Monica Rodriguez's Reviews > White Night

White Night by Jim Butcher
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5015472
's review
Apr 03, 2013

it was amazing
bookshelves: assassin, chicago, demons, dresden, magic, murder, mob, supernatural, survival, suspense, urban-fantasy, vampires, violence, wizards
Read 3 times. Last read February 7, 2017 to March 4, 2017.

Ok, I'll admit it. I love Harry Dresden. Shocker, right?

Mr. Butcher, you've got yourself a die-hard fan here. Your characters rock. Your battles leave me breathless. And the world you created is fascinating -- though I wouldn't want to live there! Just one request: Can you let Harry sleep a little more?

And great lines in this one:
"Damn, there ain't nothing like a good entrance."

And an entrance that was. Awe. some.

"I was going for cool and strong, but my voice came out sounding angry and not overly burdened with sanity."

Harry's pretense of being Thomas's boyfriend to get out of the apartment was priceless.

(view spoiler)

Perhaps the only thing I missed from this one was there was a bit less in the Bob department. But the next story, which I've already started, is making up for it!

On rereading, well, the scene in The Deeps was just as cool. But I picked up on something I missed last time. (view spoiler)
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read White Night.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 3, 2013 – Shelved
May 10, 2013 – Started Reading
May 10, 2013 –
21.0%
May 11, 2013 –
35.0%
May 12, 2013 –
55.0%
May 13, 2013 –
62.0%
May 15, 2013 –
72.0%
May 16, 2013 –
75.0%
May 18, 2013 –
100.0%
May 19, 2013 – Finished Reading
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: assassin
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: chicago
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: demons
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: dresden
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: magic
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: vampires
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: murder
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: mob
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: supernatural
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: survival
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: suspense
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: urban-fantasy
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: violence
May 24, 2013 – Shelved as: wizards
April 27, 2014 –
30.0%
April 28, 2014 – Started Reading
April 30, 2014 –
62.0%
May 1, 2014 –
67.0%
May 1, 2014 –
71.0%
May 2, 2014 –
73.0%
May 6, 2014 –
93.0%
May 8, 2014 – Finished Reading
May 9, 2014 –
100.0%
February 6, 2017 –
page 41
8.28%
February 7, 2017 – Started Reading
February 7, 2017 –
page 72
14.55%
February 8, 2017 –
page 84
16.97%
February 9, 2017 –
page 97
19.6%
February 10, 2017 –
page 108
21.82%
February 11, 2017 –
page 118
23.84%
February 12, 2017 –
page 134
27.07%
February 12, 2017 –
page 144
29.09%
February 13, 2017 –
page 164
33.13%
February 14, 2017 –
page 174
35.15%
February 15, 2017 –
page 201
40.61%
February 16, 2017 –
page 207
41.82%
February 18, 2017 –
page 211
42.63%
February 19, 2017 –
page 274
55.35%
February 20, 2017 –
page 279
56.36%
February 23, 2017 –
page 301
60.81%
February 25, 2017 –
page 321
64.85%
February 26, 2017 –
page 380
76.77%
February 26, 2017 –
page 406
82.02%
February 28, 2017 –
page 440
88.89%
March 1, 2017 –
page 449
90.71%
March 2, 2017 –
page 462
93.33%
March 4, 2017 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.