Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾'s Reviews > Release Me

Release Me by J. Kenner
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5498948

Damien Stark is just one of those dark, quiet types. He’s like an iceberg, Texas. The deep parts are well hidden and what you do see is hard and a little bit cold.”



Well what can I tell you about my thoughts on this book...

seems to be an adequate description.

I didn't love it. I didn't hate it. To be honest, I'm having a hard time remembering anything about it and I just finished reading it.

I never really connected with the story, or the characters. I suppose you can say it was a case of 'been there, read that'.

There was Nikki:

Nikki is a former Texas beauty queen, currently working for a company that is looking for Damien Stark's investment. Thankfully she wasn't an excessively naive virgin, but she still gave me an eye roll or 12 through the book.

Then there's Nikki's mother:

I think that about covers that...

And then we have Damien Stark

I have to admit that Damien peaked my interest. The few crumbs that we were given about his past is the only thing that intrigue me enough to continue with this series.

As for my thoughts?

Nikki and Damien's penchant for referring to one another as Mr.Stark and Ms.Fairchild


The story?

That was about it. There were bits and pieces here and there that didn't have to do with how much Damien wanted Nikki, or how hot Nikki was for Damien, but they kind of got lost in the process for me.

Damien's "kinkiness"?
I ask you, why is it that whenever a few spankings, control, and light bondage is involved, all of a sudden the hero is kinky? Maybe I've been desensitized to this sort of thing by reading the Lexi Blakes, Cherise Sinclairs, and Shayla Blacks? I don't know

I mean Damien was very hot, and I did enjoy his character a lot. So he likes to be called Sir during sex. OK. But I wouldn't really go so far as to call him a Dom. At least not to me. Guess I'll have to see what happens in the next two books.

The Sex
MEH. This happens very rarely to me, but I found myself skipping through not only a lot of the book, but the sex scenes as well. I know! Shocking right? This is me we're talking about here! I love me my smutty smut. And here I find myself thinking

Now before you start grabbing your pitchforks and torches, I'll say that it was not due to lack of hotness. The steam was definitely there. It's just that I never really connected to this book, so I had a hard time being interested in the sexy part of it either.

Truthfully, I was neither here nor there while reading it. I have no opinion on it one way or another. I can't say it was bad, but then I can't say it was great either.


My brain while reading Release Me?


There was a very interesting set up for the next book, and I'm curious to see how it plays out. I'll reserve my judgement of this series until I read book 2 and 3. So fingers crossed.

So that will be all for this girl's ramblings here. I'm off to read Claim Me.

And I thank you!


For more reviews visit: Dirty Girl Romance Book Blog





28 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Release Me.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 3, 2012 – Shelved
May 31, 2013 – Shelved as: up-next
August 19, 2013 – Started Reading
August 19, 2013 –
0.0% "Well considering I've had book 3 ARC waiting for me forever, I figure it's about damn time I read book 1.\n \n Ohhhh yeaaa! Bring on zee smut!\n \n hehehehehe"
August 19, 2013 –
17.0% "What?! What the fuckity fuck was that all about?! \n \n All this mystery is fine and good. But dammit Damien, you best deliver on the goods and soon!\n "
August 20, 2013 –
30.0% "Hmmm...very reminiscent of FSoG so far, though the heroine is MUCH better. But if she continues with the "oh my" I just might lose it\n \n \n But at least there's no inner goddess LMAO!"
August 20, 2013 –
39.0% ""I have a proposition for you."\n "I'm a business woman not a model."\n "Everyone has a price."\n "I don't."\n "No? One million dollars, Ms. Fairchild. You get the cash, and I get you."\n \n AHHHHH! Not this proposition BS! Seriously, Damien? \n "
August 21, 2013 – Shelved as: erotic-romance
August 21, 2013 – Shelved as: dark-read
August 21, 2013 – Shelved as: favorite-alpha-hero
August 21, 2013 – Shelved as: meh
August 21, 2013 – Shelved as: new-to-me-author
August 21, 2013 – Shelved as: steamy-romance
August 21, 2013 – Shelved as: trilogies
August 21, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-28 of 28 (28 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Heidi Great review Lkay! Pretty much nailed that one.


Mirjana **DTR - Down to Read** Great review lady! Pretty much matches exactly how I felt reading this. Book 2 is my favorite in the series, but as a whole the series ends up being "meh" for me. Hope you like the rest of the series.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Heidi wrote: "Great review Lkay! Pretty much nailed that one."

Thanks, Heidi! Wish I could have liked this more, but I'm keeping my fingers crossed for the second book :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Mirjana wrote: "Great review lady! Pretty much matches exactly how I felt reading this. Book 2 is my favorite in the series, but as a whole the series ends up being "meh" for me. Hope you like the rest of the ser..."

I keep hearing book 2 is the best of the series. Hopefully it will go better for me than this one did. Just nothing about it really interested me. I don't even know why exactly. *shrugs*


Christy I LOVE your casing for Damien! ;) Great review!


 ♥  Barb ♥ LOVE your review and your Damien!!! Does this leave you hanging?


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Christy wrote: "I LOVE your casing for Damien! ;) Great review!"

Thanks, sweetie! I'm gonna try to keep his casting pic near me for when I read the next book hehehehe


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Barb wrote: "LOVE your review and your Damien!!! Does this leave you hanging?"

Thanks, girly :)

It's not a crazy cliffy. The couple is in a more HFN place, but there's definitely a lot of questions left unanswered. But nothing too bad


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lisa wrote: "Awesome review!"

Thanks, Lisa!


message 10: by Becky (new) - added it

Becky Frosco Great review.


* Meli Mel * Great review, Lkay! I see your point. I liked the series, although I still have to read book 3, but it's not my fav. Damien on the other hand is pretty hot.


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Becky wrote: "Great review."



Thanks, Becky :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Meli Mel *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Great review, Lkay! I see your point. I liked the series, although I still have to read book 3, but it's not my fav. Damien on the other hand is pretty hot."

Thank you, Meli <3
This book just didn't leave an impression on me, bad or good. I'm not even sure why. Damien was yummy, so I'm gonna have to see how much better he gets in book 2 ;)


message 14: by Len (new) - added it

Len Beautiful honest review Lkay,


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Len wrote: "Beautiful honest review Lkay,"


Thank you, sweets! <3


SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ Awesome review Lkay! Sorry it did not affect you much. = / Are you giving up on series?


Alexis *Reality Bites* LOL! Great review Lkay!!!
The tumbleweed blowing in the wind...PRICELESS!


• Lisa • FABULOUS review lovely x


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ SueBee★bring me an alpha!★ wrote: "Awesome review Lkay! Sorry it did not affect you much. = / Are you giving up on series?"

Thank you, SueBee! I'm not giving up on it just yet. I keep hearing the next book is much better, so I'll have to see how that goes for me :)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Alexis *RealityBites! Let's Get Lost!* wrote: "LOL! Great review Lkay!!!
The tumbleweed blowing in the wind...PRICELESS!"


hehehehehe thanks, Alexis ;)


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Lisa Jayne wrote: "FABULOUS review lovely x"

Thank you, sweetie <3


Blacky *Romance Addict* Great review Lkay :D


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Blacky *Romance Addict* wrote: "Great review Lkay :D"

Thanks, woman! ;)


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Lmao.....that feeling of finishing a book and remembering sweet F A about it!!!! Hahah......great review, Lkay!!! xxx


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Jxxx ♥ Pink Lady ♥ wrote: "Lmao.....that feeling of finishing a book and remembering sweet F A about it!!!! Hahah......great review, Lkay!!! xxx"

You know it's bad when I skip through the sex scenes. LMAO! I mean, the horror! Can't say it was a bad book, just not a memorable one. Hopefully the second one will be better :)


message 26: by Kat (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kat loves-to-read I'm so happy to know that I'm not the only one that has been pretty much skipping/ skimming over majority of the sex scenes! I love your review!


Lana ❇✾Dirty Girl Romance❇✾ Kat wrote: "I'm so happy to know that I'm not the only one that has been pretty much skipping/ skimming over majority of the sex scenes! I love your review!"

No, you're definitely not alone. I'm all for a hot sex scene, but there's a point where it starts to take away from the story for me :-/


message 28: by Wynne (new) - added it

Wynne Katherine Loved you review, Lana! <3


back to top