Kristalia 's Reviews > The Iron King

The Iron King by Julie Kagawa
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5705623
Final rating: 3/5 stars
Final rating - for the whole series: 3.5/5 stars





To venture in a world of The Iron Fey, you must proceed with this knowledge:

1. This is not a book about fairies like these:



Imagine evil - well, not all of them are evil- ELVES, so called FAERY or plural FEY.

2. They don't have wings (well, most of them don't) and there are many of them like dryads, goblins, gremlins, kelpies, ogres and so on and on.

3. In this world, fey are not to be trusted! They will always go for favors and bargains and never-ever-never say "thank you" to fey.

4. There is a neverending hate between Summer (Seelie) and Winter (Unseelie) court.

5. There is one extremely annoying, stupid and idiotic heroine, but nevertheless interesting (just ignore her and you will be fine).

6. You will without any doubt fall in love with two heroes - they will make you swoon.



Now this was interesting experience ♥ I love fey, they are my favorite paranormal creatures (and yes, i love and will always love evil fey ideas) and i love Julie Kagawa since her Blood of Eden series , which was fantastic!

I know this book was one of her earlier works, but i can't help but compare it to BoE series. While BoE has strong and kickass heroine, this series has weak and angsty one - and it really bothered me, which is why i gave it one star less. Still, it was quite interesting and it kept my attention so it was bearable to ignore Meghan. Well, i am overreacting - she wasn't that bad - she just bored me sometimes .

Alas, i heard that the other sequels get really and much better, so i am still having high expectations, while i lowered them for this one. But it surprised me and made me eager for more.

The world building was quite interesting. The Nevernever world was really well done and i love how Kagawa always describes the surroundings in quite a good amount of details. I could imagine everything perfectly and that is a big + from me. I just can't help but admire Kagawa's writing style ♥_♥.

And like every other young adult book - this one too has a love triangle. And i didn't mind it. God, what is happening to me, i used to hate love triangles! But here...it makes it even more difficult because there are Ash and Robin (aka Puck, which i will refer as Robin because its prettier) and i love them both.


The last 40% of the book i absolutely loved which is the reason i didn't give the first book less than 4 stars.


P.s. everytime Ash and Puck argue or fight, it reminds me of this:



► STORY:


Once upon a time, there was a normal girl. She was living in a poor family, with her mother, stepfather and step brother. She had best friend who was always there for her.

Meghan chase thought she was normal, she lived normally, she has a good life, even though it sometimes wasn't kind. Her father disappeared when she was young and her mother married another. And gave birth to Ethan, Meghan's step brother.

She likes hanging out with Robbie, her best friend. He was always there for her, no matter what.

But when she finds out that her brother Ethan was kidnapped, and that a changeling was put in his place, she doesn't know what to do. She learns from Robbie that he was kidnapped by a Fey and that he can help her bring him back. But its so hard to believe in it - until he takes her to Nevernever, homeland to all Fey.



For those who took interest in fey, then you heard of Seelie and Unseelie courts, some of the names like Mab, Oberon and Titania, the fairies' fear of iron and metal. And add all those supernatural creatures like dryads, goblins, gremlins, kelpies, ogres and so on. It's all in here, waiting for you to go and be sucked into it just like Meghan was.

► CHARACTERS:


Meghan :



The main character and narrator of this story. Once a normal girl, she finds out that she is not what she thought she was. She was never prepared for what would happen to her and it makes her miserable, sad and devastated. But she is not giving up - she would do anything to get people she loves back, even if it means making bad choices.

“Yeah, Mom, Ethan’s turned into a monster and my best friend thinks he’s a faery. How was your day?”


In a way, i understood Meghan, she was alone, she was afraid and it was all knew to her. And unknown. And it is scary when you are thrown in a world you know nothing of, and when you don't know the rules.



Puck/Robin Goodfellow :



Robin was Meghan's best friend in our world - he is a fey and he was sent to protect Meghan. And he would do anything for Meghan. Even break the rules.

“I guess the sacrifice of my dignity is the only thing that will save us now. The things I endure for love. The Fates laugh at my torment.”


He was amazing character, extremely fun, sarcastic but not so kind either...especially to his enemies. I loved all his comments, and he made me laugh so many times and he was just awesome.



Ash :



Ash, son of Mab, the queen of the Unseelie/Winter court. Ash, the third Unseelie prince and enemy to the Summer/Seelie court. Ash, the completely stubborn, sometimes evil SOB but also kind, brave and horrifically awesome.

“Combat doesn't have to be with swords... Emotions can be deadly weapons, and knowing your enemy's breaking point can be key to winning a battle.”


Ash... sigh... i am in love. At first, i kind of hated him, but as the story progressed i couldn't help but fall in love little, slowly and in the end completely.



Grimalkin :



The true hero of the story for me would be Grimalkin the cat. Always there to make bargains, promises and save the day. And he keeps many many mysteries and secret...because...

"I am a cat," purred Grimalkin.


Sigh....why don't you turn into a sexy prince so i can fall in love with you too?



Everyone else :

Oberon => meeeeeeeeeeeeeh, you didn't give me enough reason to like you.
Titania => erm... *coughbitchcough*
Mab => you are not better than them either...but we shall see :P
Ethan => cuuuuuuuuuuute ♥

and the rest bla bla bla.... too tired to write and i would just spoil the story.

► OVERALL:


Loved it. I love everything related to fairies and this was nice addition to my fairy mania. Anyway, i look forward to other books and for more Ash and Puck ♥



► REVIEW(S) RELATED TO THIS BOOK:


The Iron King (The Iron Fey, #1)
Winter's Passage (The Iron Fey #1.5)
The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey, #2)
The Iron Queen (The Iron Fey, #3)
Summer's Crossing (Iron Fey, #3.5)
The Iron Knight (Iron Fey, #4)
Iron's Prophecy (The Iron Fey, #4.5)
The Lost Prince (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #1)
The Iron Traitor (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #2)
The Iron Warrior (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten, #3)



This review can be found on my blog: infinity-of-time.blogspot.com also known as...

103 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Iron King.
Sign In »

Quotes Kristalia Liked

Julie Kagawa
“Oh, we're playing nice now? Shall we have tea first? Brew up a nice pot of kiss-my-ass?”
Julie Kagawa, The Iron King

Julie Kagawa
“Touch her, and I'll freeze your testicles off and put them in a jar. Understand?”
Julie Kagawa, The Iron King

Julie Kagawa
“Knock, knock!" he called in a high, singsong voice.
For a moment, silence. Then a thud and a crash, as if something heavy had been hurled at the door. "Go away!" snarled the voice from within.
"Ah, no. That's not how the joke goes," called Rob. "I say 'knock, knock', and you're supposed to answer with 'who's there?'"
"Fuck off!"
Nope, that's still wrong." Robbie seemed unperturbed. I, however, was horrified at Ethan's language, though I knew it wasn't him. "Here," continued Rob in an amiable voice, "I'll go through the whole thing, so you'll know how to answer next time." He cleared his throat and pounded at the door again. "Knock, knock!" he bellowed. "Who's there? Puck! Puck who? Puck, who will turn you into a squealing pig and stuff you in the oven if you don't get out of our way!" And with that, he banged the door open.”
Julie Kagawa, The Iron King

Julie Kagawa
“Ash blinked. "Are you raiding the cellars now, Goodfellow?"

"Me? Stealing?" Puck flashed a devious grin and popped another fruit into his mouth. "In the house of my ancient enemy? What gave you that idea?" He plucked another fruit and tossed it to me with a wink.”
Julie Kagawa, The Iron King

Julie Kagawa
“Metallic trees. That's new. If you see any steel dryads, be sure to tell me so I can run away screaming.”
Julie Kagawa, The Iron King
tags: puck

Julie Kagawa
“Ladies and Felines," he stated grandly, grasping the doorknob, "Welcome to Tir Na Nog. Land of endless winter and shitloads of snow.”
Julie Kagawa, The Iron King
tags: puck

Julie Kagawa
“I've always wanted the IQ of a rock. No, wait. That would be an insult to the rock.”
Julie Kagawa, The Iron King

Julie Kagawa
“I guess the sacrifice of my dignity is the only thing that will save us now. The things I endure for love. The Fates laugh at my torment.”
Julie Kagawa, The Iron King


Reading Progress

May 2, 2012 – Shelved
May 5, 2013 – Started Reading
May 5, 2013 –
7.0% "I couldn't help myself. I am Julie Kagawa obsessed right now and i need more. More i say. MOOOOOOOORE.\n \n Excited to meet Ash, btw :D *he is actually the reason i am reading this at all*\n \n P.s. good start for now. \n ~*~*~*~*~*~"
May 5, 2013 –
12.0% "Okaaaaaaaaaaaaay Robbie - boy, you are so suspicious\n Guess i'll find out soon enough.\n "
May 6, 2013 –
20.0% " “Here,I’ll go through the whole thing, so you’ll know how to answer next time.” He cleared his throat and pounded the door again. “Knock, knock!” he bellowed. “Who’s there? Puck! Puck who? Puck, who will turn you into a squealing pig and stuff you in the oven if you don’t get out of our way!"\n "
May 7, 2013 –
32.0% "I swear Grimalkin the cat is one and only true hero ever in this series. \n \n I don't know Grim, i don't know!!!!\n AAAAAA\n where is RPuck btw O_o?"
May 7, 2013 –
52.0% "Oh Ash, you make it so difficult to love you....\n Ooooooooooooo..... Screw it.....\n \n Dark Fey Prince with a Horse. Sure, why not :D\n It's bad for my health, cant begin to imagine how bad it is for Meghan :D"
May 8, 2013 –
67.0% " “Mornin’, princess,” he said with his mouth full, plunking the bowl on the table. “Look what I found.”\n Ash blinked. “Are you raiding the cellars now, Goodfellow?”\n “Me? Stealing?” Puck flashed a devious grin and popped another fruit into his mouth. “In the house of my ancient enemy? What gave you that idea?” \n "
May 9, 2013 –
100.0% " O________O\n \n \n I want to kidnap ASH and make him mine - (shut up you traitorous heart -_-')\n screw Meghan and be mine Ash ♥\n well,i still have 3 more books to read ♥\n Anyway, i like it :D"
May 9, 2013 – Shelved as: made-me-smile-or-laugh
May 9, 2013 – Shelved as: be-my-heroes-please
May 9, 2013 – Shelved as: reviewed
May 9, 2013 – Shelved as: me-likey-mucho
May 9, 2013 – Finished Reading
May 12, 2013 – Shelved as: age-mature-young-adult

Comments (showing 1-50 of 65) (65 new)


Hershey I'm looking forward to read your review about this one. Many liked this book!


Kristalia haahahahaha :D and yet, you too gave it 2 stars :D
(hopefully i will like it since i already do......we will see :D heard the other ones are a lot better)


Hershey Yeah. The Immortal Rules seems like a very good book of Kagawa's. I'm still debating whether to read that book or not.


Kristalia ooooooooooooooh immortal rules was fantastic. My absolute fav series actually. You won't regret it ;) Trust me.


Christine Wallflower & Dark Romance Junkie Kristalia I gotta ask your gif when you were at 67% isn't that Loki from Thor???!!! It's freakin awesome where the hell did you find a gif like that?!


Kristalia Christine The Romance Junkie wrote: "Kristalia I gotta ask your gif when you were at 67% isn't that Loki from Thor???!!! It's freakin awesome where the hell did you find a gif like that?!"

yeah, it is him :D
tumblr....places...i dont know he is everywhere :P
(the same goes for the gif :D )


Pavlina Read more sleep less blog❤❤  Awesome review babe!!Love your casting <3 :)


Jessie Great review! This is one of my favorite series, Julie's writing is just sooo addictive! :)


Kristalia Pavlina wrote: "Awesome review babe!!Love your casting <3 :)"

thanx dearie ♥
i think they are peeeeeerfect ;P


Kristalia Jessie wrote: "Great review! This is one of my favorite series, Julie's writing is just sooo addictive! :)"

Hhehehehe i can't wait to read the others :P
thank you ♥


Kristalia hehehheh ;D thank you
i hope you will like it ^_^
(i would suggest you read The Immortal Rules from the same author since it's fantastic <3 )


message 12: by [deleted user] (new)

Amazing review kristalia , added to TBR :)


message 13: by Feminista (new) - added it

Feminista Great review Kris!

This one sounds like a bit of a bummer :( Weak heroine!!


Kristalia Karen wrote: "Amazing review kristalia , added to TBR :)"

wow O_o
thannnnnnnx ♥
Hope you like it ^_^


Kristalia NabK wrote: "Great review Kris!

This one sounds like a bit of a bummer :( Weak heroine!!"


Actually she is not that weak but she cries...like 3 or 4 times i think O.o? lol
she is good though :)


message 16: by [deleted user] (new)

Kristalia wrote: "Karen wrote: "Amazing review kristalia , added to TBR :)"

wow O_o
thannnnnnnx ♥
Hope you like it ^_^"


If i dont , I know who to come after ahahaah!

(view spoiler)


message 17: by [deleted user] (new)

Kristalia wrote: "Karen wrote: "Amazing review kristalia , added to TBR :)"

wow O_o
thannnnnnnx ♥
Hope you like it ^_^"


If i dont , I know who to come after ahahaah!

(view spoiler)


Kristalia oooooooo i will have some defense systems prepared :D

erm....i was surprised? :)


message 19: by [deleted user] (new)

Ya well you better :):)

Ok , I guess I have to blame myself for being so mia lol!


message 20: by Feminista (new) - added it

Feminista Kristalia wrote: "NabK wrote: "Great review Kris!

This one sounds like a bit of a bummer :( Weak heroine!!"

Actually she is not that weak but she cries...like 3 or 4 times i think O.o? lol
she is good though :)"


Oh.. That's not bad then!


Kristalia lololololololahahahahhahhaa ;:D


Kristalia NabK wrote: "Oh.. That's not bad then! "

yep ;) i might start liking her actually :D


Basuhi Great review as usual Kris !!!
I'm not sure about fey, so I don't know if I'll be ever reading this :)


message 24: by Jenn (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jenn I really want to read this one!


message 25: by Liz (new) - rated it 2 stars

Liz Fantastic review with awesome pictures, Kristalia! I love it! :) ♥

I actually liked the other books of the series more than the first one :D


Kristalia Basuhi wrote: "Great review as usual Kris !!!
I'm not sure about fey, so I don't know if I'll be ever reading this :)"


thankies ♥
hmmmmmmmm :D (even if the whole series turns out to be awesome :p?)


Kristalia Jenn wrote: "I really want to read this one!"

hope you enjoy it when you do :D


Kristalia Liz wrote: "Fantastic review with awesome pictures, Kristalia! I love it! :) ♥

I actually liked the other books of the series more than the first one :D"


thank you :D

I can see that and imagine that and understand you ^_^


message 29: by xrysa (new) - added it

xrysa Amazing review Kris <3
I might give it a try after reading this review :D
I'm not sure If i still like fairies as the only fairy book that I've read was 3 years ago :S


Kristalia heheheh thanks love ;D
yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay, i hope you like it ^_^
hahahahah what is wrong with fairies...they look like elves :D and whats wrong with elves :D? They are sexyyyy <3


message 31: by xrysa (last edited May 09, 2013 08:13AM) (new) - added it

xrysa hahaha I read Wings and the girl was fairy but fairies there were almost flowers -_-


Kristalia Nope, no wings here :D
just two sexy "elves", lots of monsters,driads, gremlins, sea horses, weird rats and so on xD


message 33: by xrysa (new) - added it

xrysa Ι like the sexy elves part :)
Thanx for the hints!!
I cant wait to start it!!


Kristalia hahahahahahhahahahheheheheheehhhihihihi :D
yeeeeeeees :D
I just hope you like it too ^_^


Duchess Nicole Wow, hell of a review, Kristalia! I think I'll bump this series up my list. I have all of the ebooks already. Can't wait! Are you moving right on to the second book?


Kristalia Hehehehhe, thank you ^_^
yaaaaaay :D i hope you will love it :D
Yes, as soon as i finish i am reading (Robin in the Hood) :D
it finished with a cliffie and it's killing me now to know what happens in the The Iron Daughter. ;D


Blacky *Romance Addict* Awesome review Kris :)


Sharon ∞❥ is an emotional book junkie ❥∞ great review Kristalia. ive always wanted to read this...i really enjoy Fae too.


Kristalia Blacky *Must have HEA* wrote: "Awesome review Kris :)"

♥♥♥♥♥thank you♥♥♥♥♥


Kristalia ♠ Sharon is an emotional book junkie ♠ wrote: "great review Kristalia. ive always wanted to read this...i really enjoy Fae too."

Thanx - hopefully you will love it as much as i did :D


Rosalinda *KRASNORADA* I swear I have a cat like that one!!! LOL

Great review, Kristalia xxx


Kristalia ahahahhaahaahaha :P
i always wanted cat like that :D
thanx ♥


message 43: by Kristalia (last edited May 11, 2013 02:37PM) (new) - rated it 3 stars

Kristalia Hahahahahahaha yeah, i liked it <3
But second book is even better ♥
then what are you waiting for????????

thank you my dear ♥


Kristalia aahahhahahahahah ;D
oh and DH too
girl you are doomed ;P
(i am too T_T btw)


Rain ~miss kinky knickers~ Awesome review, love! ♥
I know next to nothing about fairies, fae, fey, whatever... but it sounds interesting! Maybe I'll consider it after I finish all those paranormals on my list! :)


Kristalia heheeh thank you <3
i just finished reediting the review :D
really love? O_O???
I just hope you wont be disappointed :D (i have high tolerance toward stupid heroines, as it seems)
but the story was something i loved <3


Rain ~miss kinky knickers~ Kristalia wrote: "heheeh thank you <3
i just finished reediting the review :D
really love? O_O???
I just hope you wont be disappointed :D (i have high tolerance toward stupid heroines, as it seems)
but the story was..."


I seem to share high tolerance to TSTL heroines... well, sometimes, at least, or I'd throw many, MANY books through the window! :D
Not sure if I'll join the fairy mania, but it's worth a try! :)


Kristalia Rain ~miss kinky knickers~ wrote: "I seem to share high tolerance to TSTL heroines... well, sometimes, at least, or I'd throw many, MANY books through the window! :D
Not sure if I'll join the fairy mania, but it's worth a try! :) "


ehehehheheh :D i like TSTL part ;D
You should, i love it so far, well, we will see how i will feel when i finish it :D (so far, first book is the worst) xD
like i said, these are not regular fairies (more like fairies from Fever series)


message 49: by * Meli Mel * (new)

* Meli Mel * Awesome review! :)) <3


Kristalia Meli Kyle *Ty and Zane's Creeper* wrote: "Awesome review! :)) <3"

ty ♥


« previous 1
back to top