Jeane's Reviews > Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1530627
's review
Dec 28, 2008

really liked it
bookshelves: winter-challenge

A magician wants to bring back magic to England....which doesn't seem to be easy if you don't allow anybody else to be a magician. But then somebody does get judges good enough to be his pupil. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrel go through a lot of different thoughts about each other. They experience lots of good and bad things, lots happens and in the end it all comes together like a bomb to explode.

Lots of footnotes that can interupt but they are very interesting. I jsut took them as part of the text so they wouldn't come between the story.

Enjoyed the book from the beginning, it went so smooth and am so glad I got recommended to read this book.
4 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Finished Reading
December 28, 2008 – Shelved
January 22, 2009 – Shelved as: winter-challenge
January 22, 2009 –
page 32
3.18%
January 22, 2009 –
page 32
3.18% "Just started it today and it goes very well. i am enjoying it and curious about what else will be told and will happen."
January 23, 2009 –
page 55
5.47%
January 27, 2009 –
page 135
13.42%
January 28, 2009 –
page 163
16.2%
January 29, 2009 –
page 198
19.68%
February 13, 2009 –
page 325
32.31%
February 15, 2009 –
page 325
32.31%
February 17, 2009 –
page 466
46.32%
February 18, 2009 –
page 543
53.98%
February 19, 2009 –
page 579
57.55%
February 21, 2009 –
page 675
67.1%
February 22, 2009 –
page 779
77.44%
February 25, 2009 –
page 951
94.53%

Comments (showing 1-5 of 5) (5 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Hayes (new)

Hayes How are you making out with this? It's so long... you're a quick reader, however. I've got it on TBR, but I read so slowly these days that the book is beginning to frighten me and I haven't opened it yet!!


Jeane Hayes wrote: "How are you making out with this? It's so long... you're a quick reader, however. I've got it on TBR, but I read so slowly these days that the book is beginning to frighten me and I haven't opene..."

Hayes, I really like the book. I can only read it about an hour a day but I am really enjoying it.


Laura Jeane, am I the one who recommended this book to you?


Jeane No idea!


Laura Haha ok.


back to top