11811 (Eleven)'s Reviews > Last Days

Last Days by Adam Nevill
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4460829
's review
Nov 06, 2012

it was amazing
bookshelves: favorites

I’m pretty sure this is the best horror novel that I’ve read so far this year out of about 99 and counting. The ending slipped a little - It went from ALIEN to ALIENS in that last chapter, a little too action heavy. That dampened the ambience a bit. It didn’t match the cadence of the rest of the book. I think less would have been more when it comes to the details of the conclusion but that was really the only thing I didn’t like and I don’t want to be a dick about it so it still gets five stars.

Bottom line: It scared the everliving shit out of me more than once. I love it when a book can do that. Treat yourselves. Get scared.

Neville writes the way I would want to write if I could be a writer - intelligent but simple. He knows how to keep you turning the pages and he knows when to shitcan appropriate but unwieldy words in favor other words that work just as well but come streamlined, ready to serve the common man and not force us all to go running for the dictionary.. He has the wisdom to catch himself before he writes something damn near poetic and morph it into everyday dialogue, sparing us all from having to think too hard and risk aneurysms. Books like that tend to be faster reads. We still get the deeper shit he’s trying to say but he doesn’t bludgeon us with it. I respect that. I’m a fan of using small, simple words any time they can be used, particularly in this type of fiction.

Nevill’s prose is brilliant. Highly recommended to anyone who is even marginally interested in the horror genre, or in excellent writing in general. Easily one of the top genre writers out there today whom I’ve had the opportunity to read.

His entire catalogue is now on my tbr list. Between this and The Ritual, he’s cemented himself firmly in favorite author territory.

I’ll stop praising for now. Go read it. Off with you!
25 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Last Days.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 6, 2012 – Shelved
June 2, 2015 – Started Reading
June 3, 2015 –
page 26
4.9% "Debt changed gravity"
June 5, 2015 –
page 66
12.43%
June 5, 2015 –
page 118
22.22%
June 6, 2015 –
page 155
29.19% "This is some seriously spooky shit."
June 7, 2015 –
page 181
34.09% "I need a hug. \n \n Nah, just kidding. But I am sufficiently creeped out."
June 10, 2015 –
page 243
45.76%
June 14, 2015 –
page 278
52.35% ""Smiled without moving her mouth."\n \n I like that sentence. It says more that it says."
June 14, 2015 –
page 311
58.57% ""I need a drink."\n \n Me too, man. Me too. You're all freaking me out."
June 15, 2015 –
page 340
64.03%
June 15, 2015 –
page 422
79.47%
June 16, 2015 –
page 446
83.99% ""Ate four spoonfuls of brown sugar to stay awake."\n \n That's so gross."
June 18, 2015 – Shelved as: favorites
June 18, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-14 of 14) (14 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Maxine (new) - added it

Maxine Marsh The part with the trio of paintings...I could see them very clearly!


11811 (Eleven) This book can't be good for my nerves.


Bill Great review, Eleven! Just took a big jump up the tbr.


11811 (Eleven) Thanks, man. You should consider starting it immediately.


Bill Shit. I have about 4 fricking books stacked up that I have to read and review. They may have to wait. Not a bad problem to have entirely, but I need to stop getting review copies. (Yeah, right. I have a hard time turning down freebies. Me love freebies.)


11811 (Eleven) Ever since I joined Netgalley I've been under pressure to read. I keep over-committing and also have about 4 going right now.


Bill NetGalley is great, but I have 16 currently on my shelf. The pressure. The pressure!!


11811 (Eleven) I may have to start sub-contracting out some of these advance copies. I'm not at 16 on my shelf but I'm on the road that leads that way.


Bill That's a great idea. I may have to steal that one.

I f'd up and got pre-approved for Samhain and downloaded a bunch of them.


message 10: by Kaisersoze (new) - added it

Kaisersoze Okay, expectations raised.


message 11: by Maxine (new) - added it

Maxine Marsh I agree Eleven, one of the best I've read this year too and I've read some good ones. It hit the scary button multiple times. I must check out Ritual.


Janie C. Excellent review, Eleven! I loved this book, and The Ritual.


11811 (Eleven) Thanks, Janie!


Maxine (Booklover Catlady) My favourite author. Pop No One Gets Out Alive and Lost Girl on your list. My 2014 and 2015 number one reads. His new anthology of short stories he's written I've just reviewed and it's a rare horror book that had me truly scared, hairs on end and needing to read women's fiction before sleep. Sublime. His descriptions make me smell, hear and taste the horrors in his books.


back to top