Steve's Reviews > Ready Player One

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1356928
's review
May 26, 2012

it was amazing
bookshelves: 2012

The author perhaps says it best:

“I always loved Roald Dahl,” Cline said. “And I thought, ‘What if Willy Wonka had been a video-game designer?’”

Virtual reality; a semi-dystopian near-future; a boat load of references to (mostly) 80s anime, cartoons, music, movies, computers, video games; a love interest; a great scavenger hunt; what else could one ask for?

This was the funnest book I've read in a long time which is why I read the entire thing over the course of just a few days.

Highly recommended!
1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Ready Player One.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 26, 2012 – Started Reading
May 26, 2012 – Shelved
May 26, 2012 –
page 61
16.31%
May 27, 2012 –
page 102
27.27% "Really enjoying this. I see this easily rating a 4 or even a 5 so far."
May 27, 2012 –
page 269
71.93%
May 27, 2012 – Shelved as: 2012
May 27, 2012 – Finished Reading

Comments (showing 1-3 of 3) (3 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Chris (new) - added it

Chris Why did you not tell me about this book before?


Steve Chris wrote: "Why did you not tell me about this book before?"

With all the hype it received, I would not have thought it needed pointing out. Plus my review has been right here for six years!

On a side note, my daughter bought me the book just last week, not knowing I had read it. I think it's time for a re-read!


message 3: by Chris (new) - added it

Chris The hype is probably the only reason I had heard of it. It's been on my to-read list for a year or two. But holy smokes, Batman...never read a book that "connected" on so many different fronts. It's crazy. It's like *I* wrote the book or something.


back to top