Misty's Reviews > Betwixt

Betwixt by Tara Bray Smith
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1124284
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: juvenile-ya, read-in-2009, ya-challenge, sci_fi-fantasy, awful, you-are-the-worst, timesuck, rant
Recommended for: people who like shitty writing

I read this as part of a challenge, and I had to go to the library and pick two books with my eyes closed. The first was excellent (Little Brother, review is here ); the second was Betwixt. If I hadn’t been reading this for a challenge, I would have put this book down after about 20 pages. Actually, I probably would have thrown it out the window.
36 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Betwixt.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
January 1, 2009 – Finished Reading
May 21, 2009 – Shelved
May 21, 2009 – Shelved as: juvenile-ya
May 21, 2009 – Shelved as: read-in-2009
May 21, 2009 – Shelved as: ya-challenge
May 23, 2009 –
page 53
10.69% "i'm finding myself rolling my eyes a lot. If this wasnt for the ya challenge, i would probably put it down."
May 27, 2009 –
page 167
33.67% "I want to hurt someone everytime I pick this book up. Namely, I want to hurt Tara Bray Smith"
May 29, 2009 –
page 235
47.38% "There are elemnets to this story that aren't bad. I wish someone else had written it."
July 11, 2009 – Shelved as: sci_fi-fantasy
December 26, 2010 – Shelved as: awful
August 16, 2012 – Shelved as: you-are-the-worst
September 9, 2012 – Shelved as: timesuck
January 6, 2014 – Shelved as: rant

Comments Showing 1-5 of 5 (5 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Nicole Bunge I couldn't have said it better myself. And I'm glad I'm not alone in thinking things like "cheesy" "amaturish" and "out of touch." And the grammar... geh, did they even HAVE an editor?


Misty FOR REAL. I cringe every time someone picks this up because they found it in the bargain bin. It's not a bargain no matter how cheap you got it...


message 3: by Bg (new) - rated it 3 stars

Bg this book is trippy and its been a while since i read it, but i didn't think it was that bad. it reminded me of some weird indie movie, but i don't think it helped that the author kinda threw the reader into the middle of things. There was also so much set up, i'm kinda hoping there is another book, cause i would give it the benefit of the doubt; it might clear things up, but there was a lot of annoying character in the book. So, yeah....


Gabby You took almost everything I felt about this book, and put it all into one review.
Save for the unbelievable amount of confusion I experienced the whole time.


Misty Haha, yeah it definitely is that...


back to top