Jon Gauthier's Reviews > The Computational Beauty of Nature: Computer Explorations of Fractals, Chaos, Complex Systems, and Adaptation

The Computational Beauty of Nature by Gary William Flake
Rate this book
Clear rating
Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Computational Beauty of Nature.
Sign In »

Quotes Jon Liked

“If we increase r [in a logistic map] even more, we will eventually force the system into a period-8 limit cycle, then a period-16 cycle, and so on. The amount that we have to increase r to get another period doubling gets smaller and smaller for each new bifurcation. This cascade of period doublings is reminiscent of the race between Achilles and the tortoise, in that an infinite number of bifurcations (or time steps in the race) can be confined to a local region of finite size. At a very special critical value, the dynamical system will fall into what is essentially an infinite-period limit cycle. This is chaos.”
Gary William Flake, The Computational Beauty of Nature: Computer Explorations of Fractals, Chaos, Complex Systems, and Adaptation


Reading Progress

March 20, 2012 – Shelved
March 20, 2012 – Shelved as: mind-tickling
August 20, 2012 – Shelved as: programming
August 20, 2012 –
page 12
2.33%
August 25, 2012 –
page 58
11.28% "Loving this! Mind-bending and I'm only 11% through. Much of the CS content in this first section seemed unnecessary / trivial, but the math was challenging for me. I suppose the writing is aimed at novices in both fields!"
August 27, 2012 –
page 66
12.84% "Fractals!"
August 27, 2012 –
page 78
15.18% "Slowly.."
September 1, 2012 –
page 111
21.6%
September 1, 2012 –
page 129
25.1% "Chapter 8 blew my mind.. this book might deserve 6 stars overall at this point. I will be playing with Julia and Mandelbrot sets for the rest of the weekend!"
September 2, 2012 –
page 129
25.1% "Just got the code built — I had to use a Linux VM because there were some includes from the kernel and X11."
September 2, 2012 –
page 150
29.18%
September 3, 2012 –
page 168
32.68%
September 3, 2012 –
page 181
35.21%
September 16, 2012 –
page 203
39.49%
September 29, 2012 –
page 211
41.05% "Found a tiny bit of time this weekend to read some CBN. I need to prepare myself, though, before I dive into OGY control.. looks scary."
September 29, 2012 –
page 222
43.19% "That didn't go too well.. need to try again later when I am more mathematically capable. Oh well—proceeding for now."
October 14, 2012 –
page 261
50.78% "Cellular automata!"
October 16, 2012 –
page 281
54.67%
October 21, 2012 – Shelved as: chaos
October 27, 2012 –
page 336
65.37%
November 4, 2012 –
page 383
74.51%

No comments have been added yet.