Shawna's Reviews > Naked in Death

Naked in Death by J.D. Robb
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1802746
's review
Apr 01, 2009

it was amazing
bookshelves: romantic-suspense, author-nora-roberts-jd-robb, scifi-futuristic-fantasy-misc-pnr, series-in-death, 2010-reads, best-top-favorites, enemies-to-lovers-opposites-attract, favorite-romance-couple-hh-pairings, favorite-romance-series, favorites, hero-abused-scarred-tortured-angst, hero-addict-excon-lawtrouble-thief, hero-alpha‎, hero-bad-boy-playboy-player, hero-commoner-self-made, hero-i-wanna-marry, hero-im-gaga-over, hero-cold-cruelbrute-dark-dangerous, hero-stalk-me-baby-possessive, hero-stud-mantel-hall-of-fame, heroine-abused-traumatic-past-rape, heroine-kickass-spirited-strong, heroine-i-wanna-bitch-slap-annoying, heroine-i-adore, aar-top-100-romances, 5-stars-plus, hh-post-traumatic-stress-disorder, hh-social-class-wealth-matters, hh-love-commitment-marriage-phobic, heroine-tomboy-lady-in-pants, hero-daddy-warbucks-wealthy, hero-attractive-handsome-heartthrob, hh-across-the-tracks, best-fave-reads-of-2010, hero-brooding, hero-expert-skilled-voracious-lover, horror-mystery-suspense-thrillers, hero-besotted-so-smitten-its-sexy, hero-or-heroine-or-setting-irish, hero-too-yummy-perfect-to-be-true, cop-bodyguard-govop-merc-military, heroine-miss-independent, a-all-time-favorite-hero, hero-entrepreneur-mogul-tycoon-ceo, hh-famous-celebrity, a-all-time-best-top-fave-dik-reads, angsty-dark-heavy-lotsa-drama, hero-bad-guy-ruthless-villainous, hero-sharp-dressed-man, hero-hot-car-sexy-costly-ride, hero-my-romancelandia-husband-harem, hero-husband-worthy-swoonalicious, crime-mystery-suspense-thriller-fic, heroine-uber-damaged-scarred, hero-sexy-suit-tie-wearing-bad-boy, hero-uber-filthy-rich-bazillionaire, hero-uber-damaged-scarred, heroine-i-wanna-smack-shake-and-hug, hero-enigmatic-mysterious, hero-dark-scary-cool-dangerous-dude, hero-poor-lower-class-background, a-all-time-best-top-50-fave-dik, all-work-no-play-on-the-job-romance, fave-hero-ever-marry-me-roarke, hh-same-couple-trilogy-or-series, a-all-time-favorite-hh-couples, genretrope-another-damn-billionaire, hero-business-owner, hero-criminal-shady-illegal-acts, hero-in-pursuit, heroine-sassy-full-of-attitude, hh-rags-to-riches, best-fave-brilliant-worldbuilding, a-all-time-favorite-heroine, heroine-cynical, heroine-hoyden, heroine-plucky-lively-feisty-spunky, heroine-reclusive, hh-reformed-prior-crime-law-trouble
Recommended to Shawna by: My mom & several GR friends
Recommended for: Fans of romantic suspense, tough heroines, & mysteriously delicious alpha heroes

5+ stars – Romantic Suspense

Yes! I've finally read the first book in J.D. Robb's, aka Nora Roberts', vastly popular In Death series, and now I understand why there's 30 books and counting...'cause it's an awesome romantic suspense/futuristic mystery thriller and very addictive. In fact, it's a good thing that I brought the first three books with me on my trip since I wanted to immediately jump into the second book after finishing this. I loved it! And all the flattering Roarke talk is totally justified because he's such a mysteriously delicious, sexy alpha hero! I wasn't convinced that a series could stay interesting and fresh enough with the same characters for 30+ books, but I don't think there could ever be enough of Roarke...he's that yummy!

I'm not sure if I need to recommend this since it seems that just about everyone else has already read it, but if you like romantic suspense and/or mystery thrillers and haven't yet read Naked in Death, then I highly suggest it. But be prepared to get hooked on the series! Big 5 stars!
90 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Naked in Death.
Sign In »

Quotes Shawna Liked

J.D. Robb
“You know, lieutenant, you wear your weapon the way other women wear pearls."
"It's not a fashion accessory.”
J.D. Robb, Naked in Death

J.D. Robb
“I want to see you again." He stopped, took her face in his hands. "I need to see you again."

Her pulse jumped, as if it had nothing to do with the rest of her. "Roarke, what's going on here?"

"Lieutenant." He leaned forward, touched his lips to hers. "indications are we're having a romance.”
J.D. Robb, Naked in Death


Reading Progress

April 1, 2009 – Shelved
April 1, 2009 – Shelved as: romantic-suspense
April 1, 2009 – Shelved as: author-nora-roberts-jd-robb
September 2, 2009 – Shelved as: scifi-futuristic-fantasy-misc-pnr
December 28, 2009 – Shelved as: series-in-death
May 1, 2010 – Started Reading
May 5, 2010 – Finished Reading
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: 2010-reads
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: best-top-favorites
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: enemies-to-lovers-opposites-attract
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: favorite-romance-couple-hh-pairings
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: favorite-romance-series
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: favorites
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-abused-scarred-tortured-angst
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-addict-excon-lawtrouble-thief
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-alpha‎
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-bad-boy-playboy-player
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-commoner-self-made
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-i-wanna-marry
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-im-gaga-over
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-cold-cruelbrute-dark-dangerous
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-stalk-me-baby-possessive
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-stud-mantel-hall-of-fame
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: heroine-abused-traumatic-past-rape
May 9, 2010 – Shelved as: heroine-kickass-spirited-strong
May 10, 2010 – Shelved as: heroine-i-wanna-bitch-slap-annoying
May 10, 2010 – Shelved as: heroine-i-adore
July 4, 2010 – Shelved as: aar-top-100-romances
January 6, 2011 – Shelved as: 5-stars-plus
January 23, 2011 – Shelved as: hh-post-traumatic-stress-disorder
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: hh-social-class-wealth-matters
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: hh-love-commitment-marriage-phobic
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: heroine-tomboy-lady-in-pants
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-daddy-warbucks-wealthy
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-attractive-handsome-heartthrob
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: hh-across-the-tracks
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: best-fave-reads-of-2010
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-brooding
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-expert-skilled-voracious-lover
April 3, 2011 – Shelved as: horror-mystery-suspense-thrillers
May 7, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-besotted-so-smitten-its-sexy
May 7, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-or-heroine-or-setting-irish
May 28, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-too-yummy-perfect-to-be-true
August 4, 2011 – Shelved as: cop-bodyguard-govop-merc-military
September 25, 2011 – Shelved as: heroine-miss-independent
October 11, 2011 – Shelved as: a-all-time-favorite-hero
December 5, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-entrepreneur-mogul-tycoon-ceo
December 5, 2011 – Shelved as: hh-famous-celebrity
December 10, 2011 – Shelved as: a-all-time-best-top-fave-dik-reads
December 10, 2011 – Shelved as: angsty-dark-heavy-lotsa-drama
December 17, 2011 – Shelved as: hero-bad-guy-ruthless-villainous
April 18, 2012 – Shelved as: hero-sharp-dressed-man
April 18, 2012 – Shelved as: hero-hot-car-sexy-costly-ride
June 2, 2013 – Shelved as: hero-my-romancelandia-husband-harem
January 8, 2015 – Shelved as: hero-husband-worthy-swoonalicious
April 24, 2017 – Shelved as: crime-mystery-suspense-thriller-fic
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: heroine-uber-damaged-scarred
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: hero-sexy-suit-tie-wearing-bad-boy
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: hero-uber-filthy-rich-bazillionaire
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: hero-uber-damaged-scarred
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: heroine-i-wanna-smack-shake-and-hug
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: hero-enigmatic-mysterious
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: hero-dark-scary-cool-dangerous-dude
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: hero-poor-lower-class-background
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: a-all-time-best-top-50-fave-dik
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: all-work-no-play-on-the-job-romance
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: fave-hero-ever-marry-me-roarke
April 27, 2017 – Shelved as: hh-same-couple-trilogy-or-series
April 28, 2017 – Shelved as: a-all-time-favorite-hh-couples
April 28, 2017 – Shelved as: genretrope-another-damn-billionaire
April 28, 2017 – Shelved as: hero-business-owner
April 28, 2017 – Shelved as: hero-criminal-shady-illegal-acts
April 28, 2017 – Shelved as: hero-in-pursuit
April 28, 2017 – Shelved as: heroine-sassy-full-of-attitude
April 28, 2017 – Shelved as: hh-rags-to-riches
August 3, 2017 – Shelved as: best-fave-brilliant-worldbuilding
August 31, 2017 – Shelved as: a-all-time-favorite-heroine
August 31, 2017 – Shelved as: heroine-cynical
August 31, 2017 – Shelved as: heroine-hoyden
August 31, 2017 – Shelved as: heroine-plucky-lively-feisty-spunky
August 31, 2017 – Shelved as: heroine-reclusive
September 29, 2017 – Shelved as: hh-reformed-prior-crime-law-trouble

Comments (showing 1-50 of 51) (51 new)


Ally72 Yah!!! I am glad you liked it, Shawna. Welcome to the "Roarke Appreciation Club!" This series is really addicting and a person just wants to keep reading more and more!


Dina Roarke is my dream man. Long black hair, blue eyes, Irish accent, dangerously sexy... *sighs*

Shawna, you do need to recommend these books to your twin Auntee. She's have ignored Roake way too long and that must end. Now! She doesn't listen to us, but she'll listen to you. ;)


Penny Watson I haven't read this series yet, but I have friends who rave about it. Thanks for the review...you just inspired me to jump on the bandwagon!


Dina Penny, Penny, why have you resisted Roarke this long? *shakes head* Glad to hear you're jumping on the bandwagon. We'll see you at the "Roarke Appreciation Club" soon, I hope. :)


Shawna Yep, I've definitely joined the Roarke fan club ladies! :)

You're right, Dina...Auntee would love this. I'll have to encourage her to hop on board the Roarke train, LOL!

I hope you enjoy it, Penny! See ya on board! :)


valee OMG, I can't wait to read this one now. I must be the only one who hasn't started with it.


message 7: by Auntee (new) - added it

Auntee *Digging for Roarke in the box in the closet...*


Buggy Okay is there something wrong with me? I'm STRUGGLING through this book. Roarke has just piqued my interest but that's it. At this point (page 65) I'm baffled as to how this series is 30 books long and loved by all. Help!


message 9: by Rossy (new) - added it

Rossy What is it a conspiracy? I swear almost everyone i know here in GR is commenting on this series this month.LOL

So alright, i give in and start doing some shopping for the books. *sigh* The beautiful power of the Sony store. I can buy all the ebooks now!! They're cheap too, only $6.99. Don't think i can get all 30+ in one go right now though.


message 10: by Rossy (new) - added it

Rossy J Bug wrote: "Okay is there something wrong with me? I'm STRUGGLING through this book. Roarke has just piqued my interest but that's it. At this point (page 65) I'm baffled as to how this series is 30 books long..."

It's over 300 pages, right? Give it 100 pages to see if it will grab you. Otherwise, set it in pause for another time. You're probably not in the mood for this kind of plot.


Buggy Ah Ha "not in the mood" never entered my mind. Thanks Rossy. I just thought I was missing something, like possibly taste??


(Kelly)~Got Fiction?~ Oakes Love this series! So glad you started it Shawna.
Are you readin these on paperback? Do you need any of the books? I run across them all the time for cheap.


DL


Brandi J Bug wrote: "Ah Ha "not in the mood" never entered my mind. Thanks Rossy. I just thought I was missing something, like possibly taste??"

J, the first book or two can be a little rough, but stick with it. They get so much better, and there are quite a few regular characters to meet! Once you do, it'll be so much more interesting, I promise.


(Kelly)~Got Fiction?~ Oakes I totally agree, you will just love all the regular players and the passion between Roarke and Eve is just fantastic...
Oh...to have a man like him and the accent!
OMG

DL


Shawna --I hope you enjoy it, Vale!

--LOL, Auntee! My Roarke reaction was similar and almost as strong as how I felt about Bones when I read Halfway to the Grave. And I'm on the third In Death book now, and Roarke's appeal just gets better!

I've been hesitant and reluctant to start this series because although I've "okay/liked" the few Nora Roberts books I've read, they were a bit PG-ish in the sex department. My mom loves this series and has been telling me for a long time that I'd like them, especially Roarke, and that they're different, more R in terms of sex and violence, than her other NR books.

But with 30+ books, I was discouraged about getting started. I took this on the plane with me on my London trip, and it seemed to fly by for me. The futuristic aspect is interesting, but it doesn't feel too much so. I was glad I brought the 2nd and 3rd books with me 'cause I wanted to keep on reading about Eve and Roarke...okay, mostly Roarke.

I'm not sure J Bug, but I know a lot of times for me, my mood can affect how I react to a book. But this definitely never dragged for me, especially once Eve and Roarke heated up!

Thanks, Kelly! I've got the first 6 books on hand, which should be enough for now, since I'll probably take a break from reading the series so I don't get burned out (thanks for the advice, Dina!). Plus, I've got so many other series I'm juggling that I'll have time to pick up more books later on.


Lynsey A Shawna,
I can tell you that I am in the okay/like camp for Nora Roberts books. I am in the BIG LOVE camp for the In Death books. I immediately buy the books when they come out and typically get the NR books at the library.

This is a fabulous series and I am so glad you finally dived in and loved it!


Shawna Thanks, Lynsey! I'm really glad that I listened to my mom and gave this series a chance. :)


message 18: by Dina (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dina Mommy always knows best, Shawna. When will you learn that? ;)


message 19: by Miss Kim (last edited May 10, 2010 08:39AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Miss Kim I read 6 of them and went on to something else, and that was over 2 years ago. I liked Rourke, thought Eve was ok, but it just never called me back and well now there are 30 fricken books!

Have fun Shawna!


message 20: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Glad you are reading them too :) I am listening to them while I work and they are just great books! I think I'm on book 13 and Roarke just keeps getting better :) I was also hesitant to start them b/c of the 30 books already but I can see I am going to have no problem reading them all. If you ever get a chance to listen to one, I recommened it...the narrator is awesome


Shawna LOL, So true, Dina, so true! :)

Kim, Eve irritated me a bit in this, but I like her much better now in the third book. And have I mentioned that I'm in love with Roarke?!

With 30+ books and new releases 2 times a year, I think it's going to take me a long time to catch up, especially since I'm reading so many other series.

I've heard the audio books are great, Lisa. I'll have to give them a try, if I find any at the library or Half Price Books.


Ally72 Shawna...I am following Dina's advice and not reading them all at one time too. It is really fun to "savor" them and I think I am up to book 8 or 9 right now. It took me the first couple of books to warm up to Eve, but I think she is fantastic (and the perfect partner to Roarke)! There are some terrific secondary characters that get introduced in the series that you will like too.


Angela J Bug wrote: "Okay is there something wrong with me? I'm STRUGGLING through this book. Roarke has just piqued my interest but that's it. At this point (page 65) I'm baffled as to how this series is 30 books long..."

I just finished it not to long ago, and never got that into it. You are not alone (though it does get better about 20 pages from where you are :-)


message 24: by Buggy (last edited May 11, 2010 08:03PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Buggy Well thanks everyone, and you'll be happy to know that I persevered past page 100 (Rossy) and on the way something awesome happened. Something awesome in the form of a sexy, mysterious, button carrying, black haired, Irishman. I have SO fallen for Roarke. I agree he is up there with Bones in the jumpable department and saved the book for me.

"You got a button fetish, Roarke?"
"Her eyes came back to his, and something sweet moved through her. Sweeter yet as she could see he was embarrassed."

I want a Roarke of my own now.


message 25: by Auntee (new) - added it

Auntee I will read this book this year...I will read this book this year...I will...


valee so the romance in this one is good?


message 27: by Dina (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dina J Bug wrote: "Well thanks everyone, and you'll be happy to know that I persevered past page 100 (Rossy) and on the way something awesome happened. Something awesome in the form of a sexy, mysterious, button carr..."

Ah, the button! It makes several appearances throughout the series and it never fails to bring a silly smile to my face. I love Roarke!!! *sighs*


message 28: by Dina (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dina Auntee wrote: "I will read this book this year...I will read this book this year...I will..."

Tsk, tsk, tsk, Auntee... I've already told you: the longer you wait, the bigger the series will be when you finally cave. ;)


message 29: by Dina (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dina Vale wrote: "so the romance in this one is good?"

I think it's awesome, but I'm biased. I worship the ground Roarke walks on. :)


valee lol, sounds good to me and motivation enough.


message 31: by Auntee (new) - added it

Auntee Dina wrote: "Auntee wrote: "I will read this book this year...I will read this book this year...I will..."

Tsk, tsk, tsk, Auntee... I've already told you: the longer you wait, the bigger the series will be whe..."


Okaaay...I will read this book this summer.;)


message 32: by Dina (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dina Woohoo!!! Go, Auntee, go! *cheers*


Colleen Great review Shawna! You finally made me request it from the library (along with the 2nd one). I admit I've been putting it off since there are sooooo many in the series.


message 34: by Shawna (last edited May 12, 2010 03:00PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Shawna J Bug wrote: "Well thanks everyone, and you'll be happy to know that I persevered past page 100 (Rossy) and on the way something awesome happened. Something awesome in the form of a sexy, mysterious, button carr..."

Yay, J Bug! I'm so glad you came around!

Oh yes, the button...*sigh*. Roarke is just soooo totally delicious, sexy, hot, yummy, with that killer combination of nurturing yet dangerous...I just love him!!

Yay...I guess we wore Auntee down, Dina! LOL! Believe me Auntee, you'll be eagerly jumping aboard the Roarke train...Whoo whoo! :)

Thanks, Colleen! Whoohoo...we'll make room for ya on board, too! :)


Ally72 I have been trying to decide what to read next and all of this talk about Roarke has convinced me to read the next "In Death" book! LOL!!!


valee hahaha. I have still to start this series. But definitely next after the ones I'm currently reading.


Lynsey A Ally wrote: "I have been trying to decide what to read next and all of this talk about Roarke has convinced me to read the next "In Death" book! LOL!!!"

Yay, Ally! You won't regret it! This series is awesome! I love Roarke. *sighs*


Ally72 I don't think a person can ever go wrong with reading this series. It is addicting!!!


Lynsey A Isn't it, though? I anxiously await the release of each book! I plan my weekend around it. Have to have my In Death time. No interruptions. :)


Ally72 Yes...A person has to get a Roarke "fix" regularly!


valee How regularly are the books in this series release?


message 42: by Dina (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dina At the moment, 2 full-length books + 1 novella each year.


valee awesome, can't wait to start.


Lynsey A Dina wrote: "At the moment, 2 full-length books + 1 novella each year."

That better not change! If it does, it better be to 3 full length books a year! :-)


message 45: by Dina (new) - rated it 5 stars

Dina Lynsey Azkedelia wrote: "Dina wrote: "At the moment, 2 full-length books + 1 novella each year."

That better not change! If it does, it better be to 3 full length books a year! :-)"


Hear, hear! :)


Shawna *sigh* I'm never gonna catch up! LOL! :)


valee I haven't even started, so I'm way behind,lol.


Lynsey A Poor Shawna! I'm certainly glad I started reading by the time Seduction in Death was released. That way I only had about 15 (including novellas) to catch up on! :-)


Shawna And it doesn't seem like she has plans to stop the series anytime soon either, so I guess I better keep reading. Roarke is a verrry nice motivator, though. :)


Lynsey A Oh, isn't he though? :-)


« previous 1
back to top