Susan's Reviews > Home Work

Home Work by Kaje Harper
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
739211
's review
Sep 21, 2012

really liked it


I LOVE TONY & MAC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Just when I knew I couldn’t take any more angst…
Just when I knew I had to have a sweet love story…
Just when I knew I wanted (view spoiler)

…Kaje Harper’s 3rd book in the Life Lessons series, “Home Work”, released.

I’m writing this with a smile on my face because how do you NOT enjoy reading about 2 people in love, figuring out life, and making it work the best they can? It’s been a journey for Tony & Mac (and us readers), but one that just feels so good…and feels like HOME.

Mac’s fully out of the closet.
The family is fully together.
And Kaje Harper is fully hitting her stride with these characters.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not all rainbows and roses…there are some interesting twists and turns in this book. Like the previous books, these center mostly around Mac’s job as a Minnesota homicide detective. But, the story itself, in its entirety, feels like it’s wrapped up in a warm hug…and I loved it. Sure, it’s pure fluff…but it makes me happy!

Can we get book 4…say…tomorrow? :)

Thanks, Lenore, again...and as always…
18 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Home Work.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 21, 2012 – Shelved
October 5, 2012 – Started Reading
October 7, 2012 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-20 of 20) (20 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Baba  It's very good, Susan (I'm halfway trough by now).


Susan I loved it, Baba! Their relationship has come such a long way. *sigh*


Baba  Nice review, Susan!


Lenore :) Loved the review, Susan! Thanks for not spoilering me. I'm still only 12% in and I just melted a little, (view spoiler)


message 5: by Karla (new)

Karla As always, nicely done Susan!


message 6: by Kelly (new)

Kelly Great review, Susan!


message 7: by Monique (new)

Monique Great review, haven't read this series YET!!


Susan Monique's Musings wrote: "Great review, haven't read this series YET!!"

Thanks, Monique. Lenore intro'd it to me. It's sweet. And you'll come to love the couple! :)


Lenore The great thing about Mac and Tony is that they feel real. Like they really live somewhere in Minnesota :)


Barb Why are MLR ebooks so expensive? I think $8.99 for an ebook is just too much.


message 11: by Lenore (last edited Oct 12, 2012 03:15PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Lenore Barb wrote: "Why are MLR ebooks so expensive? I think $8.99 for an ebook is just too much."

I wondered about that as well, Barb. But I made an exception and paid the price because it's Kaje Harper and it's worth it.


Barb I'll buy it too, reluctantly, since I've read the whole series so far but damn the prices they're charging for ebooks is just getting ridiculous. A paperback is less than that.


Lenore I know. MLR Press isn't among my favourite publishers, for various reasons.


message 14: by Barb (last edited Oct 13, 2012 10:12AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Barb Something on the ebook front. I just received this from Amazon. Just a snippet:

You are entitled to a credit for some of your past e-book purchases as a result of legal settlements between several major e-book publishers and the Attorneys General of most U.S. states and territories. Hachette, Harper Collins, and Simon & Schuster have settled an antitrust lawsuit about e-book prices.

Interesting. That's just a snippet, the most important part, of an email I received from Amazon

Here is a link to read more. http://www.amazon.com/gp/help/custome...

and also here https://ebooksagsettlements.com/CaseS...


Lenore I haven't received the notification because I'm outside the US but the EU settlement will also be finalized soon.


message 16: by Sagajo (new)

Sagajo Really? Can I get money back for all the uber expensive ebooks I bought from Amazon, some of them more expensive than the hardcover version.


Lenore I suppose they'll return us some peanuts but nothing really substantial.

Here: http://www.nytimes.com/2012/09/20/bus...


message 18: by Jess (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jess Candela Barb wrote: "I'll buy it too, reluctantly, since I've read the whole series so far but damn the prices they're charging for ebooks is just getting ridiculous. A paperback is less than that."

I agree, although this is one book that I think is at least worth the price because it holds up to multiple rereads and it's long enough to take (enjoyable) hours to read each time.

I just read a $10 book that I didn't think was worth $10. Unfortunately for me, it seems like almost every time I actually pay $10 for a romance I regret it.


message 19: by Barb (last edited Oct 14, 2012 04:19AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Barb You can somewhat justify spending more if you know you'll get a quality read, like this book, but like you said, in most cases a book doesn't warrant those high prices, especially when the quality has suffered so much in editing ebooks, even if it is a good book. The mistakes I find in ebook vs print are through the roof. They definitly do not edit ebooks to the extent they did print but I think editing has suffered regardless due to cutbacks over the last few years.


StellaR Lovely review Susan. Love this series so freaking much!


back to top