Whitney Atkinson's Reviews > The Book Thief

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
14457130
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorites, audiobook, read-in-2015, need-to-reread, made-me-cry

i have no words. never in my life have i sobbed so hard at a book. i had to put my knitting down, then i had to stop the audio book because i was crying too hard.
this book is no joke. i was going to give it 4 stars because i thought it was a little too long-winded but truly it is a masterpiece and thank you thank you thank you to everyone that persuaded me to read it.
302 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Book Thief.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

December 18, 2012 – Shelved
July 15, 2013 – Started Reading
July 15, 2013 –
page 108
19.57% "This is right around where I gave up last time."
August 7, 2013 – Shelved as: to-read
February 15, 2015 –
page 130
23.55% "third time trying to read this. but this time, on audio. and im LOVING it."
February 15, 2015 –
page 241
43.66% "it's taking me twice as long to listen to this rather than read it but im half way through knitting a scarf so i dont even care. i like this, but it's still a tad uneventful. it's a little too lengthy for my tastes, but then again I feel like a hypocrite saying that because I honestly do like the backstories. Idk, i'll see how I like it all in the end when the whole book wraps up."
February 15, 2015 –
page 282
51.09% "cannot keep my eyes open! also negative about this book- i feel like i read a lot but then i look up and it's only been 10 pages :/"
February 16, 2015 –
page 452
81.88% "reached tonight's page goal way earlier than expected. gonna try and finish this before school tomorrow!"
February 16, 2015 –
page 502
90.94% "im gonna read the last 50 pages instead of listen because the tears are starting to come"
February 17, 2015 – Finished Reading
May 26, 2015 – Shelved as: favorites
August 2, 2017 – Shelved as: audiobook
September 20, 2017 – Shelved as: read-in-2015
January 12, 2018 – Shelved as: need-to-reread
February 7, 2018 – Shelved as: made-me-cry

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Heber (new)

Heber Loresco this books was masterpiece


message 2: by Heber (new)

Heber Loresco hi whitney can you pls. make some video about speed read your so fast


Silvi Dont feel the pressure about finishing a book if youre not enjoying it. I personaly liked this book a lot but I can see how it can be a struggle.


message 4: by ZOEY (new) - added it

ZOEY watched the moie acoupleof daysago. now just have to read it.


Lauren AKA randomreader I personally thought this book was meh. I was really disappointed.


Emerson I just finished this book and it's amazing!!


message 7: by Amy (new) - rated it 5 stars

Amy this book was the bees knees.


Beth I cry a lot. Like 80% of the books that I've read have made me cry. I am scared to read these because if it makes other people cry I can't even imagine what it would do to me.


message 9: by Beth (new) - added it

Beth i loved the movie, but the writing in the book i really couldnt get into


Whitney Atkinson Beth wrote: "i loved the movie, but the writing in the book i really couldnt get into"

It's definitely really lengthy. I don't think I could have gotten through it if I didn't listen to it on audio.


rebecca ɤ I'm so happy you finally finished it!! This book does take awhile to read (I started it in summer 2013 then didn't pick it up again until beginning of 2014) and even though it took me an entire month to read I loved it so very much. The hardest I ever sobbed over a book. A real masterpiece :)


message 12: by Liza (new) - rated it 5 stars

Liza This is the truest thing ever.


Helen I'm so glad that you enjoyed this book. The ending is so heart breaking. I remember crying for almost half an hour while reading it, but I loved every moment of the book.


message 14: by Beth (new) - added it

Beth audio! good idea i never thought of that! omgsh i think ill do that instead! thanks !


Jacqueline yay! Im so glad you read it :), and yes it does make a big impact on you


Ashley This review makes me happy! I'm so glad you loved it. It will forever be my favorite.


Nadia Uhlenhaker When you have to put your knitting down, you know it's real.


message 18: by Sarah (new) - added it

Sarah Oh boy


message 19: by Vic (new) - rated it 4 stars

Vic This book is beautiful and well written I probably wanna cry my eyes out. Gosh Mark Zuzak what have ya done to me!


Jaden McNally Masterpiece is an understatement!


message 21: by Kuhu (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kuhu Tri I haven't cried at any book, so I was sure that I'd be fine with this one
BOY WAS I WRONG.
This book had me bawling, and when my mom asked me what was wrong, I blubbered
"IT'S JUST SO SAD!"


Gracie Owens This book is definitely a true work of art


message 23: by Janiah (new)

Janiah Benjamin I cried also while reading the book! It's like you can almost feel what the character's are feeling. This book is an amazing book. Very well written and descriptive. Death didn't leave out not one detail. Honestly, it was a masterpiece, I did enjoy it. The novel was explanatory and provided evidence behind everything.
I also felt like the novel was too long. It was very prolonged and dragged certain situations in the novel. It was too long. I also disliked that death was foreshadowing throughout the whole book. He was telling so much, didn't leave out not one detail. It was irritating me and I was getting so frustrated. It was ruining a lot for me, I could barely enjoy the book.


Julia G When I read this review I liked how you stated that the audiobook had the same effect on you than it did to a reader. I feel like audiobooks can sometimes not have the same effect as a physical copy, and I think that this just reiterates how well Markus Zusak did on this piece. I also agree this story can seem a little long-winded, but I think all the extra detail is the reason why we become so emotional by the end. A long-winded story allows you to become attached to the character(s) and makes the story more meaningful, in my opinion.


back to top