Lee's Reviews > Untangling My Chopsticks: A Culinary Sojourn in Kyoto

Untangling My Chopsticks by Victoria Abbott Riccardi
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Untangling My Chopsticks.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 14, 2008 – Shelved
November 14, 2008 – Shelved as: japan
November 14, 2008 – Shelved as: biographies-and-memoirs
February 6, 2011 –
page 38
12.5%
February 22, 2011 –
page 166
54.61%
March 2, 2011 –
page 215
70.72%
Started Reading
March 4, 2011 – Shelved as: 2011-reads
March 4, 2011 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-6 of 6) (6 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Wendy (new) - added it

Wendy I've marked this TBR because Kyoto is definitely one of the places we want to visit while living here!


message 2: by Lee (new) - rated it 2 stars

Lee Oh Wendy, you are lucky!!!!!!!!
It's the place I most want to visit in Japan.


message 3: by Virginia (new)

Virginia Messina I ate at that tofu restaurant in Kyoto that was founded around 350 years ago to serve Buddhist monks. It was amazing! (And really good freshly-made tofu.)


message 4: by Lee (new) - rated it 2 stars

Lee Ooooh, I'm so jealous! I will go one day.

I got a little turned off while reading this book when I read about the author eating and enjoying the cruncy, little sparrow heads.


message 5: by Virginia (new)

Virginia Messina Yes, I noticed that you weren't too enthused about this book! I was actually a little disappointed at first in Kyoto because it's a pretty big city and was much more urban than I anticipated--so that the temples were all next to modern high-rise buildings. But once I got over that, it was wonderful. And the Buddhist tofu restaurant(which was vegan, of course --no sparrow heads!), was high on my list of things I wanted to do in Japan--and it lived up to my expectations. And since it's been there for 350 years, it will still be there when you eventually get to Japan, Lee!


message 6: by Lee (new) - rated it 2 stars

Lee Yay! It sounds like a wonderful place to visit. I had a book out from the library last year called The Enlightened Kitchen: Fresh Vegetable Dishes from the Temples of Japan which sparked my interest in Japanese Temple Cuisine. I should check it out again.


back to top