Carol's Reviews > The Plague

The Plague by Albert Camus
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7668522
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: classics, fiction, read-2016, philosophy

When rats.....large grotesque rats begin dying everywhere across the coastal town of Oran in Northern Africa, an uneasy, but unheeded feeling among the townspeople gradually becomes reality with questions turning to fear and subsequent fever causing widespread panic.

As quarantines and sudden isolation from the outside world become a fact of life, our mild-mannered and selfless protagonist, Dr. Bernard Rieux maintains his cool despite exhaustion and the pestilence surrounding his long days.

THE PLAGUE is a gripping and horrific tale of confronting death and survival filled with Camus' usual philosophical points of view resulting in an unforgettable read. 4+ Stars.

64 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Plague.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 23, 2013 – Shelved
March 23, 2013 – Shelved as: classics
April 3, 2015 – Shelved as: fiction
March 5, 2016 – Started Reading
March 5, 2016 – Shelved as: to-read
March 7, 2016 –
page 211
68.51%
March 7, 2016 – Shelved as: read-2016
March 7, 2016 – Shelved as: philosophy
March 7, 2016 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Best Eggs Look forward to your review. This is one of my favourite books.


Carol Petra X wrote: "Look forward to your review. This is one of my favourite books."

Great read Petra!


message 3: by PorshaJo (new) - added it

PorshaJo This looks interesting. I've heard a lot about this one....but rats, large grotesque rats. <> Still might have to give it a shot. :-)


Carol PorshaJo wrote: "This looks interesting. I've heard a lot about this one....but rats, large grotesque rats. > Still might have to give it a shot. :-)"

Lol.....you should still read it PorshaJo


Carol Sabah wrote: "Great review, Carol. : )"

Thank you Sabah. Great classic!


Fabian {Councillor} This book sounds as if it has been written for me. :) Great review; I've added the book!


Carol Councillor wrote: "This book sounds as if it has been written for me. :) Great review; I've added the book!"

Hope you enjoy it too Councillor! :-)


Debra Great review Carol! I look forward to reading this!


message 9: by Shaina (new)

Shaina But it’s the fleas on the rats not the rats that carried the plague so the rats aren’t all that gross ... I’ll try to think of it that way. Yes. Should read it. Kudos Carol.


Carol Debra wrote: "Great review Carol! I look forward to reading this!"

Thank you Debra! :-)


Carol Shainlock wrote: "But it’s the fleas on the rats not the rats that carried the plague so the rats aren’t all that gross ... I’ll try to think of it that way. Yes. Should read it. Kudos Carol."

I don't know Shainlock; both are pretty gross to me, lol.


back to top