.Lili. 's Reviews > Dead of Eve

Dead of Eve by Pam Godwin
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
8905618
's review

it was amazing

I will start off by saying this is probably one of the hardest books I've ever read. At about 18% I put it down and almost didn't pick it back up. I slept on it. Thought about it. I almost picked up another book, but I couldn't- I had to to see this through.

In Dead of Eve we meet Evie. Evie is probably the strongest female character I've ever read in a book. Evie has survived the loss of her entire family and is this only surviving female in this apocalyptic world. It is unknown how she has survived a virus that killed all the children, women, and left men alive. In this new world she faces aphid monsters, a Drone, his brother, and the the monsters that human men have become.

Our heroine though is not completely alone. She is guided by the spirit of her children and three men. Each man has a role. One is the guardian of her soul. One guards her mind. The last one guards her body.

During this book I cried...
 photo tumblr_inline_mmx4xiq7Ln1rlyvjz_zpsfc930dfb.gif

I was angry...
 photo tumblr_melfoxRdKz1qjf2mz_zpse7543857.gif

I fell in love with a priest.
 photo tumblr_m7rrzimeLf1rpuodgo1_500_zpsad343c75.gif

And yes, I wanted to corrupt him.
 photo tumblr_ml7ocgrw5v1s8rn8po1_500_zps4e6900c5.gif

And I was always nervous and on the edge of my seat.
 photo tumblr_inline_mfyw6wtAnJ1r8t9ah_zps54642d38.gif

The writing is palpable and will make you feel, smell, see everything the characters are going through. This is an easy book to rate- 5+++ stars.

Kelly The Kindlessed, I pass the baton (or should I say book?) to you. That's right- I'm calling you out to read this one. You'll love it ;)
34 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dead of Eve.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

January 18, 2013 – Shelved
February 5, 2013 – Started Reading
February 6, 2013 –
0.0% "Alright, starting this today. Not my usual cuppa tea, but it comes w./ high recommendations."
February 6, 2013 –
4.0% " [image error] That's heartbreaking. I pray to God I never go through something like that :("
February 6, 2013 –
4.0% " [image error] That's heartbreaking. I pray to God I never go through something like that :("
February 6, 2013 –
18.0% "Pause until tomorrow. I'm on the fence here..."
February 7, 2013 –
18.0% " [image error] I read this bit last night and I'm still reeling from it. Seriously considered not finishing it."
February 7, 2013 –
18.0% "alright, I need to stop avoiding this book and get back to it."
February 7, 2013 –
22.0% " [image error] this chick is hard core"
February 7, 2013 –
30.0% "Darwin :("
February 7, 2013 –
45.0% " [image error]"
February 7, 2013 –
59.0% "f*ck :'("
February 8, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-27 of 27 (27 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Blacky *Romance Addict* Great review Lili :))


.Lili. Blacky wrote: "Great review Lili :))"

Thanks Blacky :)


.Lili. Lisa wrote: "Great review! So glad you stuck with it! :)"

Thanks Lisa! You, Rosanna, and Brooke helped me through :) I needed the support to get past the first 18%.


~*~Brooke's Stripped Down Reviews~*~ **I'm doing my happy dance and shouting 'I told ya so, I told ya so'** LOL I'm so glad you stuck it out!!! This book still blows my mind, I'm not sure I'll ever find anything else quite like it. I like your comment about the Priest. I want that man like no other...and yeah, I know I'm going to hell for it ;)


.Lili. ~*~Brooke~*~ wrote: "**I'm doing my happy dance and shouting 'I told ya so, I told ya so'** LOL I'm so glad you stuck it out!!! This book still blows my mind, I'm not sure I'll ever find anything else quite like it. I ..."

Hahaha! You brat! You're right this book is definitely out there. The whole time I kept wondering where the heck she came up with this stuff. Her attention to detail is amazing. Thank you again for the recommendation Brooke ;)


~*~Brooke's Stripped Down Reviews~*~ Yeah, Pam is something else...a crazy genius perhaps. And you're very welcome!!


message 7: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Godwin Hear, hear, to priest corruption. Hell is going to be a crowded place.

Wonderful review, Lili. Thank you!!!


message 8: by Pam (new) - added it

Pam Godwin Lili wrote: "Lisa wrote: "Great review! So glad you stuck with it! :)"

Thanks Lisa! You, Rosanna, and Brooke helped me through :) I needed the support to get past the first 18%."


Yes, thank you Lisa, Rosanna, and Brooke for the nudges and support. You rock!


Amber Rose Great review Lili. Glad you kept going. Love this book. :)


.Lili. Pam wrote: "Hear, hear, to priest corruption. Hell is going to be a crowded place.

Wonderful review, Lili. Thank you!!!"


Thank you, Pam! Thank you- the awesome read :)

These three ladies definitely sang your praises. Brooke got the ball rolling a bit back with a recommendation and between the three of them helped me through :)


.Lili. Amber wrote: "Great review Lili. Glad you kept going. Love this book. :)"

Thanks Amber :)


Kelli Jean Beautifully written review, I have to read this now!


.Lili. Kelli wrote: "Beautifully written review, I have to read this now!"

Thanks Kel! :) x

You just reminded me I needed to fix the images!

This book is amazing but make sure you wrap your iPad in bubble wrap before you start!


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Amazing review sweetie <3 <3 :D


.Lili. Pavlina loves Derek ❤❤ wrote: "Amazing review sweetie <3 <3 :D"

Thanks Pav! :) ♥


message 16: by Christy (new)

Christy Fabulous review, Lili!! xo


message 17: by StellaR (new)

StellaR Great review Lili, sounds interesting xx


.Lili. Christy wrote: "Fabulous review, Lili!! xo"

Thanks Christy! ;) x


.Lili. StellaR wrote: "Great review Lili, sounds interesting xx"

Thanks Stellita! :) x


message 20: by Debra (new) - added it

Debra Awesome review, Lili!! :-)


.Lili. Thank you, Debra! ;) x


message 22: by • Lisa • (new)

• Lisa • WOW you are brave I could not read this book hehe!! Great thoughts babe x


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ It sounds intense and scarey, Lili. Fabulous review, my friend. xxx


.Lili. Lisa Jayne wrote: "WOW you are brave I could not read this book hehe!! Great thoughts babe x"

Thanks LJ! :) X


.Lili. Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "It sounds intense and scarey, Lili. Fabulous review, my friend. xxx"

Thanks J! :) x


message 26: by Amanda (new)

Amanda LoL. That must be one hot priest, Lili :D


message 27: by Pam (new) - rated it 4 stars

Pam LOL, corrupting the Priest! You go girl :))


back to top