Heather K (dentist in my spare time)'s Reviews > Gulp: Adventures on the Alimentary Canal

Gulp by Mary Roach
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
13070326


The science geek in me practically peed her pants she was so excited to read this book. (I guess my inner nerd has a mild case of urinary incontinence but that is neither here nor there...) I mean an entire book about the alimentary canal, starting with my home turf, the mouth? Count me in!

Will you enjoy this book? Well, that depends on how you answer the following questions. Have you ever wondered:

If you can die from trying to defecate too forcefully?
Why do animals eat their own poop?
Could the Jonah biblical story have scientific plausibility?
Why doesn't your stomach eat itself until there is nothing left?
What makes farts smell so disgusting?
What is the purpose of saliva and why do babies make so much?
How to prisoners smuggle so much junk up their butts?


I loved every second of finding out the answer to these questions and about 1,000 more that I didn't even know I had. I enjoyed the refresher course on human anatomy and physiology and LOVED Mary Roach's humorous approach to science. You do not have to have a science background to adore this book. It is perfectly suitable for all audiences, particularly ones that don't mind a little potty humor.

The narrator in the audiobook was spot on: Funny, tongue-in-cheek, and pleasant to listen too. This isn't a character-driven novel or anything like that, so the narrator just had to read the book and read it well, and that she did! I listened to this book in about a weeks time and felt a little more informed each day.

Warning: Possible side effects of reading this book include forcing your loved ones (aka the husband, in my case) to listen to about a bajillion facts about pooping, burps, farts, and gas. In case you are wondering, he did not appreciate learning that information, the neanderthal.

18 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Gulp.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

February 12, 2013 – Shelved
April 6, 2014 – Shelved as: audiobook
April 6, 2014 – Shelved as: price-was-right-2-99-or-less
May 3, 2014 – Started Reading
May 4, 2014 –
25.0% "An educational and fun book- awesome!"
May 17, 2014 –
30.0% "Oh yay! Chapter on saliva!! My home turf!"
May 19, 2014 –
45.0% "My geeky self LOOOVES this!"
May 19, 2014 –
60.0%
May 20, 2014 –
80.0%
May 20, 2014 – Shelved as: not-a-romance-book
May 20, 2014 – Shelved as: loved-it
May 20, 2014 – Shelved as: little-to-no-sex-content
May 20, 2014 – Shelved as: non-fiction
May 20, 2014 – Finished Reading
March 26, 2016 – Shelved as: narrator-very-good

Comments Showing 1-20 of 20 (20 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

~✡~Dαni(ela) ♥ ♂♂ love & semi-colons~✡~ I love Mary Roach. I read this one, and it was super interesting.


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) ~~Dani ♥ semi-colons~~ wrote: "I love Mary Roach. I read this one, and it was super interesting."

Perfect for me because I work in mouths everyday. And I love audiobooks!


~✡~Dαni(ela) ♥ ♂♂ love & semi-colons~✡~ It starts in the mouth and talks about saliva and moves on to the stomach. I am a medical junkie, and I found it fascinating. Plus, Roach is like a 12 year old boy - she loves the gross and weird, and revels in it, so the book is funny. I have Boink about sex on my Kindle and need to read it.


message 4: by Rosa, really (new)

Rosa, really Spook & Stiff are really good as well. (There's my 2 cents. :))


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Rosa, really wants to be a Recidivist wrote: "Spook & Stiff are really good as well. (There's my 2 cents. :))"

I just added it to my wish list!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) ~~Dani ♥ semi-colons~~ wrote: "It starts in the mouth and talks about saliva and moves on to the stomach. I am a medical junkie, and I found it fascinating. Plus, Roach is like a 12 year old boy - she loves the gross and weird, ..."

Loved it too! I want Boink so badly!


message 7: by [deleted user] (new)

HAHAHHA, sounds like a good laugh


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Kat Stark wrote: "HAHAHHA, sounds like a good laugh"

It was! I'm adding all of this author's books to my wish list!


message 9: by Lola (new)

Lola Hihihi, glad you enjoyed this one! Is there a sequel? Pouahahaahaha. (:


message 10: by Tracy (new)

Tracy This sounds awesome


message 11: by Julio (new) - added it

Julio Genao *emits ladylike poot in approval of this review*


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Lola wrote: "Hihihi, glad you enjoyed this one! Is there a sequel? Pouahahaahaha. (:"

The sequel: "Down the pipes: A journey through the sewer system"

;) :P


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Tracy wrote: "This sounds awesome"

It is! You should try it!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) julio wrote: "*emits ladylike poot in approval of this review*"

Fart-centric reviews- my new specialty.


message 15: by KatieMc (new)

KatieMc Oh this looks like fun. I am checking out this author right now.


message 16: by Nila (new)

Nila Hoo-ray! I need a new audiobook to listen to while I'm falling asleep. Science is always relaxing for me and I've wanted this book a long time. Must turn in my credit and get this one. (This may read like slightly caustic humor, but it is true that I listen to science books or programs to fall asleep. They don't have a plot, so I can usually stay relaxed and just drift off. The only problem is finding my place the next night.)


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) KatieMc wrote: "Oh this looks like fun. I am checking out this author right now."

It was So much fun!


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Nila wrote: "Hoo-ray! I need a new audiobook to listen to while I'm falling asleep. Science is always relaxing for me and I've wanted this book a long time. Must turn in my credit and get this one. (This may r..."

I hope you enjoy it!! <3


Laura The author was the narrator of the audiobook (: which is what made it perfect


Heather K (dentist in my spare time) Laura wrote: "The author was the narrator of the audiobook (: which is what made it perfect"

It's actually not the author. It's Emily Woo Zeller.

http://www.audible.com/pd/Science-Tec...


back to top