Mohammed's Reviews > The Thin Man

The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
May 19, 2009

really liked it
bookshelves: hardboiled-detective, classics, dashiell-hammett

A fun,quick and well written PI story. Hammett has a way with his main characters that dont dissapoint. Nick Charles carried the book well.

Even if i dont read light funny Noir usually i liked this one cause the typical Hammett ability with characters,story.
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Thin Man.
Sign In »

Quotes Mohammed Liked

Dashiell Hammett
“The problem with putting two and two together is that sometimes you get four, and sometimes you get twenty-two.”
Dashiell Hammett, The Thin Man

Reading Progress

May 19, 2009 – Shelved
Started Reading
May 22, 2009 –
page 139
May 22, 2009 – Shelved as: hardboiled-detective
May 22, 2009 – Finished Reading
October 29, 2010 – Shelved as: classics
January 22, 2011 – Shelved as: dashiell-hammett

Comments (showing 1-2 of 2) (2 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by [deleted user] (new)

I need to read this. Thanks for the reminder!

message 2: by Mohammed (last edited May 23, 2009 04:58AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mohammed Its a very good book but not if you havent read The OP stories.

I prefer the dark,coruppt PI stories with The Continental OP.
Hammett when he writes about criminals and The OP is so hardcore. They made forget about chandler and get all Hammett books i can get hold on.

The OP guy is so anti-Spade,Marlowe that i adore him very much.

I wouldnt read this book if i wasnt broke for book money and the library had other OP books like Red Harvest.

back to top