Danika's Reviews > Angelfall

Angelfall by Susan Ee
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
12982077
's review
Nov 06, 2012

really liked it
bookshelves: wishlist, cover-love, read-in-2016
Recommended for: Fans of post-apocalyptic fiction or a unique adventure story

Second Read (December 13, 2016 - December 21, 2016)
Still such a brilliant book! My thoughts are very similar to the first read, and I am really looking forward to continuing the story in World After!

First Read (January 8, 2013 - January 12, 2013): I think I am one of the few who was not hooked from the start. I kinda in a reading slump, or on the verge of going into a reading slump, and I needed something that was really going to suck me in. It didn't. I was... hmm, maybe 50-100 pages in or so before I started going crazy and wanting more. But that was ok, because the ending more than made up for it.

Anyway, this novel has everything I look for in a YA book: original concept (yes, it's about angels, and yes, it's still original), believable, amazing, realistic characters, and a gripping, action-filled plot. I loved how the angels were evil. They added a haunting kind of presence throughout the entire novel. I was also very interested in the angel politics, though I wanted MORE. I had so many questions by the end of the novel. Ah, the end of the novel. SOOOO CREEPY! I was totally not expecting that horrifyingly haunting FREAKING AMAZING twist at the end of the book! And Paige!

I loved all the characters, Penryn especially. She really kicked-butt, often quite literally. She was a very refreshing and interesting narrator. She was strong, independent, and I admired her courage and determination while searching for her sister (this reminded me of Blood Red Road, in a way). I also LOVED her dialogue with Raffe. That was just great. I was kind of disappointed that he was, in a sense, a love interest, but at the same time, I think Ee carried it out very well, and it was definitely in the background, and took a backseat to the plot. I also really liked the fight where Penryn shows off her ninja warrior skills. And I appreciated the presence of a schizophrenic mother. The plot was very original, for the most part, especially at the aerie at the end. And the people hanging from trees. And the other part I didn't see coming. I loved the dark, creepiness of this book. It just had that excellent mood that I was looking for.

Overall, 4/5 stars, because, despite all my raving, the beginning did not completely draw me in. some things were too inconclusive for me, and throughout the novel there were areas where I lost interest.
3 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Angelfall.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 6, 2012 – Shelved
January 10, 2013 –
page 156
54.93% "Really enjoying it so far!"
January 12, 2013 –
page 253
89.08% "What just happened. What a freaking amazing twist!"
June 15, 2016 – Shelved as: wishlist
December 13, 2016 – Started Reading
December 13, 2016 – Shelved as: cover-love
December 21, 2016 – Finished Reading
January 11, 2017 – Shelved as: read-in-2016

Comments (showing 1-1 of 1) (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Jared Actually, the next book is planned to be released at Fall 2013. See Susan's blog: http://www.susanee.com/blog/2012/11/b...


back to top