Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy's Reviews > The Siren

The Siren by Tiffany Reisz
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
7690153
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: short-list, series, bdsm, dark, favorites


My Nora


My Soren


My Wes


“Romance is sex plus love. Erotica is sex plus fear."... and terrified I was! It is not a pretty story. It's a very complicated almost real life story. There are no obstacles of boulder size, there are Mount Everest size obstacles that ALL characters in this book face.



I loved the story within the story that somewhat loosely paralleled the lives of the main characters. Nora lives and solves her life conundrums through writing. It is her therapy and she is her own psychologist. Amazingly strong she pulls herself out of her own hell and depression through her writing. She writes writes and deletes her love story with Soren to reminisce and remember. Gotta say it was not pretty and truly cringe worthy. But then again her 13 year old relationship with Soren is unconventional. But it is in their world and you just got to wrap your head around it and you do slowly and surely.



My favorite character was poor naive Wes. My heart broke for him as all his patience and optimism couldn't change nor bring Nora in his world. He is an amazing boy who will grow into a perfect man... but not a perfect man for Nora. Wes has a big part of her heart and her innocence that she will never reach and therefore they do not belong together (I hope I won't have to eat my words when this series concludes, but this is just my opinion).

Zach another important figure in her life most likely her creativity and one who helps her grow into a writer. She was a writer before but now she settles fully into her role with such confidence that I love it! (view spoiler) And I am so glad that his suffering only lasted just (view spoiler) and I'm glad how things ended for him. I had Soren's precognition that although he has HOT chemistry with Nora he doesn't belong to her and she doesn't belong to him...

Now moving on to belonging... Soren... holy ssssss---- does he scared me in the begging. Shower scene anyone? But slowly he works into your system. He is still scary as hell but in a way you get him and his views and the world he lives in. But seriously!!! There are SOME VERY IMPORTANT things that's hard to wrap around. Won't spoil but those who read understand... *cough* profession wise.

To wrap up this rant... Loved the series very interested to know where this will lead.

description


46 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Siren.
Sign In »

Quotes Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Liked

Tiffany Reisz
“Kid, Søren could eat you for breakfast and not even need to chew. Don’t ever fuck with a sadist, Wesley. For Søren, torture’s just foreplay.”
“Why did you stay with him?” he’d whispered.
Nora had grinned at him, and she saw a new fear in Wesley’s sweet brown eyes.
“I like foreplay.”
Tiffany Reisz, The Siren

Tiffany Reisz
“Nora— Forgive me for copyediting, but it must be said—you have raped the semicolon yet again. Stop it. It wasn’t asking for it no matter how it was dressed. If you don’t know how to use punctuation then do away with it altogether, write like Faulkner and we’ll pretend it’s on purpose.”

Bite me, Easton, Nora said to herself as she corrected her sexually compromised semicolon in chapter eighteen. Seriously, bite me.”
Tiffany Reisz, The Siren

Tiffany Reisz
“I know people think erotica is just a romance novel with rougher sex. It's not. If it's a subgenre of anything, it's horror.

Horror? Really?

Romance is sex plus love. Erotica is sex plus fear.”
Tiffany Reisz, The Siren

Tiffany Reisz
“There are only two reasons why you leave someone you're still in love with - either it's the right thing to do, or it's the only thing to do.”
Tiffany Reisz, The Siren
tags: love

Tiffany Reisz
“The same wind that blows us off course can turn and carry us home.”
Tiffany Reisz, The Siren

Tiffany Reisz
“Words are the thread in the fabric of the universe.”
Tiffany Reisz, The Siren
tags: words

Tiffany Reisz
“Watch out. Bras are often booby-trapped.”
Tiffany Reisz, The Siren

Tiffany Reisz
If you come back to me," he said, making a rare concession, "will you run or crawl?"

Nora had pressed her whole body into him at that moment. Resting her head on his strong shoulder, she watched as a tear forged a river down his long and muscled back.

"I'll fly.”
Tiffany Reisz, The Siren


Reading Progress

November 20, 2012 – Shelved
November 30, 2012 – Shelved as: series
November 30, 2012 – Shelved as: short-list
December 2, 2012 – Started Reading
December 2, 2012 –
3.0% "description\n \n too soon?"
December 2, 2012 –
4.0% "“The verdict is undecided.” “A well-hung jury then..." - ROFl love it already!" (Paperback Edition)
December 2, 2012 –
4.0% "“The verdict is undecided.” “A well-hung jury then..." - ROFL love it already"
December 2, 2012 –
11.0% "Yeeeeeeee... I'm gonna need my chocolate and wine for this description"
December 2, 2012 –
19.0% "Uuuuh wow. That was very mysterious/ominous... what does Soren know about Wes?"
December 3, 2012 –
28.0% ""Even the biggest kinksters don't play rough on the stomach. Very sensitive area." Well good to know there is a no-no area"
December 3, 2012 –
49.0% "“Blow job on a British guy?” Griffin asked with some concern. “You’re a braver bitch than I. No offense,” Griffin said, turning to Zach. “I have a foreskin phobia.” “Zach’s Jewish.” Griffin nodded his approval. “Mazel tov.”\n \n description"
December 3, 2012 –
53.0% "Whats the big deal that she has 2 jobs... why is she and Soren so focused on that... ANYONE?"
December 3, 2012 – Shelved as: bdsm
December 3, 2012 – Shelved as: dark
December 4, 2012 –
61.0% "description \n \n description \n \n That's um... hm... twisted?"
December 5, 2012 –
79.0% "Wow that's quite domestic of them two... And a complete 180 of Soren"
December 6, 2012 – Shelved as: favorites
December 6, 2012 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 65 (65 new)


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy really? ok putting it on my short list


Jamie *Gypsy Smut-a-teer* I have been told this series is really good!! they told me it kinda messes with your mind too...


Jamie *Gypsy Smut-a-teer* Vika wrote: "Oh boy... Jamie, our next buddy read?"

Sounds fine with me!! When do you want to start??


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy after this one? I also want to read the Highlander series... those sexy Druid MacKellans got me intrigued


Jamie *Gypsy Smut-a-teer* OK, sounds good!!! When we read the Highlander's do you also want to go ahead and squeeze in Iced? You were right, you got me back into my paranormals, lol!!! And I keep seeing the ad for it so it has me curious...


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Jamie wrote: "OK, sounds good!!! When we read the Highlander's do you also want to go ahead and squeeze in Iced? You were right, you got me back into my paranormals, lol!!! And I keep seeing the ad for it so it ..."

YEP! let's stay in the same universe it's going to be 8 books in all *sigh*


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Kari wrote: "Jamie wrote: "OK, sounds good!!! When we read the Highlander's do you also want to go ahead and squeeze in Iced? You were right, you got me back into my paranormals, lol!!! And I keep seeing the ad..."

Awesome! Yep will let you know! I'm guesstimating sometime next week


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Jamie wrote: "OK, sounds good!!! When we read the Highlander's do you also want to go ahead and squeeze in Iced? You were right, you got me back into my paranormals, lol!!! And I keep seeing the ad for it so it ..."

oh and description to getting you back into Paranormals... did it for purely selfish reasons too ;)


Sultan * Baby Mama Smut-a-teer* Oooo enjoy the original sinners series, it is amazing. There are no words for how awesome this series is!! Keep me posted. I read the first 2 books of the highlander series, very sexy. Let me know when you guys get to book 3 ill tag along and read with ya guys. Happy and horny reading. Back to my twisted sexy abduction book.


Jamie *Gypsy Smut-a-teer* LOL!!! Well it worked, I have went through some of my huge TBR list and I have so many on it. 8 books? No prob!!! I love it!!!


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy yep i think we planned our reading list for the next few weeks... Original sinner (3 and some books) then Highlander and then Dani


Jamie *Gypsy Smut-a-teer* Whoa, that's a lot of reading... hehe!! Sounds like a plan chicka!!!

@ Sultan, we'll let you know and also you wanted to know when we were going to read Iced and we are planning on that one as well after Highlander's so you can continue on with us!! :D


Sultan * Baby Mama Smut-a-teer* Sounds like a plan girls! I do love me some buddy reading!! Jamie please tell me these two have real sex at some point and not just "hot need my spare pair of panties" sexy fantasy sex.


Jamie *Gypsy Smut-a-teer* Sultan wrote: "Sounds like a plan girls! I do love me some buddy reading!! Jamie please tell me these two have real sex at some point and not just "hot need my spare pair of panties" sexy fantasy sex."

Where are you? Has Conrad made it to the Cabin yet?


Sultan * Baby Mama Smut-a-teer* No he has not made it there yet. They are still just having hot fantasies about fucking each other. It's damn dark and sexy.


Jamie *Gypsy Smut-a-teer* LOL, just wait until Conrad finds her and holds them all there together...oh just wait...


Jamie *Gypsy Smut-a-teer* Iced, is the next book in the fever series. It is actually it's own trilogy but still tucked into the fever series. Here is a link.... Iced (Dani O'Malley, #1) by Karen Marie Moning


message 19: by Jill (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jill I think you might need more than chocolate and wine. I just read about a whiskey chaser, phew!If you aren't there yet, you'll know what I am talking about when you get there.


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy No not there yet.... That won't work? Am I going to have to go looking for moonshine? Lol


message 21: by Jill (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jill Maybe, maybe.


Jamie *Gypsy Smut-a-teer* Loved Your Review!!


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Jamie wrote: "Loved Your Review!!"

Thank you darling ;)


Blacky *Romance Addict* Great review Vika!


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Blacky wrote: "Great review Vika!"

Thanks :)


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Kari wrote: "Yaaaaaay, I'm so glad you liked it! Great review."

Thank you, Thank you... can't wait to finish work so I can start on Angel


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Kari wrote: "Vika wrote: "Kari wrote: "Yaaaaaay, I'm so glad you liked it! Great review."

Thank you, Thank you... can't wait to finish work so I can start on Angel"

Yaaaaay, I’m so glad your sticking with the..."


HM... I wonder who Prince represents... I'm trying my best not to peak


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy hm... well this is weird! this series is available in my online public library... all but Prince tho :(


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Kari wrote: "Vika wrote: "hm... well this is weird! this series is available in my online public library... all but Prince tho :("

It just came out Nov. 23. I looked on my amazon account & it is prohibited to ..."


that's sucks! thanks for looking though :)


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy cool! I'm ok with buying the book too. So don't go too crazy ;)


message 31: by Baba (new)

Baba  Great review, Vika!


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Baba wrote: "Great review, Vika!"


Thanks darling :)


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Another great reveiw Vika! Maybe one of these days I will give this series another chance = )


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy ★SueBee★ wrote: "Another great reveiw Vika! Maybe one of these days I will give this series another chance = )"

Thanks Sue.

Oh yes... maybe you will see it in different light next time around.


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Your review is AWESOME! But... seriously?

QUOTE
My favorite character was poor naive Wes.
UNQUOTE

NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! LOL. Love your pics, spot on xxx


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Rosalinda wrote: "Your review is AWESOME! But... seriously?

QUOTE
My favorite character was poor naive Wes.
UNQUOTE

NOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! LOL. Love your pics, spot on xxx"


Yep the cat is out of the bag... and that's only because I want to cuddle him and mama him 'cause he's so clueless


message 38: by Jen (new) - added it

Jen Vika, love the pics of the characters! I still haven't brought myself to read this series and I'm not sure why? One of these days I will get there!! Hope you are doin well my friend!


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* I came back to this review and I am still shocked about your favourite character. Where is the un-friend button??? LOL x


message 40: by Susanne (new)

Susanne Fab review, Vika!


Dana ~ The Dirty Smut'atter Ok you are killing me as you know how much I love Wesley and seriously OMG....I need to close my mouth!!


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Dana wrote: "Ok you are killing me as you know how much I love Wesley and seriously OMG....I need to close my mouth!!"

So does that mean you approve of my Wes casting?


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Jen wrote: "Vika, love the pics of the characters! I still haven't brought myself to read this series and I'm not sure why? One of these days I will get there!! Hope you are doin well my friend!"

I don't know why you are hesistant either.... I think you would love it!

How are you feeling Jen?


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Rosalinda wrote: "I came back to this review and I am still shocked about your favourite character. Where is the un-friend button??? LOL x"

Why you picking on this child?... a very horny child lol...


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Susanne wrote: "Fab review, Vika!"

Thank you Susanne :)


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Vika S - ♔ of GIF according to Sharon wrote: "Rosalinda wrote: "I came back to this review and I am still shocked about your favourite character. Where is the un-friend button??? LOL x"

Why you picking on this child?... a very horny child lol..."


Pederast! LOL x


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy Rosalinda wrote: Pederast! LOL x

He's legit ROFL... btw... as I said before I see him as a brother type of role... It's Nora who went there ROFL


Dana ~ The Dirty Smut'atter Vika S - ♔ of GIF according to Sharon wrote: "Dana wrote: "Ok you are killing me as you know how much I love Wesley and seriously OMG....I need to close my mouth!!"

So does that mean you approve of my Wes casting?"


I more than approve of your Wesley and I might have to dig into him farther and pin the hell out of his fine-self!!


Vika aka ♔ of GIF & Grumpy Smut-ateer *P/T Freebie Fairy I love the bored Look on "Soren" in this picture... yum yum


Dana ~ The Dirty Smut'atter Oh that look is so "Soren" you couldn't find a better image!!


« previous 1
back to top