Shawna's Reviews > Beyond the Highland Mist

Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Beyond the Highland Mist.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

March 5, 2009 – Shelved
March 5, 2009 – Shelved as: historical-romance
March 14, 2009 – Shelved as: highlanders-hunks-in-kilts-scots
March 14, 2009 – Shelved as: pnr-angeldemon-fae-magic-witch-misc
March 22, 2009 – Shelved as: author-karen-marie-moning
December 29, 2009 – Shelved as: series-highlander
March 29, 2010 – Started Reading
March 29, 2010 –
page 206
54.93%
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: time-travel-fantasy-pnr
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: historical-romance-medieval-misc
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: heroine-naïve-virgin-like-a-virgin
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: heroine-i-wanna-bitch-slap-annoying
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: heroine-abused-traumatic-past-rape
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-stud-mantel-hall-of-fame
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-stalk-me-baby-possessive
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-gigolo-prostitute-escort-porn
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-alpha‎
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-im-gaga-over
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-abused-scarred-tortured-angst
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: sizable-packages-size-matters
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: 2010-reads
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: captive-kidnapped-hostage-slave
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: enemies-to-lovers-opposites-attract
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-mix-of-alpha-beta
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: i-read-no-longer-own-sold-swapped
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: married-couples-married-convenience
March 30, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-bad-boy-playboy-player
March 31, 2010 – Finished Reading
April 3, 2010 – Shelved as: hero-expert-skilled-voracious-lover
April 17, 2010 – Shelved as: historical-romance-scottish
June 5, 2011 – Shelved as: pnr-paranormal-romance
November 5, 2011 – Shelved as: 3-stars

Comments (showing 1-16 of 16) (16 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Caty Hope you enjoy it!
:)


MelissaB Ohhh I wanted to bitch slap this heroine too! How could you have resisted Hawk?

I love all her later heroines starting with The Highlander's Touch onward! Have you read those yet? If not you are in for a treat! The heroes are amazing.


Shawna I liked it, but the heroine annoyed the crap out of me. The antagonism between Adrienne and Hawk seemed to occupy most of the book and got a bit old at times, and I thought there weren't quite enough romantic moments between them.

This is the only one I've read so far. I'm glad to hear the heroines in future books get better!

Doesn't Adam Black get his own book in The Immortal Highlander? I'm curious to see how he can be redeemed after his dark role in this.


Shawna BTW - Check out the highlander hunk I posted with my profile pics!


MelissaB Shawna,

The last four books in the series are some of my favorite romances ever! I LOVE Dageus, Cian, Drustan, Adam and Circenn. Oh yes Adam was redeemed in my eyes.

I hated the heroine in this one too, she drove me nuts! Don't worry, the first two books in the series are just not as good as the rest, so keep on going! I actually recommed skipping the first two books because they really aren't connected much to the last five and they are not as good.

Keep going because Kiss, Dark, Immortal and Spell are amazing! Touch is pretty good too (Circenn is a hottie!). The later heroines are much more likable.


MelissaB Shawna wrote: "BTW - Check out the highlander hunk I posted with my profile pics!"

Oh I saw him!!


Shawna MelissaB wrote: "Shawna, The last four books in the series are some of my favorite romances ever! I LOVE Dageus, Cian, Drustan, Adam and Circenn. Oh yes Adam was redeemed in my eyes. I hated the heroine in this ..."

Thanks for the info, Melissa! I'm so glad to hear that the later books are a lot better 'cause even though I liked this, I was a bit disappointed based on all the great things I'd heard about this series. And it wasn't nearly as steamy as I'd expected and hoped.

But if Kiss, Dark, Immortal, and Spell are some of your all-time favorites, then I definitely have to keep going! Although I'll probably switch back and forth with some other series I'm following like I usually do.


Sarita These are some of the best Highlander books out there! I love each of them in this series!....
I think she crossed them over into her Fae series as well?? I can't remember, but I think she was going to blend the Dreamfever/Faefever series with these highlanders.


Laura the Highland Hussy I am so glad you guys feel the same as I do! I got so frustrated with Hawk and Adrienne. there definitely weren't enough romantic exchanges to make me like them as much as I loved Adam Black in immortal highlander..one of my favorite books ever!I think starting with the third book in (the Highlander's Touch) through to the rest, even the short story "Into the Dreaming" are just amazing! Love those MacKeltars!
And yes, Sara, they do cross-over to an extent. We see Cian, Daegus and Drustan in one of them and we are introduced to Christian MacKeltar who is now in his twenties.


Ally72 Shawna...I LOVE KMM's Highlander series, but this one was probably my least favorite. I hope you still decide to read the others because Cian, Daegus, Drustan, and Adam are wonderful!!!


Karen This was my least favorite as well...the series only gets better from here!


Shawna Thanks ladies! I'll definitely continue with the series 'cause it sounds like there are some great hunks (I mean books) ahead! :)


Sarita Ahh..Yep Laurie! :-)
It's been a while since I've read them, and I usually end up ticked off at the end of each Fever book! Argh! Hopefully the next won't leave me hanging, and looking for more to the story other than blank pages!


Laura the Highland Hussy No joke! I swear I threw Faefever across the roon! had to tape up the dust jacket lol
Since Shadowfever's the end, I'd like to say it'll leave us all satisfied, but I've heard Christian gets his own series, it probably will be both a HEA for Mac and a frustrating ending for us for another year!


Sarita It's just plain cruel. lol

I was literally about to fall off the couch at the last paragraph, and I turned the page (because there were still pages left) and there was nothing but blank pages! I was screaming WTF?????? I was so stinkin' mad.
All that said...Sadly, I will still buy the next one. lol


Laura the Highland Hussy yeah, and dreamfever was both better and worse with the cliffhanger. KMM drives me nuts with her desire to torture me!


back to top