Ben Babcock's Reviews > The Return of the Native

The Return of the Native by Thomas Hardy
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1188122
's review

really liked it
bookshelves: 2019-read, 19th-century, british-historical, literary-pretentious, own, romance, victorian-fiction
Read 2 times. Last read August 31, 2019 to September 5, 2019.

I'm not sure if I reviewed the wrong edition last time, or if I bought another copy of The Return of the Native a while back having forgotten I read it 3 years ago (my bookshelves are still in the disarray of nonexistence for now, so I'm not sure I know where all my Hardys are).

Anyway, I’ll direct you to my review from 2016. It’s remarkable how similar my reactions were during this second reading. I immediately noticed Hardy’s obsessive descriptions of the heath. I once again thought the plot took too long to get going.

I’m actually very proud of the first review—it took a book I didn’t really “get” and helped me like it better for the thinking about it.

Even though this isn’t one of my favourite Hardy novels, it was still nice to spend some time back in Wessex. I was having a downer weekend, and I enjoy reading Hardy when I’m blue, because no matter how bad off I am, his characters have got it worse.
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Return of the Native.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

June 10, 2016 – Started Reading (Other Paperback Edition)
June 10, 2016 – Shelved (Other Paperback Edition)
June 12, 2016 –
page 496
100% (Other Paperback Edition)
June 12, 2016 – Finished Reading (Other Paperback Edition)
June 16, 2016 – Shelved as: 2016-read (Other Paperback Edition)
June 16, 2016 – Shelved as: 19th-century (Other Paperback Edition)
June 16, 2016 – Shelved as: british-historical (Other Paperback Edition)
June 16, 2016 – Shelved as: literary-pretent... (Other Paperback Edition)
June 16, 2016 – Shelved as: own (Other Paperback Edition)
June 16, 2016 – Shelved as: romance (Other Paperback Edition)
June 16, 2016 – Shelved as: victorian-fiction (Other Paperback Edition)
August 31, 2019 – Started Reading
August 31, 2019 – Shelved
September 4, 2019 –
page 448
100.0%
September 5, 2019 – Shelved as: 2019-read
September 5, 2019 – Shelved as: 19th-century
September 5, 2019 – Shelved as: british-historical
September 5, 2019 – Shelved as: literary-pretentious
September 5, 2019 – Shelved as: own
September 5, 2019 – Shelved as: romance
September 5, 2019 – Shelved as: victorian-fiction
September 5, 2019 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.