Trevor's Reviews > The Black Flamingo

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
10048337
's review

it was amazing

Do I belong here? Am I what's wrong here?
The Black Flamingo follows a British Greek Cypriot/Jamaican boy from youth to his first year at Uni. The book, written in prose and including poetry written by the main character, chronicles his path towards his identity, sexuality, and gender expression; finally becoming the on-stage persona, The Black Flamingo. The book was easily read in a single sitting and clips at a quick pace. This book is a must for fans of Kinky Boots, RuPaul's Drag Race, and/or the forthcoming movie Everybody's Talking About Jamie. Lyrics and quotes from all three came to mind while reading this book...
Listen up at your own freedom calling, Calling you to a day where you're shining
flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Black Flamingo.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 3, 2021 – Started Reading
June 3, 2021 – Shelved
June 3, 2021 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.