Rute Canhoto's Reviews > Bared to You

Bared to You by Sylvia Day
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5706229
's review
Nov 04, 2012

really liked it

OPINIÃO
Acabei de ler este livro a 7 de novembro de 2012. Dou-lhe quatro estrelas.
Tendo em conta que li “Fifty Shades of Grey” há pouco tempo, foi quase impossível não estabelecer alguns paralelismos, até porque este livro é tido por muitos como melhor do que a trilogia Grey. Pessoalmente, prefiro a série Grey. Mas falando dos paralelismos, eis alguns que encontrei:

- os protagonistas masculinos são ambos empresários deveras ricos, isolados do mundo, frios e distantes, sedentos de poder, dominadores e adoram sexo;

- a relação dominador/ submisso, embora amplamente abordada na série Grey, na saga Crossfire é igualmente mencionada, embora mais ao de leve;

- Anastacia e Eva são ambas controladas/ monitorizadas pelos personagens masculinos;

- Achei Anastacia e Eva irritantes, pois não param de arranjar entraves ao avanço das coisas, sabotando a própria felicidade;

- O detalhe do motorista: Taylor na série Grey, e Martin na série Crossfire.

“Bared to You” é um romance erótico, que é protagonizado por duas personagens “danificadas” pelos respetivos passados. Achei-as demasiado “estragadas” – gostava que fossem um bocadinho mais sãs, na medida em que, por vezes, comportam-se como crianças petulantes. O Gideon é uma personagem forte, mas demasiado focado no sexo; podia refrear-se um bocadinho. Quando à Eva, achei-a irritante, estava sempre à procura de problemas e a colocar entraves a tudo…
Gostei que abordassem a modalidade Krav Maga. Já tinha pensado em praticá-la no ginásio, incentivou-me a ir mesmo às aulas, pois pode dar jeito =)
O que mais gostei foi do modo como a história terminou. Embora saibamos que há mais dois volumes na saga e que a história ainda continua, não somos deixados na expectativa louca que nos faz roer unhas de ansiedade. Acaba quase como que se terminasse um ciclo; gostei disso.

REVIEW
I read this book on November 7, 2012. I rate it four stars.
Given that I read "Fifty Shades of Grey" recently, it was almost impossible not to make some parallels, even because this book is regarded by many as better than the Grey trilogy. Personally, I prefer the Grey series. But speaking of parallels, here are some I found:

- The male protagonists are both very wealthy businessmen, isolated from the world, cold and distant, power-hungry, domineering, and they love sex;

- The relationship dominator/ submissive, although widely discussed in the Grey series, in the Crossfire saga is also mentioned, although more lightly;

- Anastacia and Eva are both controlled/ monitored by the male characters;

- I think Anastacia and Eve are annoying, because they’re always coming up with barriers to the advancement of things, sabotaging their own happiness;

- The detail of the driver: Taylor in the Grey series, and Martin in the Crossfire series.

"Bared to You" is an erotic novel, starred by two characters "damaged" by their pasts. I found them too damaged – I wish they were a little saner, since they sometimes behave like petulant children. Gideon is a strong character, but too focused on sex; he could refrain a bit. As for Eva, I found her annoying; she was always looking for trouble and hindering everything...
I liked that the author talked about Krav Maga. I had thought about practicing it at the gym, and it encouraged me to really take those classes. They might be handy one day =)
What I liked best was the way the story ended. Although we know that there are two more volumes in the saga and the story still continues, we are not left in the crazy expectation that makes us bite our nail with anxiety. It’s almost as if a cycle has finished; I liked it.
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Bared to You.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 4, 2012 – Started Reading
November 4, 2012 – Shelved
November 5, 2012 –
page 15
4.17%
November 6, 2012 –
page 150
41.67%
November 7, 2012 –
page 220
61.11%
November 7, 2012 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.