Don's Reviews > The Drowned Life

The Drowned Life by Jeffrey Ford
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
99020
's review

it was amazing


Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Drowned Life.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 19, 2008 – Shelved
December 10, 2008 –
page 33
10.31% "The story of the same name was the clearest piece of surrealism I've ever read. "Ariadne's Mother" is brilliant flash fiction!"
December 11, 2008 –
page 63
19.69% ""Night Wiskey" - Wonderfully straightforward plotted story!"
December 12, 2008 –
page 73
22.81% ""A Few Things About Ants" had the best line I've read so far."
December 13, 2008 –
page 89
27.81% ""Under the Bottom of the Lake" read like a literary Russian doll."
April 13, 2009 –
page 113
35.31% ""Present From the Past" works so with the barest minimum of genre elements. 4*"
April 14, 2009 –
page 125
39.06% "If the last story had the least genre elements so far, "The Manticore Spell" had the most (i.e. spells & manticores). 5*"
April 14, 2009 –
page 131
40.94% ""The Fat One" is the FUNNIEST story I've read in ages! 5*"
April 16, 2009 –
page 155
48.44% "I'll never be able to write a story like "The Dismantled Invention of Fate"-EVER! 4.5*"
April 18, 2009 –
page 173
54.06% "Forgot that I've read "What's Sure to Come" before until 1/2-way thru. Still liked it. 5*"
April 18, 2009 –
page 183
57.19% "Flabbergasted by "The Way He Does It." 5*"
April 19, 2009 –
page 219
68.44% "Buildup of "The Scribble Mind" was so good I was almost disappointed when the mystery was solved. 5*"
April 20, 2009 –
page 235
73.44% "Loved how "The Bedroom Light" started but ending left me asking, "WTF?" 3*"
April 22, 2009 –
page 255
79.69% "Forced myself to finish "In the House of Four Seasons" & was glad I did. 4*"
April 23, 2009 –
page 275
85.94% ""The Dreaming Wind" had me so lost in the writing, the worldbuilding aspect was almost invisible. 5*"
April 23, 2009 –
page 290
90.63% ""The Golden Dragon" has some powerful, compelling realism w/just a hint of the fantastic. 5*"
Started Reading
April 24, 2009 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.