Steph Sinclair's Reviews > Dreams of Gods & Monsters

Dreams of Gods & Monsters by Laini Taylor
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4642710
I enjoyed this finale much more than I did Days of Blood and Starlight. There’s just something about seeing Karou and Akiva steal away precious moments in the midst of impending death. However, I wasn’t completely satisfied with the ending. Taylor chose to introduce new characters and it felt a bit jarring for a final book. Out of nowhere, characters who I’d just met suddenly became extremely important to the plot when all I really wanted was more Karou and Akiva. The sexual tension and want between those two was through the roof and I JUST NEEDED THEM TO KISS ALREADY. What I find interesting is how with Daughter of Smoke and Bone I quickly labeled this series as PNR, but now that doesn’t feel accurate. Sure, there is a love story at its root, but has become so much more than that. It feels more Fantasy and less PNR by the end, and I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t left craving more of that romantic spark I felt in Daughter of Smoke and Bone. A part of me wants to read a straight PNR from Taylor just so my feels can burst into flames. Overall, I loved this book and this series still remains a favorite.

(There better be a spin-off planned, because I smell a spin-off.)

======

This cover... This cover... oh my gosh!

 photo rainbow_zpse3ec706a.gif
163 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dreams of Gods & Monsters.
Sign In »

Quotes Steph Liked

Laini Taylor
“You are a conniving, deceitful hussy. I stand in awe."
"You're sitting."
"I sit in awe.”
Laini Taylor, Dreams of Gods & Monsters

Laini Taylor
“But let's not be casual about this body, okay?" She nuzzled him back. "It may be your soul that I love, but I'm pretty keen on its vessel, too."

Her voice had dropped lower as she spoke, and his response was low and husky in kind. "I can't say I'm sorry to hear that," he said, and brushed his face past hers to kiss a place beneath her ear, sending instant, electric frissons coursing through her body.”
Laini Taylor, Dreams of Gods & Monsters

Laini Taylor
“Scientist and smart fellow learner-of-stuff, want to do samurai-monster training with us? We intend to become dangerous.”
Laini Taylor, Dreams of Gods & Monsters


Reading Progress

April 29, 2012 – Shelved
April 29, 2012 – Shelved as: young-adult
April 29, 2012 – Shelved as: angels
April 29, 2012 – Shelved as: fantasy
April 29, 2012 – Shelved as: i-need-to-buy-this-book
April 29, 2012 – Shelved as: littlebrown
September 6, 2012 – Shelved as: cool-author
September 10, 2013 – Shelved as: dat-cover-yo
March 15, 2014 –
11.0% "The apocalypse is starting!"
March 26, 2014 –
27.0% "I just want Akiva and Karuo to kiss and makeup."
March 28, 2014 –
31.0% "Tomorrow, the apocalypse. Tonight, the sun.\n *happy sigh*"
March 28, 2014 –
40.0% "Ha. Nice Star Wars reference."
March 30, 2014 –
50.0% "THE PLOT. IT THICKENS."
April 4, 2014 –
75.0% "WHAT?! NOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!! WHAT IS THIS LIFE?!?!?!? *THROWS ALL THE THINGS*"
April 4, 2014 –
76.0% "i can't even"
Started Reading
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: 2014-release
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: 2014-reads
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: 2014-favs
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: awesome
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: ass-kickin-heroine
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: best-characters
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: beautiful-prose
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: best-relationships
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: e-arc
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: ebook
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: forbidden-love
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: interesting-little-creature
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: original-and-creative
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: smart-heroine
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: strong-heroine
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: superb-world-building
April 5, 2014 – Shelved as: to-buy-soon
April 5, 2014 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 59 (59 new)


Spider the Doof Warrior I know. it's soooo mmm and she looks like Emilie Autumn.


message 2: by Purcheria (new) - added it

Purcheria That cover is SICK!!


Alec John It's so pretty!


Molly squeeeeee!


Lissa Oh my God. I can't wait!


Cathryn OMG! OMG! OMG!


Kate Copeseeley Are there only three books in the series, do you know? I've been putting off reading the second one (because so many people said it was SAD) until I had the rest.


Steph Sinclair As far as I know there are only 3 books. And yes, the second one was very depressing.


~✡~Dαni(ela) ♥ ♂♂ love & semi-colons~✡~ I am beside myself waiting for the third. It's been on my list for months. This is one of my favorite trilogies ever.


Cathryn What does that say about me that I actually liked the second one even more than the first? :)


Jenn (One of Many, We are Legion) Omg. All you jerks getting this a month early. HATE. HATE. UNLIKE!


Whitley Birks Cathryn, I liked the second one better, too. I blame that random 100-page-long 'flashback that's really a wayward novella and should have been marketed as such, I mean, really, it's not like in-between novellas aren't big right now' in the first book.

/done ranting


Jenn (One of Many, We are Legion) So many people hate the flashbacks in this series. I think I'm just a flashback girl or something. I really enjoy the backstory.

Novellas in general are a stupid marketing scheme, imo. However, I LOVED Cake and Puppets. I love Zuze and Mik, though, and their journey together was just magical. A novella for this one actually made sense.

But whatever, I'm an unapologetic Laini Taylor fangirl.


message 14: by Keighley (new) - added it

Keighley Have held off on reading Book 2 until closer to Book 3 release. Just had to do a crazy cross eyed look at Book 3 page for release date - in case synopsis gave anything away! Really loved the first one, glad Ive been warned Book 2 is depressing!


message 15: by Niara (new) - added it

Niara I really want to continue the series, but at this point I CAN NOT handle a depressing read.


Spider the Doof Warrior Nooooooo not a depressing READ!


Riley SO. JEALOUS.


Katie how do you already have this omgggggggggg


Cathryn You and Kat are making me so jealous. I may have to take a day off of work when this comes out. I will definitely be ignoring people.


Jenn (One of Many, We are Legion) Cathryn wrote: "You and Kat are making me so jealous. I may have to take a day off of work when this comes out. I will definitely be ignoring people."

Lol. It's so true. I will have to avoid GR like the plague and just binge read.


message 21: by Cat (new) - rated it 4 stars

Cat You and Kat are making me super jealous right now. D:


message 22: by Anne (new) - rated it 5 stars

Anne Oh wow! How did you get a copy?!


Steph Sinclair To be honest, I was jealous of Kat because she got it before me. Aussie perks!

@Katie, LB sent a NG widget!!!

Paul, no need to envy. ;)


Jason I am also full of envy. My most anticipated book of the year. At least there's less than a month till the release.


Steph Sinclair Yes! So close, so close!


Amanda I was going to listen to Blood and Starlight on audio to get a refresher before diving into this but I don't know if I can wait. I AM WEAK.


Adriana Maras So jealous of you right now.


message 29: by Anj (new) - rated it 5 stars

Anj Wow! You are so lucky and I am so jealous! How are you finding it so far? :)


message 30: by Ally (new) - rated it 5 stars

Ally I'm insanely jealous that you have this - I WANT !! I'm so excited for the release of this book it better live up to all the hopes I have piled on top of it. And you're right - that cover is lush !! :D


Steph Sinclair @Anj, the beginning is a little slow so far, but the writing is beautiful as usual.

@Ally, I hope so too! It's been on of my most anticipated reads for a long time!


message 32: by Anj (new) - rated it 5 stars

Anj I will wait for your rating and review when you're done with it. Man, I'm so excited for this book!


message 33: by Stacey (new)

Stacey O'Neale I really need to read this series. Everyone says such good things about her writing style.


message 34: by Steph (last edited Apr 05, 2014 02:45PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Steph Sinclair Her writing makes me gaze in awe at its beauty. So, so quotable.


message 35: by Brigid (new) - added it

Brigid YESSSS!!!! oh, I preordered my copy. I'm rereading the first two right now. Can't wait. Yes, the cover. I love how weird it is. As weird as it is, its still gorgeous.


message 36: by Jenn (One of Many, We are Legion) (last edited Apr 05, 2014 02:54PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Jenn (One of Many, We are Legion) Steph wrote: "Her writing makes me gaze in awe at its beauty. So, so quotable."

Her writing is the reason that I'll pretty much buy anything she publishes until the end of time (that she also writes a hell of a story is almost like a bonus perk). There is no way to put into words how beautiful it is and still do it justice (though many reviewers have come close to approximating it). I re-read the first two books in audio format in anticipation of G&M and while it's still gorgeous, I feel like actually reading the words in print is so much more evocative. She has a beautiful mind and I just want to live inside it. Yes, I'm a creepy fangirl.


Katie.g Glad you liked it. I can't wait to get my hands on this series. Will you write a longer review when it gets nearer to the publication date?


Katie.g On the last book in the series I mean.


Kiki Rizky Agustina I purposely delaying to buy Days Of Blood and Starlight until Dreams of Gods and Monsters comes out because I don't think I can survive the suspense in DOBAS. I hope DOGAM gives a nice closure for my peace of mind. :)


Tamara I personally thought this book was perfection, I have been waiting for a while and was lucky enough to work in a bookstore that got it early. Definitely worth the wait, but you won't see me complaining if there is a spinoff series...


Jenn (One of Many, We are Legion) Mara wrote: "I personally thought this book was perfection, I have been waiting for a while and was lucky enough to work in a bookstore that got it early. Definitely worth the wait, but you won't see me complai..."


All you people with your pre-release copies are killing me. I know it's two days, but damn. Stop it. ;)


venus I just finished reading it and there has to be a spin off, there has to be.


Jason I dunno, given the trajectory it feels like a "spinoff" would be more like a "sequel series" with largely the same main cast.


message 44: by Brigid (new) - added it

Brigid I hope Laini brings something new instead of doing a spin off series. Which I don't think would be her style at all. I feel like she's the type of author who wants to write creative and new stories for her readers. I look forward to what stories she will tell in the future. *giddy*


message 45: by Jason (last edited Apr 10, 2014 10:57PM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Jason Well, if the level of quality drops the way Rowling's work did from Potter to her...stuff since then, I would prefer for her to do more sequels.
Though I also didn't find Lips Touch or Silksinger great, so I already don't fool myself that everything she touches will be gold.


message 46: by Brigid (new) - added it

Brigid But then she could potentially destroy the world she created since spin-offs often become convoluted and the quality usually drops. Like Cassie Clare, she's squeezing as much as she possibly can out of that world. Writers grow with time, Laini Taylor may not have been as great of a writer as she is now. Does that mean she won't create as great work as she did with series? absolutely not. She has great potential and I look forward to her telling a new story rather than just squeeze the crap of a beautiful story that is already finished.


Spider the Doof Warrior I just bought this book. Laini Taylor = way more awesome than Clare.


message 48: by Brigid (new) - added it

Brigid Synesthesia wrote: "I just bought this book. Laini Taylor = way more awesome than Clare."

hmmmm....oh yeah. Definitely. She's a wayyyyyy better writer.


Steph Sinclair Agreed with Synesthesia about Taylor.

Another blogger mentioned that she is planning a spin-off and the way this ended, it's not unrealistic. I would prefer if it were just a continuation, but with the introduction of the newer characters in a final book, no less, it's definitely doable to have the story situated around another set of characters.


message 50: by Brigid (new) - added it

Brigid Steph wrote: "Agreed with Synesthesia about Taylor.

Another blogger mentioned that she is planning a spin-off and the way this ended, it's not unrealistic. I would prefer if it were just a continuation, but wi..."


oh.....yeah. That would ACTUALLY be fun to read about if its done well. I would love for her her husband to do a graphic novel of the series too. His art is soooo gorgeous. He actually has some artwork on his website he did of Karou in Prague. Its so pretty.


« previous 1
back to top