Don's Reviews > Break It Down: Stories

Break It Down by Lydia Davis
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
99020
's review

really liked it


Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Break It Down.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading
January 10, 2009 – Shelved
April 24, 2009 –
page 8
4.17% "Some might think the longer sentences in "Story" are literary BS but I was blown away. 5*"
April 25, 2009 –
page 14
7.29% "More emotional arc in "The Fears of Mrs. Orlando" than story arc. 4*"
April 25, 2009 –
page 20
10.42% "All I can say about "Liminal: The Little Man" is that it's over my head. 4*"
April 25, 2009 –
page 31
16.15% ""Break It Down" was almost too vivid & gutwrenching. 5*"
April 26, 2009 –
page 39
20.31% ""Mr. Burdoff's Visit to Germany" has the best opening in the collection so far. 5*"
April 26, 2009 –
page 40
20.83% "Back to 1-paragraph pieces in "What She Knew." 4*"
April 26, 2009 –
page 41
21.35% ""The Fish" is also 1 paragraph long; packs a slightly bigger whallop. 5*"
April 26, 2009 –
page 43
22.4% ""Mildred and the Oboe" gets 5* for making me wonder if it inspired the bit in AMERICAN PIE w/the flute."
April 28, 2009 –
page 49
25.52% ""The Mouse" is a perfect thread running through two relationships. 5*"
April 29, 2009 –
page 57
29.69% ""The Letter" is similar to "Story" & just as gutwrenching. 5*"
April 29, 2009 –
page 61
31.77% "Not sure how I feel about "Extracts From a Life" being extracts from another work, rearranged. Still compelling, though. 4*"
May 1, 2009 –
page 75
39.06% ""The House Plans" works on more levels than I can even count! 5*"
May 3, 2009 –
page 77
40.1% ""The Brother-in-Law" paints an archetypal picture in such broad strokes. 5*"
May 3, 2009 –
page 79
41.15% ""How W.H. Auden Spends the Night in a Friend's House" is a riff, but it's above my head. 5*, tho."
May 3, 2009 –
page 81
42.19% ""Mothers" is even more archetypal than "The Brother-in-Law." 5*"
May 4, 2009 –
page 82
42.71% ""In a House Besieged" is 7 dense sentences that begs 2-3 rereads. 5*"
May 4, 2009 –
page 84
43.75% ""A Visit to Her Husband" is Carver-esque in its subject matter. 5*"
May 5, 2009 –
page 88
45.83% ""Cockroaches in Autumn" is a little too cryptic for me. 3*"
May 5, 2009 –
page 91
47.4% ""The Bone" shows the stuff lasting memories are made of. 5*"
May 5, 2009 –
page 99
51.56% "1st 2 pgs of "A Few Things Wrong with Me" hit close to home. 5*"
May 11, 2009 –
page 114
59.38% ""Sketches for a Life of Wassilly" was exactly that in a literal and literary way. 3.5*"
May 11, 2009 –
page 116
60.42% "The 1st line of "City Employment" could've been written by Fran Lebowitz. 5*"
May 11, 2009 –
page 119
61.98% ""Two Sisters" seems more of a broad character sketch. 3*"
May 11, 2009 –
page 121
63.02% ""The Mother" succinctly paints a sad life in a few strokes. 5*"
May 14, 2009 –
page 128
66.67% ""Therapy" in about life in therapy i.e. the life of a person in therapy. 5*"
May 17, 2009 –
page 136
70.83% ""French Lesson I: Le Meurtre" was a little gimmicky for me. 3*"
May 18, 2009 –
page 142
73.96% ""Once a Very Stupid Man" is a very recursive tale. 4*"
May 19, 2009 –
page 149
77.6% ""The Housemaid" is 7 pgs of multiple layers. 5*"
May 20, 2009 –
page 153
79.69% "Long sentences in "The Cottages" might've been better from inhabitant's POV. 3*"
May 20, 2009 –
page 154
80.21% ""Safe Love" succinctly tells an unfinished story. 4*"
May 20, 2009 –
page 155
80.73% "Solving "The Problem" clearly isn't the point. I didn't even try. 5*"
May 21, 2009 –
page 160
83.33% "Does "What an Old Woman Will Wear" show a subtle acceptance of aging or a subtle rebellion? 5*"
May 21, 2009 –
page 165
85.94% ""The Sock" is a realistic portrayal of how folks in broken relationships get by day 2 day. 5*"
May 21, 2009 –
page 177
92.19% ""Five Signs of Disturbance" is disturbing. I felt how close the protag is to the edge. 5*"
May 21, 2009 –
page 192
100.0%

No comments have been added yet.