orangerful's Reviews > Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know about the People We Don't Know

Talking to Strangers by Malcolm Gladwell
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
314247
's review

liked it
bookshelves: adult, adult_w_ya_appeal, audiobook, nonfiction, american_studies

I'm going to give this 3 stars because it felt like a bunch of Gladwell's podcasts stuck together with a flimsy connecting theme. I liked all of them individually, but I really didn't feel like the thesis statement of the book, the TITLE of the book really represented what the book was actually about.

A good listen though, well produced audiobook. Just think the title should have been something else.
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Talking to Strangers.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

September 10, 2019 – Shelved
September 10, 2019 – Shelved as: to-read
September 25, 2019 – Started Reading
September 25, 2019 – Shelved as: adult
September 25, 2019 – Shelved as: adult_w_ya_appeal
September 25, 2019 – Shelved as: audiobook
September 25, 2019 – Shelved as: nonfiction
September 25, 2019 – Shelved as: american_studies
September 25, 2019 –
2.0% "Started this on my drive home and Gladwell is giving the audio edition a podcast twist, using the real audio quotes from people mentioned in the book where possible and also adding a "theme song"."
September 26, 2019 –
10.0% "I wasn't sure how I felt about the historical audio clips being included in this audio book but I think it is important to hear the inflection and tone of Neville Chamberlain's statements as much as it is to read them."
October 7, 2019 –
50.0% "I am enjoying each individual story in this book, but I'm not 100% sure the theme of "how to talk to strangers" is working for me."
October 11, 2019 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.