with the FSOG books (creepy bosses, angsty hero with dark secrets, & a bit of BDSM) but I honestly think this book stands out on it's own.

And I have so many unanswered questions! Thankfully the sequel, Being Me, was just released so that I can start getting the answers to all of my questions =D

Memorable quotes:
"Other people's perfection is a facade we create when we are second-guessing ourselves."

***

"Life is too short and the world is too large and too full of the art you love not to see everything you can."
16 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read If I Were You.
Sign In »

Quotes ☆ Sammy ☆彡 Liked

Lisa Renee Jones
“I can feel this man in every part of my body and he has not even touched me.”
Lisa Renee Jones, If I Were You


Reading Progress

April 9, 2013 – Started Reading
April 9, 2013 – Shelved
April 11, 2013 – Shelved as: alpha-goodness
April 11, 2013 – Finished Reading
June 8, 2013 –
0.0% "Decided to reread since Being You comes out on Tues! I am so excited!"
June 9, 2013 –
6.0% "Gosh the guy at the storage unit is creepy! I wouldn't want to be alone with him either."
June 10, 2013 –
17.0% ""Other people's perfection is a facade we create when we are second guessing ourselves""
June 11, 2013 –
36.0% ""Life is too short and the world is too large and too full of art you love not to see everything you can" ♥"
June 16, 2013 –
100.0%
June 23, 2013 – Shelved as: romantic-suspense

Comments Showing 1-36 of 36 (36 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Amber Rose (new) - added it

Amber Rose Great review, doll! :)


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Amber's Reading Room wrote: "Great review, doll! :)"

Thanks, Amber! :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Great review! And it's June!!!!!! Enjoy next!


message 4: by Vanessa (last edited Jun 09, 2013 04:28PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Vanessa Great review! So glad I have a copy of Being Me for when I finish this one...cliffhanger, dammit. :-). You don't have much longer to wait...Being Me comes out this week! ❤ Downside...I just read from the author that this has been made into a series (5 books) instead of a trilogy, GRRRRR!!!


☆ Sammy ☆彡 ★☆Sammy☆★ wrote: "Amber's Reading Room wrote: "Great review, doll! :)"

Thanks, Amber! :)"


Thanks SueBee :) This Tues is release day and I am so excited!


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Vanessa wrote: "Great review! So glad I have a copy of Being Me for when I finish this one...cliffhanger, dammit. :-). You don't have much longer to wait...Being Me comes out this week! ❤ Downside...I just read ..."

Thanks Vanessa! I am so excited for Tues! That's awesome you already have a copy of Being Me :) I look forward to your review! She is making this series into 5 books now? I haven't seen that news yet. I wonder why? That seems to be happening more frequently now, kinda like how Sylvia Day's Crossfire series will be 5 books now.


Vanessa Yup! It was posted on her FB page earlier this week...not to mention the journals. I want those journals!!


Duchess Nicole Well poo...I didn't know this was another series that was going to be five books. I was waiting to start it until the end was in sight but it looks like it may be awhile now. Nice review anyways...I may wait to see if the story actually warrants five books.


☆ Sammy ☆彡 I checked Lisa's Facebook page and this is what she said about the post that Vanessa mentioned:

Inside info on the rest of the INSIDE OUT SERIES. Book 3 REVEALING US is a mystery and a new one. You've been teased with it but you get the full mystery in Revealing Us. It is also a male characters story in many ways. This is where you find out all that has shredded him in his life.

And yes there will be books 4 and 5 and spinoff series and I can't tell much without spoilers BUT I can tell you that 4/5 deal with the other male character and become HIS story. The novella that comes out in August is in the other male's POV and you get to meet his family and some of his past history is revealed which you know none of until it. I can't wait to share the rest of the stories!

The spinoff -- you'll know what it is at the end of REVEALING US and I've had it planned since the day I inked page one of IF I WERE YOU.


LOL this description is so vague, it is confusing. So book three will introduce a new mystery and will tell one of the male main character's story while books 4 & 5 become the other male main character's story.


Duchess Nicole So books four and five won't be about the main couple in this series? I'll just wait to hear the word from my friends, lol! That IS a vague update there.


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Duchess Nicole wrote: "Well poo...I didn't know this was another series that was going to be five books. I was waiting to start it until the end was in sight but it looks like it may be awhile now. Nice review anyways...."

Thanks, Nicole. I didn't realize this series would be five books either until Vanessa told me.

I can totally understand wanting to wait. That is what I am doing with the Crossfire series. I am waiting to see what everyone thinks of the last two books before I decide if I want to read the series.

I hope you enjoy the series though (if you read it)! I really enjoyed the first book If I Were You and am hoping I love Being Me just as much.


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Duchess Nicole wrote: "So books four and five won't be about the main couple in this series? I'll just wait to hear the word from my friends, lol! That IS a vague update there."

That is what I was trying to figure out LMAO. I guess I will have to wait and see. At least book three comes out in Sept so I won't have to wait long to get an idea of where Lisa Renee Jones is taking the series.


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Vilda wrote: "Even if it had similarities to FSOG (which I still haven't read, but feel like I should lol), I'm glad it stood out on it's own as well! Glad you liked it. :D Great review!"


Thanks so much Vilda :)


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Jojo *Ty, Jesse, Zsadist, & Daemon addict* wrote: "Great review!"

Thanks Jojo! :)


★★Sara Lizzy★★ Great review Sammy! :)


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Soraya Naomi wrote: "Great review hun"

Thank you, Soraya =D


☆ Sammy ☆彡 ♠ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ♠ wrote: "wonderful review Sammy!"

Thanks so much Sharon!!! :)


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Sara Lizzy wrote: "Great review Sammy! :)"

Thanks so much Sara :) :) :)


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Lisa wrote: "Love the review, Sammy!"

Thank you, Lisa! =D


message 23: by [deleted user] (new)

Great review!


Debra Fabulous review Sammy!! :-)


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Wonderful review Sammy :)) I order the book in paperback!! :))


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Gloria wrote: "Great review!"

Thanks Gloria!


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Debra wrote: "Fabulous review Sammy!! :-)"

Thanks so much Debra :)


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Pavlina wrote: "Wonderful review Sammy :)) I order the book in paperback!! :))"

Thank you so much Pavlina! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did :)


message 29: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • GREAT review! ❤❤


 ♥  Barb ♥ Fantastic review, Sammy :)


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Lisa Jayne wrote: "GREAT review! ❤❤"

Thanks Lisa Jayne! :) :) :)


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Barb wrote: "Fantastic review, Sammy :)"

Thanks so much Barb =D


message 33: by xrysa (new) - added it

xrysa Hmmm now you killed me. I dont like the fact that there are similarities with FSoG :(
Still great review !


☆ Sammy ☆彡 kristina wrote: "Hmmm now you killed me. I dont like the fact that there are similarities with FSoG :(
Still great review !"


Thanks Kristina :) Yeah there are some similarities.. I even think the book description on Amazon mentions FSOG. Sorry if that would ruin the book for you :(


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Wonderful review, Sammy x


☆ Sammy ☆彡 Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Wonderful review, Sammy x"

Thanks, Jxxx :)


back to top