Danielle.'s Reviews > Allegiant

Allegiant by Veronica Roth
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7005742
Veronica Roth:




Well, I tried writing this review without there being any spoilers, but it’s rather impossible – for me, at least. So, readers beware.

Veronica can do so much better than this, so so much. The second Tobias’ PoV was introduced I knew Tris was going to pull some heroic sacrificial bullshit and get her ass killed. I fucking knew it. Not a tear was shed from me… not a single fuck was given. Yes, dear readers, call me a Satanist slash sadist for all I care. I saw no point in this move – perhaps Roth wanted to be unique and inspiring with her story; nevertheless, it was still unnecessary.

Apart from that, Allegiant is an entirely different story, entirely different. The book was confusing. I wasn’t pissed whilst reading, I wasn’t saddened, hell, I wasn’t even bored. I was reading this book with a blank expression. Constantly I kept forgetting I was reading a book that’s a continuance of the Divergent trilogy. The terms “Divergent” and “Divergence” were a reminder that I was, indeed, reading the final installment. I’m sorry to say this, but: this was the dumbest book I’ve read in 2013.

Allegiant was a hot ass fucking mess. The character development as well as the world-building was tragic. It was not explained how Tris survived the death serum, we were only given half-assed, clouded ideas. The romance fell off a cliff and shattered on sharp rocks at the bottom, the relationship between Tris and Tobias failed to impress me. The whole BOOK failed to impress me. It hurts me to say this because I adore Veronica Roth. No one, and I mean no one can change my mind about this book: you can write a mile long essay about why you felt this book was perfectly wrapped and poignant, you can say how wrong I am, you can say just about anything and I still wouldn't give a flying Ford Anglia.

I remember Roth wrote a blog post about wanting Harry Potter to be killed off because "it would have showed the greatest act of sacrifice and love". I don't know what her fucking deal is with killing people off because "it shows real love". No, it doesn't. That's not always the route to take; there are other ways of showing true love and sacrifice. There's always another way.

The minute the characters went out the fence, the story fell even further into the pit of stupidity. Allegiant tried to be preachy. The government (or should I say the Bureau) in here plays (or is) God. We are introduced to superfluous explanations on why we have the factions and the factionless. We learn about Genetic Purity and the Genetically Damaged. Genetic Purity meaning Divergence; Genetically Damaged meaning belonging to one faction with fucked up genes. We also find out Tobias is, in fact, not Divergent, but Genetically Damaged which gives Allegiant, yet, ANOTHER twist that's pointless with dramatic arguments. Come the fuck ON. I am not impressed.

OH, how can I forget? Tris' mother was part of this Bureau. HOW FUCKING EXCITING OMFG!!1!!11!!! /sarcasm
What else do you want to throw in to make this all the more amazing and special?

Honest to God I wish I had something nice to say about Allegiant. There's an attempt at a love triangle here between Nita and Tobias, there's an attempt at something unique with this story, but the alternating PoV between Tris and Tobias and everything I've stated above ruined everything. Also, I didn't like Tobias' voice here, Roth did not do a good job with portraying a male protagonist. I kept hearing a female voice in my head, constantly thinking it was Tris'. Did Veronica have this all planned out since the first book? If it was then it wasn't very good and thorough. This book is a flat out FAIL.
611 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Allegiant.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 31, 2012 – Shelved
December 26, 2013 – Started Reading
December 26, 2013 –
page 3
0.57% "*Inhales sharply* Oh my fucking gah. I have it. I have Allegiant. My brother bought it for me for Christmas! :D\n \n But now I'm anxious. *bites nails*"
December 27, 2013 –
page 195
37.07% "\n \n I'm not feeling any sentiments... like at all. I'm reading this with a blank face. I don't even feel bored."
December 27, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 96 (96 new)


message 1: by Keira. (new)

Keira. It's been announced that Theo James will play Tobias. He's no Liam, but still swoon worthy.


Danielle. aw man. Eh, I guess he'll do; my sister is going to throw a fit LOL.


message 3: by Matt (new) - added it

Matt Nicholson I said that exact thing, Liam Hemsworth just looks like he'd be Four.


Danielle. Right? I'm disappointed. But I'm so glad to know my sister and I aren't the only ones that feel this way.


Juliet Actually Theo James is much closer to what I imagined Four to look like in the books. I can't imagine Shailene Woodley as Tris though... I feel pretty disappointed about that.


Nicole BAHAHAHHAHAAHAH THOSE GIFS. ESPECIALLY THE I'M DONE HAHAHAHAH


message 7: by Hannah (new) - added it

Hannah juiliet you dream has come true! Theo james is cast as 4!


Marie -The Reading Otter I dont know, it would bother me a little if Liam Hemsworth played Four.... I mean, he's Gale. I think somebody else should play him, and would Shailene Woodley Dye her hair blonde for the role?


message 9: by Kim (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kim Isn't Tris supposed to be short and not pretty?


Marie -The Reading Otter Kay wrote: "Isn't Tris supposed to be short and not pretty?"

I think she's supposed to be a unique kind of pretty. She really doesnt think she's pretty, but when a does a character who is telling their own story say 'Hey Im a really good looking person" almost never. It's hard to like a character who talks about how good they look. And Tris is a character that we kind of need to like and root for.


message 11: by Kim (last edited Apr 21, 2013 03:57PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kim Marie wrote: "Kay wrote: "Isn't Tris supposed to be short and not pretty?"

I think she's supposed to be a unique kind of pretty. She really doesnt think she's pretty, but when a does a character who is telling ..."


Four says that she isn't pretty, but he likes her spirit etc. Already I'm disagreeing with the choice of actress *eyeroll* what's new.


Marie -The Reading Otter Kay wrote: "Marie wrote: "Kay wrote: "Isn't Tris supposed to be short and not pretty?"

I think she's supposed to be a unique kind of pretty. She really doesnt think she's pretty, but when a does a character w..."


Yeah, I've only seen her in that terribly cheesy abc Family show, so I cant say much about her acting skills. The writing for that show is so bad, it makes it hard to tell who's a good actor and who's a bad actor.


Danielle. I don't mind her at all. I think she'll play the part perfectly. She was picked for a reason. ;)


message 14: by Aubrey (new) - added it

Aubrey LIAM NEEDS TO PLAY FOUR!!! :( But they picked Theo James to play our Four...DANGIT!!!


Alycia Each of those series you mentioned is shorter than the last, too. Harry Potter: 7 books, Twilight: 4 books....Divergent: 3 books. Bummer, huh? lol


Danielle. ...Omg you're so right! o.O


message 17: by Tori (new) - rated it 1 star

Tori The movie is going to suck... It's gunna be just another hunger games where people watch the movie and the that is what they think the book should be.

I might be alone on this one, but, the movie tris looks nothing like book tris to me because Veronica Roth couldn't emphasize enough that tris is not pretty without actually saying in the book "Seriously, Tris is not pretty WHATSOEVER! She has no better side and she still is pretty ugly from all angles and light."
She Just doesnt fit the bill to me... :(


Danielle. I wouldn't jump to conclusions, maybe it is, maybe it isn't. But the author herself said the adaptation was amazing, so that's saying something. Though I do understand where you're coming from about tris being ugly, but I think Shailene would do a good job playing the role. :)


message 19: by Tori (last edited Jun 27, 2013 10:21AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Tori Thanks, I understand what your trying to say. If Veronica Roth is happy ,then, I will try to be happy too ^_^.


message 20: by Tori (new) - rated it 1 star

Tori Kay wrote: "Marie wrote: "Kay wrote: "Isn't Tris supposed to be short and not pretty?"

I think she's supposed to be a unique kind of pretty. She really doesnt think she's pretty, but when a does a character w..."

Yay!! I'm not the only one!!


spidrenflora There's a movie?! Is it out yet? woohoo!


Danielle. Yes, and no it's not (I wish!). It'll be released next year in the USA March 21, 2014. :)


spidrenflora Do you know what it's going to be rated?


Danielle. No, I don't. but check IMDB


Amanda  Francis Omg. Did no one else think Four was African-American? O___O


Danielle. Hahaha umm.... no? :p


Emilyx The still of Tris jumping off the roof = exactly what I saw when I read it.


Danielle. This film is going to be off the chain


Fallyn I have another series that I think you would be interested in...I liked it much better than twilight and I love all those same series you mentioned. I liked twilight but man that last book just didn't bring it all together very well. Anyway, so this series i am recommending, I read them a long time ago and I might be a bit late in telling you now that there is a movie coming out...but if you have the time to read it I would HIGHLY recommend the mortal instruments series. And its companion series the infernal devices.


message 30: by Danielle. (last edited Jul 07, 2013 02:09PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Danielle. (Looks around nervously)... Fallyn, about the Mortal Instruments series....

Review #1

Review #2

Review #3

TMI series and I didn't get along like I hoped.

But I did enjoy the Infernal Devices! Read all three books. Clockwork Princess had me sobbing.


Emilyx Normally the last book in any series rips out my heart and spears it on a trident, leaves me gasping like a fish out of the water, blinds me, and has me thinking, "what just happened?!" (e.g.: Forever, Boundless, Clockwork Princess, Mockingjay...).
So now I have last-book-in-the-series-phobia. And Allegiant is the last book...Please let Allegiant have a happy ending.


Danielle. LOL, same here!

I hope so, too. But after reading this (Here) I'm extremely anxious and can't stop biting nails.


message 33: by Kimberly (new)

Kimberly OMG, I can see Liam Hemsworth playing Four.......I wish he wasn't with the Hunger Games Movies........ But Theo James is a GREAT PICK TOO, I was like


message 34: by Tara (new) - rated it 2 stars

Tara I know I'm EXCITED!!!!!!! (Jazz Hands)


Ayesha 40 days to go! I'm freaking excited!!!


Danielle. ME TOO OMG


message 37: by Amanda (last edited Oct 16, 2013 05:43PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Amanda Himes I just saw a 5 min. interview on youtube with Shailene Woodley and Theo James. Having a very hard time imagining those two having the conversation in Divergent where Four and Tris talk about their virginity.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t25LAo... is the link to the Woodley / James comic-con interview. The two of them could work as Tris and Four, but the virginity scene should be deleted imho, and also the writers should set up the story in such a way that people choose their faction at age 21, not 16, because neither of the actors look like teenagers.


Danielle. LMFAO, do you have a link to the interview?
I need to re-read Divergent because I forgot about that conversation.


Amanda Himes http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t25LAo... is the link to the Woodley / James comic-con interview. The two of them could work as Four and Tris, but the virginity scene should be deleted imho, and also the writers should set up the story in such a way that people choose their faction at age 21, not 16, because neither of the actors look like teenagers.


Danielle. Haha, you've got a point about Theo James not looking 16, I think Woodley could slide. However, having the age of choosing the faction at 21 defuses the whole purpose of it being Dystopia, IMO. Age 16 is perfect given the fact that the environment is a complete disaster and people are living in fear that the world wouldn't last much longer so the age limit of being considered an adult is lowered.

We'll see how this talk of virginity will play out when Divergent is released in theatres; if it's not something that people like, then when it comes out to DVD the scene should be removed.

Thanks for the link!


Arzeta Veronica is an epic authors and thank you so bad because her make me being stunned and amazed in the same time
but,i'm still hoping summit will do somethinh about the ending of allegiant the movie.


message 42: by Mizuki (new) - added it

Mizuki Lovely review, but I have to admit Roth is right about Harry Potter should die in the final book, not because his dying shows 'real love' but because it makes a lot of sense.


Danielle. Thank you, Mizuki! ^.^
Really? I can sort of see where Roth was coming from about HP, but then again I thought Jo wrapped up the Deathly Hallows beautifully with an explanation on why it is the way it is. I can accept that.


Ayesha AWESOME REVIEW! This book was a MAJOR FAIL!
Never going to read anything written by Roth again.


Danielle. Thank you! :D It sadly was. Honestly, if Roth writes a new book, I will definitely read it. She's a great writer, it's just this book that's a major fail. I know she can do a lot better than this so I'll give her future works a shot.


Ayesha I simply refuse to read anything written by her. She has broken my heart. Have you heard? She's writing a new book from Four's POV before he met Tris and it's going to release in July 2014. Honestly, I'm not interested.


Danielle. Aw :( I'm sorry that happened.
No, I won't be reading that one because Tobias' PoV isn't done well. I cannot hear a male voice, I hear Tris' and that's a horrible thing. If she writes something else that's not from the Divergent world I'll read it.


Ayesha Since I loved Divergent, I'll watch the movie but I'll make sure not to spend even a dollar from my pocket for it.


Danielle. Oh I'm not going to watch it at all -- paying or watching it online. Nope.


Krystal Esmi You're on it! Thanks for saying all of the words that just won't make it past my lips. I was not at all pleased with this book. Totally different ballgame. So disappointing.


« previous 1
back to top