xrysa's Reviews > On Dublin Street

On Dublin Street by Samantha Young
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
9016476
's review

it was ok
bookshelves: contemporary

I have one question .


WHY??
WHY??
WHY??


I was so excited to start this book because of all these amazing reviews and its high rating.Unfortunatelly it turned out to be a nightmare for me.



The prologue was amazing and quite promising.The fact that she (view spoiler) added a dramatic tone in the story which I really liked.

The first chapter described the first time they met each other.



Guess what???Everything was OK until Braden opened his mouth.

"I have a girlfriend but I'm not blind.Just because I cant do anything , doesnt mean I'm not allowed to look."


Hmmm because he is not in love with his Barbie?? Yup maybe.
Braden is your typical millionaire who is a little ruined.Among the other ruined millionaires that I've read about Braden is my favorite.He wasnt that annoying but still sometimes I didnt like him.

Joss had many issues.She was having panic attacks (view spoiler).I get that she has ruined and traumatised but she was a cold (view spoiler) most of the times.I liked her confidence but not her personality.She was so immature and she was acting like she didnt care about anyone while she obviously did.

Let me give you an example .
(This was happening through the whole book but in this moment I wanted to kill her)

"You're lying."
Yes I'm lying babe but I wont survive you and you wont survive me.
"I'm not.I dont love you."



Ughhh SERIOUSLY??
She was torturing both of them whithout any reason.

I wont judge her because she accepted his proposition but I will judge her because she was freaking out all the time.



In this book I enjoyed a lot the side story . Adam and Ellie were so unique . Adam was acting like a caveman which was really funny and Ellie was the most adorable person in the book!If I continue reading this series , I'll only read their story.

Last but not least , the biggest WTF moment EVER.
In that chapter Braden was teasing Joss by tickling her.Things got out of control and he tickled her more than he should.


I'll blame my bad english in this point. I read that she (view spoiler) and I didnt understand what that actually meant until a few lines below where the word (view spoiler) was mentioned.





Anyway , I hope I wont get flagged because almost all of you guys love this book but mostly I hope I didnt offend you .If you havent read this dont get discouraged by this review you may love this book like many other readers did.
154 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read On Dublin Street.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 6, 2012 – Shelved
May 8, 2013 – Started Reading
May 8, 2013 –
page 24
6.45% "I have a girlfriend but I’m not blind. Just because I can’t do anything doesn’t mean I’m not allowed to look.” cheap compliment -_-"
May 8, 2013 –
page 114
30.65% " “No,” she snorted humorlessly. “Adam fancied her, so Braden loaned her out to him.”Seriously???"
May 9, 2013 –
page 258
69.35% " For some reason, Braden texting me a winky face made me grin like an idiot. -_- I'm confused , does she care or not??"
May 11, 2013 – Finished Reading
May 12, 2013 – Shelved as: contemporary

Comments Showing 1-50 of 101 (101 new)


Nikki Oh this is a good one! I can't wait to start her new book. Hope you are loving it!


xrysa Nikki wrote: "Oh this is a good one! I can't wait to start her new book. Hope you are loving it!"

I've only read the first chapter so far :)
I hope it is good!!


Maya  ~the Pessimistic Happy Cat~ Oh, you didn't like it?


message 4: by Mackenzie (new) - added it

Mackenzie I see you weren't a fan! Interested in why you didn't like it. It's on my TBR but I'm always wary of books everyone loved that I'll probably hate..


Susanne I wasn't a huge fan either! Looking forward to your review <3


xrysa Maya wrote: "Oh, you didn't like it?"

Nope :(


xrysa Mackenzie wrote: "I see you weren't a fan! Interested in why you didn't like it. It's on my TBR but I'm always wary of books everyone loved that I'll probably hate.."

I thought that I'll love this but I couldnt connect with the characters! I was annoyed most of the times :S


xrysa Susanne wrote: "I wasn't a huge fan either! Looking forward to your review <3"

Hehehe I'll post it tomorrow :)


Priyanka hehehe I knew you didn't like this one but 2 stars? guess you really hated Joss..


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Only two stars?????? So bad?????? :/ why???


Louise two stars?


message 12: by Baba (new)

Baba  Interesting. Look forward to your review, Kristina. :)


xrysa Baba ♥♥♥ Marcus, Tyler, Tate, Dan, Ty, & Hunter wrote: "Interesting. Look forward to your review, Kristina. :)"

I'll post it soon :)


xrysa Louise wrote: "two stars?"

Pavlina wrote: "Only two stars?????? So bad?????? :/ why???"

Ughh I'm sorry :(
I wanted to like this but I couldnt....


 ♥  Barb ♥ Oh no...2 stars?? Sorry Kristina, but i look forward to reading your review, hun :)


xrysa Barb wrote: "Oh no...2 stars?? Sorry Kristina, but i look forward to reading your review, hun :)"

Thanks Barb :)
Unfortunatelly I didnt like this .


message 17: by Basuhi (new)

Basuhi I know how that feels, right ?
Like the book betrayed you but actually it were your expectations !
Well, I just hope your next read goes better, nice review, Kristina :-)


David - proud Gleeman in Branwen's adventuring party So sorry this book was such a disappointment, sweetie :( Hope your next one is much better! Oh, and don't worry, your true GoodReads friends would NEVER flag one of your reviews...except maybe because your reviews are so awesome, they set the bar way too high for the rest of us! ;)


Susanne Great review, Kristina! I felt very much the same about this book <3


message 20: by xrysa (last edited May 12, 2013 08:09AM) (new) - rated it 2 stars

xrysa Basuhi wrote: "I know how that feels, right ?
Like the book betrayed you but actually it were your expectations !
Well, I just hope your next read goes better, nice review, Kristina :-)"


Thanks Basuhi :)
Yeah actually I had high expectations about this and maybe that's the reason I didnt like it :S


xrysa David wrote: "So sorry this book was such a disappointment, sweetie :( Hope your next one is much better! Oh, and don't worry, your true GoodReads friends would NEVER flag one of your reviews...except maybe be..."

Lol David!!The best commemts are always from you ^_^
Thanks btw :D


xrysa Susanne wrote: "Great review, Kristina! I felt very much the same about this book <3"

Thanks Susanne :)
I'm glad I'm not the only one!


♥ Jx PinkLady Reviews ♥ Ahh......sorry this book wasn't for you. :(


Johanna Aww Kristina :(
Sorry to hear you didn't like it.. Hopefully your next is awesome xoxo


Vikki ~ *squee* lite ~ I'm so sorry it didn't work for you, but I have to say, your awesome review gave me my giggle for the day :)


message 26: by Sandra (new) - added it

Sandra Fab review Kristina! And are you really serious? Did she, like, actually fart? OMG, LOL


message 27: by [deleted user] (new)

Great review :)

But 2 stars for my braden *broken hearted*

Hope your next read is better!


Christy Sorry you didn't love it Kristina! Better luck with your next read :-)


message 29: by Jo (new) - added it

Jo Oh I'm sorry it didn't worked out for you kristina :S
But still, great review hon :D


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  I feel bad because I tell you to read it. :/
Sorry.... :(
By the way Great review sweetie :)


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* Great review Kristina! Very honest. I did love this one but of course we will never ever flag you, we all love different books and that's ok.

XXX


message 32: by Jessie (new) - added it

Jessie I'm sorry you didn't like this!
Great review! The farting made me laugh sooo hard, you just made my day.


Erica Hey, sometimes certain books just don't resonate. I absolutely LOVED this one but I have read other books where people just raved about it and I read it and was like um, what's the story? LOL Great review!


 ♥  Barb ♥ Love your honesty and your awesome review! Sorry you didn't like it, but better luck with your next book, Kristina :) no worries, we can't love them all :P

P.S. I didn't care for Joss most of the book, but I fell for Braden's charm. I love him!


Viola haha! ohhh I feel u sister!
it started so great and then BOOM...nothing


message 36: by Kristalia (new) - added it

Kristalia fab rev dear ;)
♥♥♥
sorry it was a disappointment though :(


xrysa Jxxx wrote: "Ahh......sorry this book wasn't for you. :("

Thanks :(


xrysa Johanna wrote: "Aww Kristina :(
Sorry to hear you didn't like it.. Hopefully your next is awesome xoxo"


Thank you :)


xrysa Vikki ~where did my *squee* go ~ wrote: "I'm so sorry it didn't work for you, but I have to say, your awesome review gave me my giggle for the day :)"

Haha I'm glad :)
Thanks btw!


xrysa Sandra wrote: "Fab review Kristina! And are you really serious? Did she, like, actually fart? OMG, LOL"

Hahahaha I still remember that moment and yeah she did >p< Thanks btw!


xrysa Karen wrote: "Great review :)

But 2 stars for my braden *broken hearted*

Hope your next read is better!"


Thank you Karen :)
Sorry :( I liked Braden but Joss was soooo annoying!


xrysa Christy wrote: "Sorry you didn't love it Kristina! Better luck with your next read :-)"

Thanks Christy :)


xrysa Joana wrote: "Oh I'm sorry it didn't worked out for you kristina :S
But still, great review hon :D"


Thanks Joana :)


xrysa Pavlina wrote: "I feel bad because I tell you to read it. :/
Sorry.... :(
By the way Great review sweetie :)"


Thank you :)
Stop feeling bad , it's ok !!
I'll get over it :P


xrysa Rosalinda wrote: "Great review Kristina! Very honest. I did love this one but of course we will never ever flag you, we all love different books and that's ok.

XXX"


Aww thank you :D
Yep we cant love all the books!


xrysa Jessie wrote: "I'm sorry you didn't like this!
Great review! The farting made me laugh sooo hard, you just made my day."


Hahaha thanks :)


xrysa Erica wrote: "Hey, sometimes certain books just don't resonate. I absolutely LOVED this one but I have read other books where people just raved about it and I read it and was like um, what's the story? LOL Great..."

I'm glad you guys can understnad me :)
Thanks btw !


xrysa Barb wrote: "Love your honesty and your awesome review! Sorry you didn't like it, but better luck with your next book, Kristina :) no worries, we can't love them all :P

P.S. I didn't care for Joss most of the ..."


Thank you Barb :)
Ah yeah he was so charming and he definitely deserved someone better than her.


xrysa Viola wrote: "haha! ohhh I feel u sister!
it started so great and then BOOM...nothing"


Hahaha exactly :)


xrysa Kristalia wrote: "fab rev dear ;)
♥♥♥
sorry it was a disappointment though :("


Thank you Kris :)


« previous 1 3
back to top