Shawna's Reviews > Where the Blame Lies

Where the Blame Lies by Mia Sheridan
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
1802746
's review

liked it
bookshelves: author-mia-sheridan, cop-bodyguard-govop-merc-military, heroine-abused-traumatic-past-rape, heroine-uber-damaged-scarred, romantic-suspense, romantic-thriller, serial-killer-on-the-loose, 2019-reads, all-work-no-play-on-the-job-romance, angsty-dark-heavy-lotsa-drama, captive-kidnapped-hostage-slave, controversial-memorable-event-scene, crime-mystery-suspense-thriller-fic, dark-suspense, dark-twisted-disturbing-gritty, format-kindle, format-source-kindle-unlimited, hero-protective, hero-sweet, hero-beta, hh-broken-tortured-souls, hh-disfigured-injured-scarred-ill, hh-endured-traumatic-past-asurvivor, hh-physical-mental-disability-ill, hh-post-traumatic-stress-disorder, hh-story-angst-drama-galore, hh-story-soap-opera-melodrama, i-read-kindle, i-read-kindle-unlimited, made-me-cry, made-me-angry-pissed-me-off, made-me-feel-manipulated-emotions, made-me-ugly-sob-bawl-like-baby, pregnancy-fertility-baby-kids-drama, story-plot-jumbled, tearjerker-tugs-at-heartstrings, villain-creepy-azz-killer, villain-uber-bad-nasty, violence-not-for-the-faint-hearted, 3-to-4-stars

3.5 stars - Romantic Suspense

This one is hard to rate/review because my feelings about it are sort of mixed. I was sucked into the story, and the suspense aspect was gripping and kept me guessing.

But the extreme torture and brutality that the heroine endures is graphic and really hard to read about. (view spoiler) I just didn’t feel like someone who endured such intensive, traumatic abuse like Josie did would be as well adjusted, and it never really mentions her receiving counseling/therapy.

I liked the hero, Zach, and I rooted for him and Josie together. I did bawl my eyes out toward the end when (view spoiler). The epilogue was bittersweet and touching, but I didn’t like that (view spoiler) Overall, I liked this, but it’s heartbreaking and gutwrenching at times and not an easy read.
21 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Where the Blame Lies.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

August 23, 2019 – Shelved
August 23, 2019 – Shelved as: to-read
August 23, 2019 – Shelved as: author-mia-sheridan
August 23, 2019 – Shelved as: cop-bodyguard-govop-merc-military
August 23, 2019 – Shelved as: heroine-abused-traumatic-past-rape
August 23, 2019 – Shelved as: heroine-uber-damaged-scarred
August 23, 2019 – Shelved as: romantic-suspense
August 23, 2019 – Shelved as: romantic-thriller
August 23, 2019 – Shelved as: serial-killer-on-the-loose
September 16, 2019 – Started Reading
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: 2019-reads
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: all-work-no-play-on-the-job-romance
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: angsty-dark-heavy-lotsa-drama
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: captive-kidnapped-hostage-slave
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: controversial-memorable-event-scene
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: crime-mystery-suspense-thriller-fic
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: dark-suspense
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: dark-twisted-disturbing-gritty
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: format-kindle
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: format-source-kindle-unlimited
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hero-protective
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hero-sweet
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hero-beta
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hh-broken-tortured-souls
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hh-disfigured-injured-scarred-ill
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hh-endured-traumatic-past-asurvivor
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hh-physical-mental-disability-ill
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hh-post-traumatic-stress-disorder
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hh-story-angst-drama-galore
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: hh-story-soap-opera-melodrama
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: i-read-kindle
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: i-read-kindle-unlimited
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: made-me-cry
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: made-me-angry-pissed-me-off
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: made-me-feel-manipulated-emotions
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: made-me-ugly-sob-bawl-like-baby
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: pregnancy-fertility-baby-kids-drama
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: story-plot-jumbled
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: tearjerker-tugs-at-heartstrings
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: villain-creepy-azz-killer
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: violence-not-for-the-faint-hearted
September 17, 2019 – Shelved as: villain-uber-bad-nasty
September 17, 2019 – Finished Reading
September 18, 2019 – Shelved as: 3-to-4-stars

Comments Showing 1-8 of 8 (8 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Anne OK Mmmm -- I had higher hopes for this one. Have it on my Kindle already so I'll push forward and see what happens. I'm a big fan of romantic suspense.


☆.。.:*・°☆Love2Read♡HEAs☆.。.:*・°☆ {Anne} I see you only rated the book a "3" Shawna. Did you think it could've been better? I'm reading it now so I want to get your opinion. I'm halfway through it, and honestly, I'm a bit disappointed. I'm used to Mia's books being OTT, so maybe I'm just expecting too much?


Shawna I just added my review. It hooked me, but it was a very heavy, emotional read.


☆.。.:*・°☆Love2Read♡HEAs☆.。.:*・°☆ {Anne} Then I hope it gets better. Her book, Savage, was RomSusp also, and I thought it was brilliant!


Michelle Damron I totally agree with you Shawna!


Shawna I read your review, Michelle, and it sounds like we had the same feelings about this one!


message 7: by Aisling Zena (new)

Aisling Zena Great review Shawna! :)


Shawna Thanks, Aisling!


back to top