Laura J. W.'s Reviews > The Journal of Joyce Carol Oates: 1973-1982

The Journal of Joyce Carol Oates by Joyce Carol Oates
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
421720
's review
Apr 08, 2009

it was amazing
bookshelves: non-fiction, diary-journal-memoir-biography

I have held off reading this book for years...fearing the influence that it might have on me as I worked on becoming a writer...well, I shouldn't have worried so much about that, I keep crying out "Look at what you've been missing, silly thing!" I love this book, there is just so much there...it's good to see how alike and unalike I am from JCO...it's been an affirmation that I'm not too off the mark with what I think and what I'm trying to do with my writing...I've learned a lot about JCO and myself as a writer since I started reading it...(love it!)
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Journal of Joyce Carol Oates.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 8, 2009 – Shelved
June 27, 2009 – Shelved as: non-fiction
June 27, 2009 – Shelved as: diary-journal-memoir-biography
July 2, 2009 –
page 144
26.47%
July 3, 2009 –
page 150
27.57%
July 9, 2009 –
page 163
29.96%
July 26, 2009 –
page 184
33.82%
July 31, 2009 –
page 199
36.58%
August 6, 2009 –
page 210
38.6%
August 8, 2009 –
page 212
38.97%
August 18, 2009 –
page 231
42.46%
August 24, 2009 –
page 237
43.57%
August 24, 2009 –
page 237
43.57% "From page 236: "What is not ordinary belongs to art.""
September 1, 2009 –
page 249
45.77% "From page 236: "What is not ordinary belongs to art.""
September 9, 2009 –
page 257
47.24% "No Rest for the Idle "...the weather, without the Matthew Arnold.""
September 9, 2009 –
page 257
47.24% "From page 255: "Brutal, that story. Who wrote it? I wrote it, am it, am infused with it. Yet it isn't me.""
September 21, 2009 –
page 267
49.08% "Every time I pick up this book I find it comforting to know that I'm not alone...July 29, 1978, she's working on "Bellefleur" (my favorite!)"
October 5, 2009 –
page 303
55.7% "...Revision. Could anything be more pleasant, more engrossing, and yet not (and this is important!) upsetting?"
October 27, 2009 –
page 339
62.32% "One would think my dreams would help, but they don't..."
October 27, 2009 –
page 339
62.32% "The story I want so desperately to tell is formless and voiceless at the moment. But I sense its presence, its imminence...its energy."
December 5, 2009 –
page 417
76.65%
December 30, 2009 –
page 469
86.21%
January 2, 2010 –
page 481
88.42%
Started Reading
January 6, 2010 –
page 544
100.0% "Finished! Sad to have finished it...but I'll revisit, I marked several passages..."
January 6, 2010 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.