Sandra 's Reviews > Fifty Shames of Earl Grey

Fifty Shames of Earl Grey by Andrew Shaffer
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5034547
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: contemporary, clueless-heroines, dipshit-heroes, arc-netgalley, giggle-snorts, snarky-snark-sarcasm, satire, parodies, humor, made-of-win, must-read, rocking-stars
Recommended for: anyone who needs a good laugh

The review can also be found on my blog.

This satiric, snarky, sarcastic, over the top story based on the mega-bestselling Fifty Shades of Twilight Grey nails all the key points of absurdity of the book it parodies, as well as the Twilight saga from which it came. And then some.

The cover alone is hilarious, especially the hand holding the cup with the pointer, middle and pinkie finger extended. If you don't know what that hand gesture means, please look it up under "shocker" on Urbandictionary.com!

From the first few lines, I was laughing, giggle-snorting and crying (because I was laughing so hard).

"I'm Edward Cullen. I mean, Earl Grey." [quoted from the original chapters posted online.]

And it only gets better from there. The parody starts out much like the fanfiction/published novel by introducing us to Bella Swan Anastasia Steele Anna Steal (!!) who is preparing to interview bazillionaire enterprise mogul hot stud Edward Cullen Christian Grey Earl Grey as a favor to her sick friend Rosalie Hale Katherine Cavanaugh Kathleen Kraven (who in this parody is a 38 year old perpetual student-slash-journalist alcoholic pothead).

The author immediately reminds us of the origin of FSoG by casually and humorously mentioning the actress who portrayed Bella Swan in the Twilight movies. Bella Swan Anastasia Steele Anna Steal appears to be quite the airhead, naive and virginal, a notion that is nearly instantly invoked.

The parody follows along similar plot lines as the fanfiction-turned-published book, but continually makes the key scenes and themes ever more ridiculous. For example, Bella's Anatasia's annoying lip-biting habit in FSoG is turned into Anna constantly picking her nose. Instead of an inner goddess, she has an inner guidette. Thankfully, her subconscious is just that in this parody - sub-conscious.

Edward Cullen Christian Grey Earl Grey has a list of fifty shames instead of being fifty shades of effed up. And what a list it is. He shops at Wal-mart on Saturdays, likes bondage with handcuffs, and professes his love of BDSM (Bards, Dragons, Sorcery, and Magick). Pointy prosthetic elven ears included. He also has a fascination with Tom Cruise, and you just wait until you see who his adopted father is. I nearly choked from laughter when reading that.

All the main characters from the 'book' are present - Jacob Jose Jin (who is a Brony, wants Anna to be his and might even be offered a contract to publish his My Little Pony fanfiction as an original novel, via a "small Australian vanity press" *snickers*), Anna's mom and stepfather, her distant father as well as Earl Grey's biological mother.

The first sex scene, in which Anna loses her virginity, will have you howling with laughter.

And then there's the infamous tampon scene. Never have I laughed so hard and for so long as when I read that. Tears of laughter were running down my face.

Fanny Merkin aka Andrew Shaffer intelligently, with tongue firmly in cheek, uses perfectly timed zingers in almost every paragraph to not only poke fun of the ridiculousness of the 50 Shades book, but also to reference things that those who know the history of the fanfiction-turned-international-book-sensationhype will easily pick up.

I wish I could quote from the ARC but I'll have to wait until the final published version is available.

Just know, that if you loved FSoG, you will likely get a chuckle or five out of this parody. You should read it.

If, on the other hand, you hated the original book or the fanfiction from where it came, you'll be laughing your butt off, and this is definitely the book for you.

Very well done, Mr. Shaffer. Thanks for the hours of laughter from your utterly brilliant book.

I am one of the lucky ones who were provided with an ARC from the publisher (mine via NetGalley). Thank you, Perseus Book Groups and DaCapo Press.
16 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Fifty Shames of Earl Grey.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

July 3, 2012 – Started Reading
July 3, 2012 – Shelved
July 3, 2012 – Shelved as: contemporary
July 3, 2012 – Shelved as: clueless-heroines
July 3, 2012 – Shelved as: dipshit-heroes
July 3, 2012 – Shelved as: arc-netgalley
July 3, 2012 – Shelved as: giggle-snorts
July 3, 2012 – Shelved as: snarky-snark-sarcasm
July 3, 2012 – Shelved as: satire
July 3, 2012 –
0.0% "I got the ARC. Thank you, NetGalley and Perseus Book Groups for giving a copy to a relatively unknown blogger. Crazy excited, ready for the lulz."
July 3, 2012 –
5.0% "I read the first three chapters on Mr. Shaffer's blog so this is nothing new, but OMG, it's hilariously snarky! Must refrain from quoting all this delicious text!"
July 3, 2012 –
15.0% "lulzing so hard..."
July 4, 2012 –
20.0% "I'm on chapter 10. Still LMAO!"
July 4, 2012 –
50.0%
July 4, 2012 –
55.0% "Bwahahahhahahahahaha!!!! The band at the Charity Ball is called ICY DRAGONS!!! Lulzing forevah!"
July 5, 2012 –
90.0% ""I even got a small Australian vanity press interested in publishing my pony fan fiction." - bwahahahahaha!!!"
July 5, 2012 –
100.0% "The list! I die!!"
July 5, 2012 – Finished Reading
July 6, 2012 – Shelved as: parodies
July 6, 2012 – Shelved as: humor
July 6, 2012 – Shelved as: made-of-win
July 6, 2012 – Shelved as: must-read
July 18, 2012 – Shelved as: rocking-stars

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by MLE (new)

MLE  Can't wait to see the review!


MsRomanticReads You lucky B! I can't wait for your review on this one! :)


Sandra Michelle wrote: "You lucky B! I can't wait for your review on this one! :)"

Netgalley, baby!!! :)


MsRomanticReads Right, as if I'm a suitable candidate for NG. I love to read, no doubt about that, but I'm not as consistent with reviewing every other day.


MsRomanticReads The fingers .... would that be the shocker?


Sandra Michelle wrote: "The fingers .... would that be the shocker?"

That's the one. :) I don't know if that was intentional, but judging by what's written and how the author used plenty of urbandictionary terms inside, I wouldn't be surprise if the finger situation was on purpose.


MsRomanticReads Haha! That's bloody brilliant! *dies laughing* Even funnier would have been the addition of a youknowwhat being dunked in the teacup. Remember what you suggested? ;)


Sandra Michelle wrote: "Haha! That's bloody brilliant! *dies laughing* Even funnier would have been the addition of a youknowwhat being dunked in the teacup. Remember what you suggested? ;)"

Yes, but I think that might have been a tad obvious. Though the tampon scene is in this book but LOL, you should see what he did with it. It's soooooo funny!


message 9: by Mary (new) - added it

Mary Elizabeth That sounds hilarious!


Sandra Mary, it IS hilarious. I haven't laughed so much while reading in a long time. I mean, every paragraph is lulz-inducing. Get a copy when you can. Totes worth it! :)


message 11: by Mary (new) - added it

Mary Elizabeth I'm looking for one now. I can't wait!


Sandra Mary wrote: "I'm looking for one now. I can't wait!"

If you can get ARCs from NetGalley, try there. That's where I got my review copy. :)


message 13: by waterbaby786 (new)

waterbaby786 I'm so J! But unfortunately I'm not eligible for this Arc


MsRomanticReads You know, the name Anna Steele/Steal has a porn star ring to it. I don't know why I just had that thought.


Sandra Perhaps that's where the inspiration came from? Perhaps the author of FSoG watched one too many pr0ns?

I think Andrew Shaffer used Anna because of Anastasia, and Steal - well, I think that's a jab at the origins of Fifty Shades, no? ;)


MsRomanticReads Oh hey, hey oh! You may be onto something! :O That didn't even cross my mind! I wonder how many other "easter eggs" we might find if we dissect FSoS ;) Btw, I signed up with Netgalley yesterday, so maybe ....


Sandra Michelle wrote: "Oh hey, hey oh! You may be onto something! :O That didn't even cross my mind! I wonder how many other "easter eggs" we might find if we dissect FSoS ;) Btw, I signed up with Netgalley yesterday, so..."

There are TONS of jabs in this parody. I hope you get the galley. :)


MsRomanticReads I'm trying to find it, lol.

The local morning talk show here is discussing FSoG on TV right now. There's just no escaping it :/


Sandra Michelle wrote: "I'm trying to find it, lol.

The local morning talk show here is discussing FSoG on TV right now. There's just no escaping it :/"


No, there is not. Chelsea Handler discussed it last night because apparently some guy in England squirted his GF with BBQ sauce when she wouldn't stop reading. Though Chelsea also said that the book was ridiculously written and nothing more than porn... :)


MsRomanticReads O_o BBQ sauce!? Guh!


Sandra Michelle wrote: "O_o BBQ sauce!? Guh!"

Or something like that. Not sure, didn't read the article. :)


back to top