Diane S ☔'s Reviews > The Valley of Amazement

The Valley of Amazement by Amy Tan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4159922
's review

liked it

It is very apparent that Tan did a huge amount of research before writing this novel. Her writing is very fluid and strong, so why than did I only rate this book a three? When I first started reading this I was enthralled, reading about the lives of the concubine, the houses that provided pleasure but also a place were business was discussed and deals were made. Found it fascinating that the madame of the place was a white woman, who had a young daughter.

Fast forward and politics rears its ugly head, previous players are no longer the ruling players and love makes a fool of an otherwise wise woman. This is when it began to get monotonous for me. The training of a young virgin, the intimate details all became too much, I no longer cared to read constantly about the ways to please a man. Details were repeated and I had a hard time reading the explicit details on the deflowering of a young girl, and it was more than one girl.

In truth the book was about a hundred pages too long for me, but while I felt bad for these young woman, I really did not like any of these characters. This is how the book was for me, many from the reviews do not feel that way. So read this for a look into a little known culture, well researched but just know that in places it gets repetitive and very explicit.
20 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Valley of Amazement.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 22, 2012 – Shelved
October 22, 2013 – Started Reading
October 23, 2013 –
page 50
12.5%
October 24, 2013 –
page 75
18.75% "I seem to have a torrid fascination with the lives of courtesans. Who knew? But I am finding it fascinating."
October 26, 2013 –
page 120
30.0%
October 30, 2013 –
page 150
37.5%
October 31, 2013 –
page 200
50.0% "Reading this book I have discovered that I find reading about the ways to please a man , is tiring. Plus I don't really like any of these characters."
November 1, 2013 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-11 of 11 (11 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Heather (new) - added it

Heather Fineisen HA!


message 2: by Elli (new)

Elli I appreciate your review.


message 3: by Maureen (new)

Maureen Eww. No deflowering in my literature please!


message 4: by ☮Karen (new)

☮Karen LOL, Maureen.


Diane S ☔ Maureen if you read this and had to read about the tons of ways to please a man, how to glance at him coyly, learn music and songs to match his moods, really I suppose this is how it really was but I did not even like the characters, even without the deflowering. LOL I can see you all rolling your eyes.


message 6: by Maureen (new)

Maureen Thank you for this review Diane, I have read Memoir of a Geisha, and I will leave it at that - I don't need anything more graphic.


message 7: by Connie (new)

Connie Yes, eye roll!


Florence (Lefty) MacIntosh Definite pass - thanks Diane.


Kaye at page 148 ready to throw in the towel and move on to something else. Yuk!


Carol I agree Kaye. Not enjoying much at all.


message 11: by Mariah Roze (new) - added it

Mariah Roze Our Diversity in All Forms Book Club is reading this for December. We’d love to have you join the discussion on it. :) https://www.goodreads.com/topic/show/...


back to top