Muphyn's Reviews > The Notebook

The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1253753
's review

did not like it
bookshelves: audiobooks, fiction, fluffy-beach-reads, usa
Recommended to Muphyn by: Miss Bookiverse

Besides the awful writing style (just to mention unimaginative, spiritless and full of clichés), I found the story just a little too contrived and far too predictable. I couldn't get over the premise where Noah and Allie meet when they are teenagers, spend one summer together and meet again after 14 years to realise they are still utterly in love?! What?!

It irritated me to no end that Sparks felt the need to not leave anything unexplained, describing things in excruciating detail, boring me but more so putting me off reading any of his other books. In the end it just felt like it was dragging on and on and on - I just wanted it to end.

Also, since I listened to the audio version I must say that the choice for the reader of the audio book isn't the most brilliant one. His voice is kind of suited for the old Noah but his imitation of a young Allie is just really off-putting. Plus, he's got that kind of voice that makes me want to fall asleep straight away. Combine that with the terrible style and plot, this book can only be described as indigestible. No more Nicholas Sparks for me, thank you!
48 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Notebook.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 10, 2008 – Shelved
August 17, 2008 – Shelved as: audiobooks
Started Reading
August 28, 2008 – Finished Reading
October 13, 2008 – Shelved as: fiction
December 7, 2008 – Shelved as: fluffy-beach-reads
July 14, 2016 – Shelved as: usa

Comments Showing 1-24 of 24 (24 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Miss Bookiverse hast du den Film gesehen? HAb ich schon wieder vergessen. Kann dir übrigens das Hörbuch bieten ;D


Muphyn Hoerbuch hattu mir schon letztes Jahr gegeben - find ich aber nich so toll, weil eine RIESENdatei.. :( und nee, hab Film noch nicht gesehen, hast du mich grade letztens gefragt, du Schusselhuhn!


Miss Bookiverse Oh achso ^^ Hast du bei deinem iRiver nicht so ne Funktion, dass er sich die Position deines Tracks merkt?
ja, aber ich konnte mich nicht an die Antwort erinnern. auf jeden fall weißt du dann aber auch schon, dass du den mal gucken sollst ;)


Muphyn ja, doch er merkt sich das, aber ich bin immer so ein schussel, dass ich mal schnell woanders drauf druecke und dann ist die Merkstelle weg und blabla... :( deswegen sind so einzelne Kapitel besser, weil dann brauch ich nich ewig "vorspulen"...


Miss Bookiverse du bist ja ein dusselfussel


Miss Bookiverse jetzt doch ja? :)


Muphyn ja, hab's auf CD gebrannt und hoer's jetzt im Auto, dh nur im Auto, und bin schon fast durch... bisher find ich's aber nicht sooo toll.. :(


Miss Bookiverse hmm, hab das hörbuch ja nicht gehört, vllt ist der film besser?!?


message 9: by Muphyn (last edited Aug 22, 2008 04:02AM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Muphyn und jetzt ist meine Meinung ja grad zutiefst im Keller!! also nee also nee... die Geschichte ist schon mal echt nicht so prall und dann sooo 'ne detallierten Beschreibungen von was, was ich gar nicht wissen will... *kopfschuettel*

ich glaube das ist ein Fall von "Film ist besser"...


message 10: by Miss Bookiverse (new)

Miss Bookiverse oooh, das wusste ich nicht, dass da so was drin steht, was dein sanftes gemüt nicht verträgt =/
also erst mal Abstand nehmen, vergessen und dann irgendwann Film genießen ;)


Muphyn nee, will's jetzt auch zu Ende hoeren, aber begeistert bin ich nicht... so die ganzen Liebesszenen find ich total unnoetig detailliert beschrieben... blablabla... es gibt ja auch noch Fantasie, da muss man dem Leser nicht alles erklaeren. :( bäh.


message 12: by Miss Bookiverse (new)

Miss Bookiverse Na ja, im Film steht da keiner und erklärt xD


Muphyn na dann ist ja gut. :)


message 14: by Muphyn (last edited Sep 30, 2008 10:25PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Muphyn Ich weiss nicht, ob ich's besser gefunden haette, wenn ich's gelesen haette - die Stimme von dem Vorleser war jedenfalls einfach nur schrecklich.

Und ich fand die Handlung einfach nur so unglaubwuerdig... wenn die beiden aelter gewesen waeren, vielleicht so 19, 20 Jahre und sich dann zehn Jahre spaeter wieder getroffen haetten, haette das die ganze Sache sehr viel besser gemacht, glaub ich. Und die Dialoge waren ja einfach nur mies!

Ach, ich weiss nich, irgendwie nur schmalzig... :) Hab zu viel Lebenserfahrung jetzt... hehe ;) aber den Film guck ich mir vielleicht mal an.


message 15: by Miss Bookiverse (new)

Miss Bookiverse Wie alt sind die denn im Buch? Weil im Film wirken die eh wie 18/19 (obwohl sie glaube ich 17 sein sollten), weil die Schauspieler eh schon ... 25?? sind ;D


Muphyn 14 und 15 erst!!! deswegen fand ich das so beschraenkt und unglaubwuerdig!!


message 17: by Miss Bookiverse (new)

Miss Bookiverse Oooh, ja, das ist wirklich etwas hmmm ... das wirkt im Film wirklich besser. Ich bein beeindruckt, einmal ist der Film tatsächlich besser als das Buch :P


Martina Villarreal I totally agree with you about the awful writing style!!


Muphyn Martina wrote: "I totally agree with you about the awful writing style!!"

Yeah, I still remember it now and it's been a while since I've read it!! Gee, I still remember the waffling and excruciating detail... Glad I'm not the only one! ;)


message 20: by Sara (new) - rated it 1 star

Sara Ugh, THANK YOU!
And seriously... the last book I read with that much God-awful description was one by Tolkein and it was almost 500 pages long. My copy of The Notebook was 213 pages long and somehow still felt like an 800-pager. It just shows you how little he had to write about if he can use that much description and still only get 213 pages out of it.

I have had nearly all of his books on my shelf at one point and have only finished two of them... all the rest I have given away about halfway through.


Muphyn Wow, Sara, I'm amazed you actually gave his books more than one go!! :) I'm not sure I ever want to touch Nicolas Sparks again, one was enough, thank you... :)


message 22: by MrsER (new) - rated it 1 star

MrsER I don't think I could have put it better: "unimaginative, spiritless and full of clichés"! Absolutely to the point. You're not alone, Muphyn!


Muphyn MrsRK wrote: "I don't think I could have put it better: "unimaginative, spiritless and full of clichés"! Absolutely to the point. You're not alone, Muphyn!"

Haha, thanks MrsRK! It's been so long since I read that I can basically not remember a thing (other than that I thought it was incredibly boring).


message 24: by MrsER (new) - rated it 1 star

MrsER Muphyn wrote: "It's been so long since I read that I can basically not remember a thing"

Sometimes the best thing is to forget a bad experience...
;-)


back to top