MJ Nicholls's Reviews > David Copperfield

David Copperfield by Charles Dickens
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
2386804
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: novels, sassysassenachs, pre-1900s, oxford-classics, voluminous, worshipped, art-or-illustrated

Finished. Having a hard time spinning superlatives for this review. It is more or less established I strongly like, or passionately love, every Dickens novel I read so why not slap a five-star badge on this masterpiece and hop down to Bev’s café for a veggie burger, free sexual innuendo with every purchase, a fly in every milkshake, and a 50p discount on all half-cooked omelettes? Fine. Some highlights. Improvements in characterisation. Notably, the villains. David’s friendship with Steerforth partially blinds the reader to his scoundrelly tendencies until his flitting with sweet Emily. Uriah Heep’s squirminess and umbleness wrongfoots the reader until his scoundrelly tendencies are unmasked (although David outs him as a beast from the start). The first-person narrator opens doors of eloquence in Dickens’s prose hitherto closed in the topographical omniscience of previous works. As usual, a memorable cast of eccentrics, stoics, loveable fuck-ups and social climbers. No sagging secondary plots like in Dombey and Son. Deeply moving passages on the passing of time, memory, penitence, friendship and naïve love (Dora is a female Peter Pan). High-class comedy a-go-go. An enriching experience. Your soul glows reading this. You want more from a book? Geddouttahere. Time for that veggie burger. Open til nine and never over capacity (like fecking GR).
52 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read David Copperfield.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 1, 2012 – Started Reading
August 1, 2012 – Shelved
August 1, 2012 –
page 235
24.89%
August 3, 2012 –
page 447
47.35%
August 5, 2012 – Shelved as: novels
August 5, 2012 – Shelved as: sassysassenachs
August 5, 2012 – Shelved as: pre-1900s
August 5, 2012 – Shelved as: oxford-classics
August 5, 2012 – Finished Reading
August 6, 2012 – Shelved as: voluminous
August 6, 2012 – Shelved as: worshipped
August 9, 2012 – Shelved as: art-or-illustrated

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Richard Heeps o' fun!


message 2: by MJ (new) - rated it 5 stars

MJ Nicholls Ureyes don't lie!


B0nnie I am such a jerk for giving David Copperfield only 3 stars.


message 4: by MJ (new) - rated it 5 stars

MJ Nicholls No you're not. Tsk. No wait . . . um, yes, you probably are. Tsk.


message 5: by Richard (last edited Aug 06, 2012 09:07AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Richard @ Bonnie: Although David Copperfield was written midway through Dickens' career, it reflects some of his own youthful imperfections. (*Ducks as MJ aims half-cooked omelette*) One of the grievousest, IMHO, is the wooden portrayal of St. Agnes Wickfield, who is first cousin to the impossibly virtuous Rose Maylie of Oliver Twist.

@ MJ; It nonetheless shows Dickens as a master of comedy and pathos, and the creator of a whole troop of unforgettable eccentrics, e.g. the Murdstones, the Micswbers, the Peggottys, and especially the donkey-hating Aunt Betsey and the loopy Mr. Dick.


message 6: by MJ (new) - rated it 5 stars

MJ Nicholls Richard: But there's always one angelic symbol of goodness in all Dickenses! Like yourself. I'd feel lost without one. Plus, this is his eighth novel, so isn't really an "early" work, he wrote it in his late thirties. Let's compromise and say "mid-period."


message 7: by Richard (last edited Aug 06, 2012 09:09AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Richard MJ wrote: "Richard: But there's always one angelic symbol of goodness in all Dickenses! Like yourself. I'd feel lost without one. Plus, this is his eighth novel, so isn't really an "early" work, he wrote it i..."

You're so right. I goofed on my chronology. Let's say that since the novel incorporates a lot of events from the author's own life, it contains David's youthful adventures and wrong choices, which reflect some of Dickens' own.


mark monday i just reread this review and love it even more. High class comedy a-go-go! nice phrase.


message 9: by MJ (new) - rated it 5 stars

MJ Nicholls Thanks! Awaiting the final leg of your review . . .


message 10: by mark (new) - rated it 5 stars

mark monday the stars tell me that it shall be completed tomorrow! or the day after!


message 11: by Paul (new)

Paul Bryant Mark & MJ - both of your reviews are just the ticket & are now added to "The Goodreads Guide to the 19th Century Novel" which I am assembling for my own private amusement.


message 12: by MJ (new) - rated it 5 stars

MJ Nicholls Paul wrote: "The Goodreads Guide to the 19th Century Novel" which I am assembling for my own private amusement."

That sounds intriguing and mouth-watering. Keep us posted. I only managed stuttering obeisance with my Dickens reviews, but ya read em, ya review em, ya move on . . .


message 13: by mark (new) - rated it 5 stars

mark monday i am happy to be assembled for Paul's private amusement! especially alongside MJ. will the MJ form of whimsy impact mine? will we be reassembled into a sum that is a greater than its parts?


message 14: by Paul (new)

Paul Bryant you are all part of my smorgasbord of reviewerly high jinks.


message 15: by Tyler (new) - added it

Tyler A little over half way through. The writing is of course brilliant, but the story is dragging. Shall I finish it?


message 16: by MJ (new) - rated it 5 stars

MJ Nicholls Tyler wrote: "A little over half way through. The writing is of course brilliant, but the story is dragging. Shall I finish it?"

Our survey says, heck yes.


back to top