Fonch's Reviews > The Game of Kings

The Game of Kings by Dorothy Dunnett
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
8647009
's review

did not like it

Ladies and gentlemen, if you have had the opportunity to read my previous review. You will see that this book, which I am ready to analyze is the opposite of the books of Frank G. Slaughter, especially"No greater love" https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3... https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... (I mean one thing, from my previous review, although I have published it in the Spanish version. The book is in English, and can be easily obtained). There are three major differences between Dorothy Dunnett's book https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... and Frank G. Slaughter's book https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... The first of these is the extent, while Frank g. Slaughter's book is short, and accessible to Dorothy Dunnett's is very extensive. 2nd difference is the follow-up, which has had the saga of Frank G. Slaughter and the one that has had the novel by Dorothy Dunnett. Thousands of people have read Dorothy Dunnett's novel, and instead very few users have Frank G. Slaughter's novel and 3rd While Dorothy Dunnett's novel has one of the highest goodread ratings. Frank G. Slaugther's tender novel has a very low rating.
This is due to the phenomenon, which I called the one-dimensional man coined by the left-wing philosopher, and one of the ideologues of May '68 Herbert Marcuse https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... I mean that one person basis the quality of a book not only by its judgment, but by that of others. I almost wanted to use a quote from the saint and chancellor Sir Thomas Moro/e when Cardinal Wolsey asked him if he was an idiot for opposing a disposition of his, and to be the only dissenting vow https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4... https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... I think, it's good, that it's the only fool among users of goodreads. Because i'm going to take the opposite against Dorothy Dunnett's fans. This book I started reading last year, and it bored me so much, that I didn't go past the first forty pages, and I abandoned it. In theory the story is very interesting. It's the story of an alleged bandit, who has betrayed his family and sold himself to the English. Although Dorothy Dunnett's reference is Sir. Walter Scott https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... in fact one of Buccleauth's Wat characters, who is Sheriff, maybe it's a joint of Scott, who by the way has a discipline problem with his son (John if my memories haven't betrayed). Apart from that bandit a kind of emulation of Dick Turpin https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... in fact one of Buccleauth's Wat characters, who is Sheriff, is perhaps a follow of Scott, who by the way has a discipline problem with his son (John if my memories have not betrayed me). Apart from the bandit a kind of emulation of Dick Turpin https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3... , Robin Hood, or Rob Roy Mcgregor https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5... but me whom Francis reminded me most of Lymond is Robert Louis Stevenson's Lord of Ballantrae https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2... the relationship between the brothers because of the supposed betrayal of the brothers is identical. The problem is that, with the exception of the erudite and contemporary quotes, which the author puts in the mouth of the characters, and the fact that this novel was raised as a game of chess was what captivated me from pamies' edited book. But it's undeniable, and very boring. What interests me least are the domestic messes of the Lymonds, and the Scotts. If he has been unfaithful to his brother (he gives me, that Richard instead of going to war, and chasing his alleged treacherous brother) what he should have done is make love to his wife (let the feminists forgive me) , but for the novel it gives me, that's the problem. Regarding The son of Bucleuth everything is cured with a good lashing, so that he has laged the zagal. The portrayal of Margaret Douglas as a treacherous, dangerous, wicked femme without Barbara Stamwyck's charm is attractive, but unless you want to play the game practiced by Ken Follet https://www.goodreads.com/author/show..., and apostats like Hilary Mantel https://www.goodreads.com/author/show..., or Hindus sold to Hollywood's creeping secularism like Shekar Kapur. Every mildly sensity historian realizes it is not the paradise of tolerance that Ken Follet preaches to us, following his master the Welsh socialist nationalist Raymond Williams (about this character you can read if you read Roger Scruton's book https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2... https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... if you want to know the history of England read to Lord Acton, G.K. Chesterton https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9... Hilaire Belloc https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... and not people who have corrupted and tainted the office of historian by serving false, lying, and totalitarian ideologies like the gentlemen quoted above. So for me I know of the exploits of the Tudors. We are surprised what Dorothy Dunnett tells me C.J. Sansom tells https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... that Henry VIII is the Stalin of the time https://www.goodreads.com/series/4959... However I was in this novel out of friendship with my friend Elena Maria Vidal https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... let's say, that while I was read my novel my love for Scotland was fading a little. No, it's just that the novel was long, tedious, and boring. It's just that he was tainted by the elements of the Black Legend. https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9... Hilaire Belloc https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... and not people who have corrupted and tainted the office of historian by serving false, lying, and totalitarian ideologies like the gentlemen quoted above. So for me I know of the exploits of the Tudors. We are surprised what Dorothy Dunnett tells me C.J. Sansom tells https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... that Henry VIII is the Stalin of the time https://www.goodreads.com/series/4959... However I was in this novel out of friendship with my friend Elena Maria Vidal https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... let's say, that while I was read my novel my love for Scotland was fading a little. No, it's just that the novel was long, tedious, and boring. It is that on top of that it was contaminated by the elements of the Black Legend (para solucionar este problema recomendamos la lectura de los siguientes libros, y escritores https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3... https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2... Así que antes de hablar mal de España, por favor léalos antes, gracias). Dorothy Dunnett's treatment of Spanish soldiers is regrettable. He considers them scum, almost devoid of dignity. How far away is the image of Juan Ramirez Villalobos of the Highlanders. Rusell Mulcahy, and Christopher Lambert were closer to the prototype of middle-16th-century Spanish than this so-party writer of historical novels does. It is true, that the final part of the novel the last fifth begins to animate the thing, and it is a little more entertaining, but it was necessary to torture the viewer, and to bring down so many poor trees of the Amazon, to reach this outcome. Scott had the same flaw, but in his favor his final thirds were masterful. Dorothy Dunett only seems to copy Scott's badstuff. Besides, the ending is very unoriginal, and if you're predictable to me. Nor is it that the historical paintings of Mary of Guisa, the adorable girl and future queen Mary Stuart are anything from the other world. Dorothy Dunnett, she can't even get to the tip of the shoes for the Finnish colossus Mika Waltari https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... and she's not the best Scottish novelist I've ever read. I think of Nigel Tranter https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... though it seems to me, that his Gray is a bit of a show off. So, although in a minority I can only describe "Game of Kings" as a product, soporific, boring, and heavy, and I don't think, it encourages me to read the rest of the volumes that have Lanyon's Francis Crawford as the protagonist. My next reading "The Psychoanalyst" by John Katzenbach https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6... was also a failure, but deserves a review to be written in his honor.
6 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Game of Kings.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

November 18, 2018 – Started Reading
June 26, 2019 –
page 9
1.42% (Hardcover Edition)
June 28, 2019 –
page 12
1.89% (Hardcover Edition)
July 18, 2019 –
page 14
2.2% (Hardcover Edition)
July 18, 2019 –
page 23
3.62% (Hardcover Edition)
July 18, 2019 –
page 53
8.35% (Hardcover Edition)
July 18, 2019 –
page 101
15.91% (Hardcover Edition)
July 18, 2019 –
page 151
23.78% (Hardcover Edition)
July 18, 2019 –
page 151
23.78% (Hardcover Edition)
July 19, 2019 –
page 200
31.5% (Hardcover Edition)
July 19, 2019 –
page 250
39.37% (Hardcover Edition)
July 19, 2019 –
page 301
47.4% (Hardcover Edition)
July 20, 2019 –
page 355
55.91% (Hardcover Edition)
July 20, 2019 –
page 401
63.15% (Hardcover Edition)
July 20, 2019 –
page 500
78.74% (Hardcover Edition)
July 21, 2019 –
page 526
82.83% (Hardcover Edition)
July 21, 2019 –
page 635
100.0% (Hardcover Edition)
September 21, 2019 – Finished Reading
September 24, 2019 – Shelved

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Fonch Damas y caballeros, si ustedes han tenido la oportunidad de leer mi crítica anterior. Verán que este libro, que me dispongo a analizar es lo opuesto a los libros de Frank G. Slaughter, especialmente a “No greater love” https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3... https://www.goodreads.com/review/show... (quiero decir una cosa, de mi crítica anterior, aunque la he publicado en la versión española. El libro está en inglés, y se puede conseguir con facilidad). Existen tres grandes diferencias entre el libro de Dorothy Dunnett https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... y el libro de Frank G. Slaughter https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... La primera de ellas es la extensión, mientras el libro de Frank g. Slaughter es corto, y accesible el de Dorothy Dunnett es muy extenso. 2ª diferencia el seguimiento, que ha tenido la saga de Frank G. Slaughter y el que ha tenido la novela de Dorothy Dunnett. Miles de personas han leído la novela de Dorothy Dunnett, y en cambio muy pocos usuarios la novela de Frank G. Slaughter y 3º Mientras la novela de Dorothy Dunnett tiene uno de los ratings más altos de goodreads. La novela enternecedora de Frank G. Slaugther tiene un rating muy bajo.
Esto se debe al fenómeno, que yo denominó como del hombre unidimensional acuñado por el filósofo de izquierdas, y uno de los ideólogos de Mayo del 68 Herbert Marcuse https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... Es decir que una persona base la calidad de un libro no sólo por su criterio, sino por el de los demás. Casi me dan las ganas de utilizar una cita del santo y canciller Sir Thomas Moro/e cuando el Cardenal Wolsey le preguntó si era idiota por oponerse a una disposición suya, y ser el único voto disidente https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/4... https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... Creo, que es bueno, que sea el único necio entre los usuarios de goodreads. Porque pidiendo mis más humildes disculpas a los fans de Dorothy Dunnett voy a llevarles la contraria.
Este libro empecé a leerlo el año pasado, y me aburrió tanto, que no pase de las primeras cuarenta páginas, y lo abandone. En teoría la historia es muy interesante. Es la historia de un presunto bandido, que ha traicionado a su familia y se ha vendido a los ingleses. Aunque la referencia de Dorothy Dunnett es Sir. Walter Scott https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... de hecho uno de los personajes Wat de Buccleauth, que es Sheriff, quizás sea un trasunto de Scott, que por cierto tiene un problema de disciplina con su hijo (John si mis recuerdos no me han traicionado). A parte de que el bandido una especie de emulo de Dick Turpin https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3... , Robin Hood, o Rob Roy Mcgregor https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5... pero a mí a quien más me recordó Francis de Lymond es al Señor de Ballantrae de Robert Louis Stevenson https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2... la relación entre los hermanos debido a la supuesta traición de los hermanos es idéntica. El problema es que, salvo las citas eruditas y contemporáneas, que la autora pone en boca de los personajes, y el hecho de que esta novela se plantee como una partida de ajedrez fue lo que me cautivó del libro editado de Pamies. Pero es que es infumable, y aburridísima. Lo que menos me interesan son los líos domésticos de los Lymond, y de los Scott. Si le ha sido infiel a su hermano (me da a mí, que Richard en lugar de irse a la guerra, y perseguir a su presunto traicionero hermano) lo que tenía que haber hecho es hacerle el amor a su mujer (que me perdonen las feministas), pero por la novela me da a mí, que ese es el problema. Respecto al hijo de Bucleuth todo se cura con unos buenos azotes, para que espabile el zagal. El retrato que hace de Margaret Douglas, como una femme fatal traicionera, peligrosa, y malvada sin el encanto de Barbara Stamwyck es atractivo, pero salvo que se quiera jugar al juego que practican Ken Follet https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... , y apostatas como Hilary Mantel https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... , o hinduistas vendido al secularismo rastrero de Hollywood como Shekar Kapur. Todo historiador medianamente sensato se da cuenta no es el paraíso de la tolerancia que nos predica Ken Follet, siguiendo a su maestro el nacionalista galés socialista Raymond Williams (sobre este personaje podrán leer si leen el libro de Roger Scruton https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2... https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... si ustedes quieren conocer la historia de Inglaterra lean a Lord Acton, G.K. Chesterton https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9... Hilaire Belloc https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... y no a gente que han corrompido y mancillado el oficio de historiador por servir a ideologías falsas, mentirosas, y totalitarias como los caballeros antes citados. Por lo que para mí que sé de las hazañas de los Tudor. Nos es una sorpresa lo que me cuenta Dorothy Dunnett ya lo dice C.J. Sansom https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... que Enrique VIII es el Stalin de la época https://www.goodreads.com/series/4959... Sin embargo yo que estaba en esta novela por amistad con mi amiga Elena Maria Vidal https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... digamos, que mientras leía mi novela mi amor por Escocia se iba desvaneciendo un poco. No, sólo es que la novela fuera larga, tediosa, y aburrida. Es que encima estaba contaminado por los elementos de la Leyenda Negra (para solucionar este problema recomendamos la lectura de los siguientes libros, y escritores https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/3... https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/2... Así que antes de hablar mal de España, por favor léalos


Fonch antes, gracias) . El tratamiento, que Dorothy Dunnett hace de los soldados españoles es lamentable. Les considera escoria, casi carente de dignidad. Que lejos queda la imagen de Juan Ramírez Villalobos de los Highlanders. Rusell Mulcahy, y Christopher Lambert se acercaban más al prototipo del español medio del siglo XVI de lo que lo hace esta presunta escritora de novelas históricas.
Es verdad, que la parte final de la novela el último quinto se empieza animar la cosa, y es un poco más entretenido, pero era necesario torturar al espectador, y derribar tantos pobres arbolitos del Amazonas, para llegar a este desenlace. Scott tenía el mismo defecto, pero en su favor sus tercios finales eran magistrales. Dorothy Dunett sólo parece copiar lo malo de Scott. Además, el final es muy poco original, y si me apuras predecible. Tampoco es que los cuadros históricos de María de Guisa, la adorable niña y futura reina María Estuardo sean nada del otro mundo. Dorothy Dunnett, no le llega ni a la punta de los zapatos al coloso finés Mika Waltari https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... y tampoco es la mejor novelista escocesa que he leído. Pienso en Nigel Tranter https://www.goodreads.com/author/show... aunque me parece, que su Gray es un poco fantasma.
Por lo que, aunque en minoría sólo puedo calificar “Juego de reyes” como un producto, soporífero, aburrido, y pesado, y no creo, que me anime a leer el resto de los volúmenes que tienen a Francis Crawford de Lanyon como protagonista. Mi siguiente lectura “El psicoanalista” de John Katzenbach https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/6... también fue un fracaso, pero merece que una crítica sea escrita en su honor.


message 3: by booklady (new)

booklady Fonch,

I am glad that I'm not the only one who found Dunnett boring! I tried to read this series several times but never could get into it. Now from what you write, I am SO glad I didn't waste any more time than I did. Great review! I'd give you a few more 'like's if I could! 😊 👍


Fonch booklady wrote: "Fonch,

I am glad that I'm not the only one who found Dunnett boring! I tried to read this series several times but never could get into it. Now from what you write, I am SO glad I didn't waste any..."


Dear Booklady. It is not the worst book that i have read this year. Mr. Tchaikovski, and Mr. Dan Brown has this honor, but it is the borest book of this year, although improves only a bit to the ending. But they get bored 9/10 part of the book. Besides the ending is predictable.


message 5: by booklady (new)

booklady I have never read anything by Tchaikovski, but I did have the experience of reading one book by Brown and that was enough.


Fonch booklady wrote: "I have never read anything by Tchaikovski, but I did have the experience of reading one book by Brown and that was enough."

It is a writer of fantasy and science fiction i did not like his book.


message 7: by booklady (new)

booklady Thanks! 😊


Fonch booklady wrote: "Thanks! 😊"

It does not matter :-).


back to top