Dale Jr.'s Reviews > The Satanic Verses

The Satanic Verses by Salman Rushdie
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
6071693
's review
Sep 01, 2012

liked it
bookshelves: fiction, literature, controversial, 3-star

There's not much I'm going to say about Rushdie's "Satanic Verses". Most of it has been said. Comments on its apparent controversial content. Endless discussion on its social commentary. Etc etc.

What I will say is this. Rushdie is a beautiful writer. His stream of conscious style, although a turn off for some, was enjoyable for myself. Then again, I've got an odd love for s.o.c. style. More than likely due to my own rambling mind.

Rushdie's descriptions sometimes left me wishing I had thought of certain passages myself. I'll make no secret about my jealousy concerning the butterfly-eating character of Ayesha. Beautiful, to say the least.

Some portions of the book, mostly towards the midway portion, drug on with what I, and others, felt were unnecessarily verbose passages. I get what Rushdie was trying to say, but he said it a bit too much at points.

That being said, I still enjoyed the book for its beauty. And it certainly hasn't turned me off to reading more of Rushdie. I'll give the man another chance without a doubt.

So, would I recommend this? Yes. Though it may not be the best starting point for Rushdie.
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Satanic Verses.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 1, 2012 – Started Reading
September 1, 2012 – Shelved
September 1, 2012 –
page 11
2.0% ""Who am I? Let's put it this way: who has the best tunes?""
September 2, 2012 –
page 33
6.01%
September 3, 2012 –
page 74
13.48%
September 3, 2012 –
page 74
13.48%
September 4, 2012 –
page 91
16.58%
September 9, 2012 –
page 129
23.5%
September 10, 2012 –
page 143
26.05%
September 10, 2012 –
page 161
29.33%
September 11, 2012 –
page 172
31.33%
September 16, 2012 –
page 205
37.34% "Section III was a bit odd, but contained some rather beautiful passages. Really diggin' this book."
September 16, 2012 –
page 222
40.44% "Butterfly eater."
September 17, 2012 –
page 243
44.26%
September 17, 2012 –
page 258
46.99%
September 17, 2012 –
page 295
53.73% "Saladin Chamcha back to "human" form. Loving this...but damn does Mr. Rushdie have an imagination."
September 20, 2012 – Shelved as: fiction
September 20, 2012 – Shelved as: literature
September 26, 2012 – Shelved as: controversial
September 26, 2012 –
page 350
63.75%
September 26, 2012 –
page 360
65.57%
September 27, 2012 –
page 397
72.31% "'Whores and writers, Mahound. We are the people you can't forgive.' Mahound replied, 'Writers and whores. I see no difference here.'"
September 29, 2012 –
page 421
76.68%
September 30, 2012 –
page 449
81.79%
September 30, 2012 –
page 473
86.16% "Stay with me. The world is real. We have to live in it; we have to live here, to live on."
October 1, 2012 –
page 488
88.89%
October 1, 2012 –
page 511
93.08%
October 1, 2012 –
page 560
100%
October 1, 2012 – Finished Reading
October 13, 2012 – Shelved as: 3-star

Comments (showing 1-2 of 2) (2 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Selena will link my review to your review. this was my exact feeling.


Dale Jr. selena wrote: "will link my review to your review. this was my exact feeling."

Great minds.


back to top