Esther's Reviews > Seven Exalted Orders

Seven Exalted Orders by Deby Fredericks
Rate this book
Clear rating

's review
Sep 23, 2012

it was amazing
bookshelves: fantasy, favorite-books

Deby Fredericks has created a very intriguing exploration of the idea of power in "Seven Exalted Orders."

There are two Kingdoms, Arkanost and Costera. In Arkanost, the mages have restricted the form of their power. The Seven Orders are there to ensure a system of checks and balances, ensuring that mages can't get too much power, and ensuring that no one order can take political control of the kingdom. In Costera, a mage is allowed to seize land and control their own serfs to their hearts' content.

Of course, the concept of power is contrasted delicately with the concept of freedom. In Arkanost, mages aren't free to do as they wish; in Costera, the same is true of commoners.

The characters Deby Fredericks places into this world try desperately to exist in a world where power and freedom are precariously balanced. Each character has their own motives, and the desire for power or freedom changes from character to character.

I found this novel to be almost completely engrossing. There's one change of a character's opinions that occurs very suddenly, but other than that I lost myself in the world of Ms. Frederick's characters. This has made for a rather droopy-eyed day at work, but it was worth it.
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Seven Exalted Orders.
Sign In »

No comments have been added yet.