Jenn(ifer)'s Reviews > White Noise

White Noise by Don DeLillo
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
780933
's review
Apr 30, 2012

it was amazing
bookshelves: 5-f-ing-stars, game-changers, read-in-2012, the-tops, you-should-read-this, own, my-reviews-that-dont-suck, national-book-award-winners
Recommended to Jenn(ifer) by: the sentry to the island of misfit toys
Recommended for: believers


If I had it my way, as soon as you clicked on my review this song would blare from your speakers: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4N3N1M... (and the video is amazing; I would rather you watch it than read my nonsensical ramblings)

************

This book smells like napalm. It sounds like air being slowly released from a balloon. It tastes like ashes of the American dream.

I wander the city, invisible earmuffs blocking out the sounds, eyes glued to pages, smile glued to my face. People look at me as if they want to know my secrets. I promise not to tell. Closer. Let me whisper in your ear. I’ll only give you glimpses...

Heinrich Gerhardt Gladney is a cynic. I want to get inside his head. We’re all suffering from brain fade.

The airborne toxic event. Cool name for a band? These guys thought so. Not if you look like that it's not.

description

Fear of death. Fear of life. Consumerism. Commercialism. Communism. Toyota Celica. Murray is a comic genius. No frills. The pills won’t save you. Orest Mercator. Going for the record. Snakes bite.

Elvis versus Hitler. How about a hybrid? Might look like this:

description

Where were you when James Dean died? Dylar. The most photographed barn in America. Babette has very important hair. Car crash seminars. Déjà vu. Ask the big important questions. Pointless conversations.

Strip malls. Cable tv.

Sex and death. Death. Life. Death.

"et cetera, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera

In the midst of life we are in death et cetera.

etceteraetceteraetceteraetceterainthemidstoflifeweareindeathetcetera…”


description
93 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read White Noise.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

April 30, 2012 – Started Reading
April 30, 2012 – Shelved
April 30, 2012 –
0.0% "Damn it DeLillo, you're not going to make me stay up all night reading this are you? Cos I can't seem to put it down for more than 10 minute stints."
May 1, 2012 –
50.0% ""the third and related irony is that it's the most complex and neurotic and difficult women that I am invariably drawn to. I like simple men and complicated women""
May 3, 2012 – Shelved as: 5-f-ing-stars
May 3, 2012 – Shelved as: game-changers
May 3, 2012 – Shelved as: read-in-2012
May 3, 2012 – Shelved as: the-tops
May 3, 2012 – Shelved as: you-should-read-this
May 3, 2012 – Finished Reading
June 10, 2012 – Shelved as: own
December 18, 2012 – Shelved as: my-reviews-that-dont-suck
June 6, 2014 – Shelved as: national-book-award-winners

Comments (showing 1-50 of 68) (68 new)


Jenn(ifer) oh, is that the sound of white noise?


Mark This one was fun! Little slow in places, but a good metaphorical read


message 4: by Mike (new)

Mike Puma Nice video, even better review.


message 5: by s.p (new) - rated it 5 stars

s.p Dylar.
My boss back in my days of Old Navy named his son Heinrich because of this book. Poor kid.
I love this review. Fits the mood like a nice expensive leather glove from a chic shopping mall.
Dylar.


B0nnie Mad World, Gary Jules, Donnie Darko, White Noise, (Jenn)ifer's review : yeah I'm a believer! This book - for all the darkness - made me laugh out loud far too many times - maybe I belong on that island.


Mark Jenn = the new Burroughs. That's a 5-fing-star review


Jenn(ifer) Mike wrote: "Nice video, even better review."

Thanks Mike! Nice of you to say. That's one of my all time favorite music videos.


Jenn(ifer) s.penkevich wrote: "Dylar.
My boss back in my days of Old Navy named his son Heinrich because of this book. Poor kid.
I love this review. Fits the mood like a nice expensive leather glove from a chic shopping mall.
Dy..."


Thanks Sven!
You worked at Old Navy? I know a Heinrich, but he's German, like, from Germany.


Jenn(ifer) B0nnie wrote: "Mad World, Gary Jules, Donnie Darko, White Noise, (Jenn)ifer's review : yeah I'm a believer! This book - for all the darkness - made me laugh out loud far too many times - maybe I belong on that i..."

Thanks Bonnie! I found myself inappropriately laughing A LOT and people were giving me funny looks. It's that kinda book.


Jenn(ifer) Mark wrote: "Jenn = the new Burroughs. That's a 5-fing-star review"

aw shucks. you're too kind


Stephen M Sweet shit.

It tasted like the the ashes of american flags to me.


Jenn(ifer) have I mentioned that YHF is my favorite album of all time? once or twice? So glad someone got the reference!


Jenn(ifer) ha! did so! now if only i could find the threads where I've talked about this... hm.


Jenn(ifer) made no difference ever known, made no difference ever known to me


Jenn(ifer) nothing wrong with that Scott. imma listen to it right now


message 17: by s.p (new) - rated it 5 stars

s.p (Jenn)ifer wrote: "s.penkevich wrote: "Dylar.
My boss back in my days of Old Navy named his son Heinrich because of this book. Poor kid.
I love this review. Fits the mood like a nice expensive leather glove from a ch..."


Yeah. Money and jobs were tight in the early college days ha.


Stephen M (Jenn)ifer wrote: "have I mentioned that YHF is my favorite album of all time? once or twice? So glad someone got the reference!"

I'm the man that loves you.(because of that comment and other things too.)


Jenn(ifer) awwww shucks


Stephen M That album got me into all the music I listen to now. Ah, Wilco and Jeff Tweedy's scruffy, endearing awkwardness.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wzxb3W...


Jenn(ifer) Stephen M wrote: "That album got me into all the music I listen to now. Ah, Wilco and Jeff Tweedy's scruffy, endearing awkwardness.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wzxb3W..."


my love for Jeff Tweedy knows no bounds. scruffy, endearing, awkward brilliance


Jenn(ifer) Mariel wrote: "I feel all warm inside now."

if my review made you feel all warm inside, then I am a happy camper.... uh... reader.. uh writer.. whatever I am


message 23: by Greg (new)

Greg I think I enjoyed your review a lot more than I enjoyed White Noise itself.


Jenn(ifer) Greg wrote: "I think I enjoyed your review a lot more than I enjoyed White Noise itself."

That might be the nicest thing I've heard since message #24. Thanks!


Jenn(ifer) NICK! I'm so glad you said that. You win the prize. It was inspired by a particular chapter of Ulysses, yes indeedy


Jenn(ifer) uhhh.. let me think about it. what made you ask if it was inspired by Ulysses?


Jenn(ifer) I see. Remember 'Wandering Rocks' (the chapter that was like a panoramic view of Dublin)? I was trying to do a panorama of 'White Noise'.


Jenn(ifer) shhhhhh... I'm hunting wabbits.


message 29: by Mark (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mark huhuhuhuhuhuhuhuhuhuh

"You think my laugh sounds like Elmer Fudd sitting on a juicer?"


message 30: by Ian (last edited May 23, 2012 01:41AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ian "Marvin" Graye (Jenn)ifer wrote: "Elvis versus Hitler."

Impossible Germany, Unlikely Graceland.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmI7Si...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7I79m7...

As if you need another reason to believe.

Someone's listening.


Jenn(ifer) Ian wrote: "(Jenn)ifer wrote: "Elvis versus Hitler."

Impossible Germany, Unlikely Graceland.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kmI7Si...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7I79m7...

As if you ..."


Ha ha! I was actually going to use that song for my Gravity's Rainbow review (what w/the WWII references and all)


Jenn(ifer) btw, Glenn Kotche is my favorite percussionist of life


Jenn(ifer) Scott wrote: "(Jenn)ifer wrote: "btw, Glenn Kotche is my favorite percussionist of life"

"She fell in love with the drummer. Another then another.""


oh you don't know how true that is!


message 34: by Jason (new) - added it

Jason We are the same person. That Donnie Darko song effing rules.


Jenn(ifer) Twinsies! And I don't know if you've read the book, but it is sooooo fitting. Love that song. And the video is pretty cool too.


message 36: by Jason (new) - added it

Jason I will definitely read the book at some point. It's on my list!


David This is one of my favorite books. I approve of your approval.


Jenn(ifer) my life is now complete


David Ouch.


Jenn(ifer) David wrote: "Ouch."

I'm kidding!!! Sheesh. big baby


David Jenn(ifer) wrote: "I'm kidding!!! Sheesh. big baby "

The biggest.


message 42: by Jenn(ifer) (last edited Jul 19, 2012 09:13AM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jenn(ifer) David wrote: "This is one of my favorite books. I approve of your approval."

but not "pants crapping awesome" shelf worthy?


David Jenn(ifer) wrote: "David wrote: "This is one of my favorite books. I approve of your approval."

but not "pants crapping awesome" shelf worthy?"


It's not on my pants-crapping shelf?? That is a grievous oversight which shall be rectified anon.

I think I dropped a load a couple times while reading this baby...


Jenn(ifer) David wrote: "Jenn(ifer) wrote: "David wrote: "This is one of my favorite books. I approve of your approval."

but not "pants crapping awesome" shelf worthy?"

It's not on my pants-crapping shelf?? That is a gri..."


now my shelf stalking secret has been revealed!


David Maybe you can manage my shelves. I appear to be doing a pants-crapping-awful job.


Jenn(ifer) okay fine, maybe I didn't read the words, but just looked at the pictures. it's there


David I just added it there. That's why. When I said anon, I meant afuckingnon.


Jenn(ifer) good thing I wasn't taking a sip of something just then, cos I would have totally snarfed it! ha!


message 49: by Mark (new) - rated it 4 stars

Mark Why is it you frequently inspire people to defecate, Jenn? :D


Jenn(ifer) it's not me. it's Jay Rubin!


« previous 1
back to top