Rute Canhoto's Reviews > O Hobbit

O Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5706229
's review
May 07, 2012

it was amazing

CRÍTICA
Esta foi uma leitura concluída a 13 de maio de 2012; dou-lhe cinco estrelas.
“O Hobbit” foi-me oferecido no âmbito de uma parceria que tenho com as Publicações Europa-América. Este foi um livro que esteve em destaque na Feira do Livro de Lisboa 2012 devido ao facto do filme com o mesmo título estrear este ano. Depois de ler esta obra de JRR Tolkien só tenho a dizer que irei certamente ver o filme também!
Esta foi a primeira coisa que li de Tolkien. Claro que já ouvi falar do Senhor dos Anéis, mas apenas vi os filmes e nunca senti curiosidade em ler a trilogia. Acho que foi uma ótima estreia nas narrativas deste autor. Se a minha primeira reação ao ver a letra miudinha das páginas foi “oh, bolas! Se não gostar, estou para ver quando acabo isto”, quando terminei tinha mudado para “até lia mais qualquer coisa deste autor”.
O que mais me agradou foi o tom coloquial usado pelo narrador. Fez-me sentir que estava sentada no chão, à lareira, a ouvi-lo contar-me diretamente a estória. Tolkien consegue envolver o leitor por completo nas atmosferas e ambientes por si apresentados. Também gostei bastante do facto de que a narrativa faz lembrar os contos, na medida em que tem lengalengas e cada ação parece conter uma mensagem moralizadora. Por último, saliento o equilíbrio que Tolkien estabelece entre os momentos de ação e as descrições; está tão bem conseguido, que nunca me aborreci.

REVIEW
This reading was completed on May 13, 2012; I rate it five stars.
"The Hobbit" was offered to me under a partnership I have with the publisher Publicações Europa-América. This book was in the spotlight in Lisbon Book Fair 2012, since the movie with the same title comes out this year. After reading this work of JRR Tolkien, I just have to say that I will certainly see the movie too!
This was the first thing I read by Tolkien. Sure I’ve heard of Lord of the Rings, but I just watched the movies and never felt curious to read the trilogy. I think it was a great debut in the narratives of this author. My first reaction upon seeing the small size of the font on the pages was "Heck! If I don’t like it, I can only imagine when I’ll finish this"; when I finished the book, I changed my speech to "I wouldn’t mind reading something else by this author."
What pleased me most was the colloquial tone used by the narrator. It made me feel I was sitting on the floor, by the fireplace, listening to him telling me the story directly. Tolkien engages the reader completely in the atmospheres and environments he presents. I also quite liked the fact that the narrative is reminiscent of tales, as it has spiels and every action seems to contain a moralizing message. Finally, I’d like to underline the balance that Tolkien sets between moments of action and descriptions; it’s so well done, that I never felt bored.


1 like · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read O Hobbit.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 7, 2012 – Started Reading
May 7, 2012 – Shelved
May 7, 2012 –
page 19
7.31%
May 8, 2012 –
page 27
10.38%
May 10, 2012 –
page 37
14.23%
May 11, 2012 –
page 103
39.62%
May 12, 2012 –
page 152
58.46%
May 12, 2012 –
page 153
58.85%
May 13, 2012 –
page 201
77.31%
May 13, 2012 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.