Manny's Reviews > Plato and a Platypus Walk Into a Bar: Understanding Philosophy Through Jokes

Plato and a Platypus Walk Into a Bar by Thomas Cathcart
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1713956
DIMITRI: They laughed when we said we'd write a book explaining philosophy entirely through jokes.

TASSO: Well, they're not laughing now!
82 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Plato and a Platypus Walk Into a Bar.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 20, 2012 – Shelved
November 17, 2015 – Started Reading
November 17, 2015 – Shelved as: linguistics-and-philosophy
November 17, 2015 – Shelved as: too-sexy-for-maiden-aunts
November 17, 2015 – Shelved as: older-men-younger-women
November 17, 2015 – Shelved as: parody-homage
November 17, 2015 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-16 of 16 (16 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Julie Davis At least in this book they just tell the joke without the analyzing. Other than the following chapter discussing a philosopher or theory. I enjoyed it a lot. :-)


Manny To be fair to Dennett and his friends, their analysis of humor is extremely interesting and thought-provoking. It just my head feel, I dunno, kind of funny...


Julie Davis :-D


message 4: by Kevan (new)

Kevan I did try and read the Umberto Echo "Kant and the Platypus". I gave up on about page 23.

This, on the other hand, I might give a go


message 5: by Kevan (new)

Kevan Manny wrote: "To be fair to Dennett and his friends, their analysis of humor is extremely interesting and thought-provoking. It just my head feel, I dunno, kind of funny..."

Yes, I also don't quite know what was wrong with Inside Jokes. But it's rare I give up on a book without finishing it.


message 6: by Karl-O (new)

Karl-O No rating or review? You wouldn't recommend it, Manny?


Manny I haven't read it yet!


message 8: by Karl-O (new)

Karl-O Oh, sorry. I just bought it at a bargain price.

I was under the impression that if someone "added" a book on GR, it means that they read it but didn't rate it. Seems I'm mistaken.


message 9: by Glenn (new)

Glenn Russell I did a careful study of Plato's theory of the universe outlined in the Timaeus but did not fine one reason to laugh nor a juicy punchline. Perhaps I missed something?


message 10: by kirstin (new)

kirstin yes you did babe


Manny I must admit that the Timaeus is definitely one of the less funny dialogues. Plato should have given Socrates more lines.


message 12: by Poet Gentleness (last edited Nov 18, 2015 02:11PM) (new)

Poet Gentleness Me: Tsk-tsk, Manny. I'm so disappointed! I just caught you cheating!
You: *bewildered look*
Me: Oh, no. No, of course it's not that which disappointed me. It's that you did it on Hunger Games!

(view spoiler)


Manny Oh... I need to update that list again...


message 14: by Joe (new)

Joe Whelp, there's my belly-laugh for the day.


message 15: by Duffy (new)

Duffy Pratt I don't get it...


message 16: by Shai (new) - rated it 3 stars

Shai Dekel That's hilarious


back to top