Mith's Reviews > Room

Room by Emma Donoghue
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
3620424
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: never-again-ever, gave-up-on, ugh, slice-of-life

ARGH! NO! NO! NO! IF I HAVE TO READ ONE MORE ASININE CHAPTER, WRITTEN FROM A FIVE-YEAR OLD'S POV, ON THE MUNDANE THINGS THEY DO IN THE ROOM ALL DAY, WITHOUT HAVING THE PLOT PROGRESS EVEN REMOTELY, I'LL... I'LL...







120 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Room.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 14, 2012 – Started Reading
May 14, 2012 – Shelved
May 14, 2012 –
page 32
9.97% "Hmmm."
May 14, 2012 – Shelved as: never-again-ever
May 14, 2012 – Shelved as: ugh
May 14, 2012 – Finished Reading
June 8, 2012 – Shelved as: slice-of-life
January 31, 2016 – Shelved as: gave-up-on

Comments Showing 1-25 of 25 (25 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Richard Derus Yeeeup. Perzackly.


message 2: by Mehul (new)

Mehul With all the graphics, I am pretty sure what you meant! :)


message 3: by [deleted user] (new)

Wow Mith, some anger huh :D


message 4: by Harini (new)

Harini Srinivasan Hilarious, Mith! I'd never even heard of this book, but now I want to hunt it down with an elephant gun and find out for myself how bad it is. Are you sure this is the effect you want your review to have on people?


Rebecca Moore I'm guessin you have not read the book . . . You need to read it to find out about the plot - which does progress.


Rebecca Moore And why review something you have no authority on. Read the fucking book, eejit, then tell us what you think!!!


Andy Couldnt agree more Rebecca, hate people who read 20 pages and then decide the book is rubbish, admittly there is a lot of not doing much, but the plot does progress. loved this book, didnt want it to end


message 8: by Ash (new)

Ash lol. I love the gifs :D


message 9: by Mary Lou (last edited Jan 09, 2014 09:40AM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Mary Lou I think the point was that the reader share the feelings of claustrophobia, tedium, and frustration in being imprisoned in a windowless room for years with a child. The plot did move on, though perhaps not as quickly as some would have liked.


Jennifer Read the rest! An amazing book...of you are a mother it's even better. Give it a chance.


Laura Starks wow, anger issues? lol.


Josie M. Oh wait but it gets better you just have to forge on!


Lauren Sweenor What an idiot. Read the entire book before writing a review.


Stefanie Your review describes my feelings exactly! I got nearly halfway through this book & couldn't stand to read one more word, nor could I justify forcing myself to do so. I absolutely hate not finishing a book that I've started & I've only done it a few times in my entire life, & this is one book I do not have the energy or willingness to put up with anymore. It's going straight back to the used book store I bought it from, and if they buy it back from me for $1.50 I will be content.


Katherine I ended up really loving this book and I gave it a great review. But at the same time? I COMPLETELY get what you're saying here. Because those first chapters are tough to get through and I kinda felt this same way. You know what, y'all... life is too short to spend on books that piss you off.


Jaime Richmond Weren't you aware that it was narrated by a 5 y/o boy prior to reading it? Cut the kid some slack!


Aretha Flakes I felt the same at first, but if u make it past Bed; Rug; left more creamy...., it turns out to be a great book, because once you get past all that and understand the why you get the wow.


The Black Hat Writer I love your review best of all. This book is fucking terrible almost beyond words.


Mandy hahahhaaaa


Justina I can't believe how disrespectful people are. Let the girl have her opinion! So far, I'm feeling her review. This book is real bore !


message 21: by Mary (new) - rated it 1 star

Mary I couldn't have said it better myself. What was all the fuss about? That is what I want to know.


Shravanthi After the first chapter I'm wondering if I made a huge mistake picking this book up :/


message 23: by Tennyson C. Robin (last edited Apr 08, 2018 12:13AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Tennyson C. Robin Perfect review! Exactly how I felt. I wanted to reward myself for finally finishing this book, still have no clues how the hell I could be able to put up with it. For those deciding to drop it for good, congratulations! Such a wise decision!


message 24: by Samantha (new)

Samantha Joie THIS REVIEW MADE ME LAUGH SO HARD


message 25: by Tina (new)

Tina Billings good movie


back to top