Chelsea Humphrey's Reviews > 11/22/63

11/22/63 by Stephen King
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
47207032
's review

it was amazing
bookshelves: bookstagram-made-me-do-it, suspenseful-clues-and-thrilling-rev, audiobooks, recommended
Recommended to Chelsea by: Kayla | kaylagetsread

Even though 11/22/63 has been swirling inside my brain for a little over a week now, I haven't had the chance to properly sit down and write out a coherent review. Life is busy, and yet I cannot shake the feeling of pleasure I received from reading this book. It is a masterpiece, no doubt, but also the type of story that is suited to King's old style of dialogue and flair for throwback culture. Dare I suggest that this book is the author's unicorn? Clearly he is immensely talented, and a good number of his other works are amongst my favorite novels of all time, but there is something unique to this historical time-traveling fiction that keeps blinking in my peripheral, almost like a jealous lover, keeping me from fully enjoying any book that I have picked up since finishing this one. Maybe writing this review will give me a sense of release, or perhaps I'll gear up the old audible and dive in for a reread. In the meantime, let me try to put into words what most of you have already said, since I'm the last person on planet earth to read 11/22/63.

If I'm wrong about the above statement and you haven't read this yet, all you really need to know going in is that an ordinary teacher from "present day" time travels back to the late 50's in preparation to attempt to prevent JFK's assassination. However, even that above statement is deceitful, because that's literally all I knew about this book going in, and it is SO much more. In fact, the JFK stuff doesn't really kick in until the last 35% of the book, but please don't take that as a criticism. The way that Stephen King chooses to prepare us and lead us up to that moment is nothing short of brilliant; the process in getting to that fateful day is just as suspenseful, intriguing, and emotional as the climax.

As unbelievable as it sounds, King has written one of the most tender, intimate, and swoon-worthy romances of all time between these pages. There are heaps of action, suspense, and easter eggs planted for fans who have read other books by the author (visiting Derry right after the first summer that the Losers Club experienced Pennywise was unreal). If you're an audiobook lover, I highly suggest listening to this book, or at least supplementing your hardcopy with it. I would love to see King write something similar to this in the coming years, but even if he chooses not to, I'll cherish this experience, and every reread after, as one of the most compelling stories ever written in our contemporary age.
373 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read 11/22/63.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

October 1, 2019 – Shelved
November 4, 2019 – Started Reading
November 5, 2019 –
page 129
15.19% "I’m loving the little nods and Easter eggs associated with Derry! I’m amazed that all these stories are able to connect while being written so far apart!"
November 8, 2019 –
page 353
41.58% "Chugging along and still loving this. Really enjoying the colorful cast of characters we meet along the journey!"
November 11, 2019 –
page 577
67.96% "😱😱😱😱😱"
November 14, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-50 of 60 (60 new)


Dominique Same here! I'm reading it right now and I'm liking it quite a lot


Chelsea Humphrey Dominique wrote: "Same here! I'm reading it right now and I'm liking it quite a lot"

I'm still only about 30 pages in but completely hooked!


message 3: by Melody (new)

Melody McNamara This is on my backlist too, but the length is so intimidating! Can't wait to see what you think!


Chelsea Humphrey Melody wrote: "This is on my backlist too, but the length is so intimidating! Can't wait to see what you think!"

That's exactly why I've put it off. I'll be sure to keep you posted!


Kayla | kaylagetsread You’re going to looove it!


Chelsea Humphrey Kayla wrote: "You’re going to looove it!"

Yay!


Corey OMG Chelsea I can almost guarantee you'll love this book. It took me long enough to start it, but I finally cracked down and read it, and I LOVED it! Enjoy!


message 8: by Jess☺️ (new) - added it

Jess☺️ I have this in my tbr pile somewhere too, hope you enjoy it can't wait to see what you think 😊


Blair One of his best


message 10: by Julie (new) - added it

Julie Harrison I read this on my honeymoon two years ago. I loved it......my husband, unfortunately, did not. BEST KING EVER!!!


Danielle My favorite ❤️


Annick I hope you enjoy. This long book is worth the investment of reading it! 🤗


Chelsea Humphrey Annick wrote: "I hope you enjoy. This long book is worth the investment of reading it! 🤗"

Danielle wrote: "My favorite ❤️"

Julie wrote: "I read this on my honeymoon two years ago. I loved it......my husband, unfortunately, did not. BEST KING EVER!!!"

Blair wrote: "One of his best"

Jess☺️ wrote: "I have this in my tbr pile somewhere too, hope you enjoy it can't wait to see what you think 😊"

Corey wrote: "OMG Chelsea I can almost guarantee you'll love this book. It took me long enough to start it, but I finally cracked down and read it, and I LOVED it! Enjoy!"

Thanks, everyone! I feel like such a stooge for not reading it sooner!


Maggie First SK book I read and still by far my favorite! Enjoy


Chelsea Humphrey Maggie wrote: "First SK book I read and still by far my favorite! Enjoy"

Ah glad to hear it! I'm thinking I may need to watch the show after I finish!


Angela Messaglia I have read many of his books since I read this one and I still think it's my favorite. It's just so intricately detailed and creative. Hope you like it!


Chelsea Humphrey Angela wrote: "I have read many of his books since I read this one and I still think it's my favorite. It's just so intricately detailed and creative. Hope you like it!"

Ah thank you so much!!!


Michelle Only Wants to Read I love this book so much! It's one of my favorites of his. This story is absolutely a beauty. I hope you enjoy it :)

Don't ever watch the mini-series though. It's a total slaughter of the story.


Megan It takes a LOT for me to commit to such a big book...but I was so glad that I did on this one! I loved it! Can't wait to hear what you think!


Angelo Drakontaidis One of my favorites King novels. Enjoy!


Chelsea Humphrey Angelo wrote: "One of my favorites King novels. Enjoy!"

Megan wrote: "It takes a LOT for me to commit to such a big book...but I was so glad that I did on this one! I loved it! Can't wait to hear what you think!"

Michelle Only Wants to Read wrote: "I
love
this book so much! It's one of my favorites of his. This story is absolutely a beauty. I hope you enjoy it :)

Don't ever watch the mini-series though. It's a total slaughter of the story."


Thanks everybody! I'm absolutely loving this so far. It's a page turner!


message 22: by Kim (new) - rated it 5 stars

Kim Lockhart I tell people that this is the only love story SK ever wrote. Also, the only love story I really liked.


Natalie This is one of my all-time favorite books and my go-to for recommending.


Chelsea Humphrey Natalie wrote: "This is one of my all-time favorite books and my go-to for recommending."

Kim wrote: "I tell people that this is the only love story SK ever wrote. Also, the only love story I really liked."

I'm loving it so far! I definitely think this could be my new favorite SK novel!


message 25: by Benjamin (new) - added it

Benjamin  Thomas I've been meaning to read this one for years!


Chelsea Humphrey Benjamin wrote: "I've been meaning to read this one for years!"

So far it's fantastic!


message 27: by Jeanine (new) - added it

Jeanine It's well worth it.


Chelsea Humphrey Jeanine wrote: "It's well worth it."

<3 I've been sneaking around reading pages every chance I get!


message 29: by Jeanine (new) - added it

Jeanine That's what I do, read like crazy on my 10 minute breaks, and at lunch, read again while dinner is cooking, go to bed early so I can read.


Chelsea Humphrey Jeanine wrote: "That's what I do, read like crazy on my 10 minute breaks, and at lunch, read again while dinner is cooking, go to bed early so I can read."

<3


message 31: by Gareth (new)

Gareth Kyle Amazing book and one of my faves top 5 SK for sure 👍😊


Chelsea Humphrey Gareth wrote: "Amazing book and one of my faves top 5 SK for sure 👍😊"

I can see why! I'm trying to force myself to slow down and savor it, but I can't help wanting to blow through to see what happens.


Elyse  Walters Isn't this a great book?....and tell me Steven King doesn't write the best love stories?/! lol. This is such a great book!!
Happy reading the last part xoxox


message 34: by Beth (new) - rated it 5 stars

Beth McCraw I finished it a couple days ago and I have no idea what to do with myself! I loved it so very much!!!!


Jeannie I agree, great book!


Chelsea Humphrey Jeannie wrote: "I agree, great book!"

Beth wrote: "I finished it a couple days ago and I have no idea what to do with myself! I loved it so very much!!!!"

Elyse (retired from reviewing/semi hiatus) wrote: "Isn't this a great book?....and tell me Steven King doesn't write the best love stories?/! lol. This is such a great book!!
Happy reading the last part xoxox"


I'm in good company! I can't believe I put this off for so long.


message 37: by Colo M (new) - added it

Colo M i think i might want to read it!(^_^)


message 38: by Alayne (new)

Alayne Emmett I agree I loved this book, even better 2nd time around.


Chelsea Humphrey Alayne wrote: "I agree I loved this book, even better 2nd time around."

I've seriously considered an immediate reread!

Colo M wrote: "i think i might want to read it!(^_^)"

Give it a try!


Tracey Franklin This is an awesome book and one of my favorites! I’m glad you enjoyed it.


Aaron Harvey Love this book AND the TV show


Chelsea Humphrey Aaron wrote: "Love this book AND the TV show"

Tracey wrote: "This is an awesome book and one of my favorites! I’m glad you enjoyed it."

<3


Diane One of my all time favorite books! I love how SK intertwines pieces of his books together. This book is also why I love Honky Tonk Woman by The Rolling Stones!


Lindsay This is one of my favorites! I listen to it once a year and recommend it to literally everyone. So incredible!


message 45: by Lisa (new) - rated it 5 stars

Lisa Tesch One of my favorites too!


Chelsea Humphrey Lisa wrote: "One of my favorites too!"

Lindsay wrote: "This is one of my favorites! I listen to it once a year and recommend it to literally everyone. So incredible!"

Diane wrote: "One of my all time favorite books! I love how SK intertwines pieces of his books together. This book is also why I love Honky Tonk Woman by The Rolling Stones!"

I keep trying to sit down and write a review, but I literally have no words. This was such a special reading experience.


message 47: by Pete (new) - rated it 5 stars

Pete One of my all time favorite King novels.


Chelsea Humphrey Pete wrote: "One of my all time favorite King novels."

It's excellent for sure!


Chuck Yep. King's best book. It has it all. Even romance. And it still rocks.

The Dark Tower series is probably second to this, but you have to get to books 4, 4.5, 5, 6, before you get a treat on this level. Under the Dome was good too. As good as some of his recent stuff is at times, I don't think it measure up.


message 50: by Rita (new) - rated it 4 stars

Rita Costa (Lusitania Geek) Love, Love, Love this book of Stephen King ! Such a good one, i also saw the mini serie, starring with James Franco as the main actor. :)


« previous 1
back to top