Kristen's Reviews > Sheltered

Sheltered by Charlotte Stein
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
5477946
3 1/2 to 4 stars
 
There are many things about Sheltered that I loved. It's sensual, emotional, heartbreaking, touching, erotic, and humorous, all wrapped together in a tender and passionate love story. However, there were a few things about this book that bothered me and, unfortunately, I just wasn't able to look past them. 

My main gripe with this story, frankly, is my own personal issue. I do not enjoy books that concentrate on character narrative more than character dialogue. I love stories full of emotional, witty, and engaging dialogue. Van and Evie, when allowed to converse, were fascinating and delightful together. Because of that, I was disappointed with how little dialogue this book had. In addition, there were times the heroine's internal rambling got on my nerves, and I really disliked the vulgar porn star inner voice Evie had throughout this book. Her character was sheltered, innocent, and naïve. She had very little worldly knowledge, and I had a hard time reconciling her two opposing personas.

That being said, this book is full of wonderful characterization, smoldering UST, passionate romance, erotic love scenes, and two very endearing characters. I loved the hero and heroine—Van, the rebellious, tattooed punk; and Evie, the sheltered, naïve girl-next-door—two very different individuals who were more alike than not. I simply loved watching them open up, trust, and accept each other. Together they lit up the pages, in more ways than one, and made this book worth reading.
42 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Sheltered.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

03/15/2012
3.0% "After reading 9 Kristen Ashley books in a row, I'm having a hard time adjusting to reading a book that's actually well edited. It's crazy! LOL" 6 comments
03/15/2012
14.0% "I'm loving this book. I just want to crawl inside the pages and immerse myself in Van and Evie's world. I love books like this." 3 comments
03/16/2012
56.0% "The heroine is very sheltered and naive but has an inner voice that sometimes sounds like a porn star. That isn't working very well for me. BUT this book is definitely erotica. Erotica with lots of yummy characterization, and that more than works for me!"

Comments (showing 1-32 of 32) (32 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Dinjolina (last edited Mar 15, 2012 07:51PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Dinjolina The book is country restricted. :( And you made me want to buy it, you evil person, you :(
Is your copy lendable?


Kristen Oh no. Let me check.


Kristen It's loanable on Kindle. If you're in a different region that doesn't allow the book, I'm pretty sure it won't allow me to loan it to you. When I'm finished I can try but I've done this before with someone in a different region and it wouldn't allow me to loan a book that wasn't offered there. We can give it a try though.


message 4: by Dinjolina (last edited Mar 15, 2012 07:57PM) (new) - rated it 1 star

Dinjolina Nah. You would have to de-DRM it and then send it. And I can not ask you to go trough all that if you normally do not de-DMR your books. (I do, because the DRM just plain old pisses me off :))

But thanks for trying and the thought!


Kristen You're welcome. So sorry :(


Jill Looking forward to your review, Kristen!


message 7: by Kristen (last edited Mar 17, 2012 12:43AM) (new) - rated it 4 stars

Kristen Jill wrote: "Looking forward to your review, Kristen!"

It may be a little while. I'm starting the new KA book. Lol. I really liked this story, but what lowered the rating for me was the heavy narrative. I'm not a fan of a lot of narrative and this book was mostly narrative and little dialogue. That bummed me out because Van and Evie were so fun to read when they talking.


Karla Great review Kristen. I did end up buying the book, so I'm going to give it a shot. I like lots of dialogue in my books too, so I hope that there is enough story there to hold my interest!


Kristen There's a lot more dialogue toward the end of the book, which I loved. Also, I've read a lot of KA lately( as you know. Lol) and KA is the queen of dialogue. It was hard not to compare, you know? I think you'll love this book. I'd read it before jumping back on the KA train.


Anna (Bobs Her Hair) Great review, Kristen! I'm curious about the book now. LOL.


Riverina Romantics I'm a dialogue fan too. Great review babe.


Kristen Anna wrote: "Great review, Kristen! I'm curious about the book now. LOL."

Thanks Anna. It's a good book and I loved the charaters.


Kristen Jodie wrote: "I'm a dialogue fan too. Great review babe."

Thank you, Jodie. Even though too much narrative is kinda a pet peeve, I still have the book pretty high marks. It's a good book with great characters.


message 14: by Baba (new)

Baba  Her character was sheltered, innocent, and naïve. She had very little worldly knowledge, and I had a hard time reconciling her two opposing personas.
I completely understand why this could bother a reader, Kristen. Wonderful review!


Kristen Thank you, Baba. I liked the book but it had issues.


Kristen Mary Elizabeth wrote: "nicely said Kris :)"

Thank you, Mary.


message 17: by Lisa Kay (last edited Mar 20, 2012 05:12AM) (new)

Lisa Kay Great review, Kristen! I agree about books with great dialogues - that don't have enough of them! Grrrh... Sounds like the heroine had a bipolar thing going on - but just inside her?


Melanie Nice review Kristen! I always enjoy getting your take on books :)


Kristen Lisa Kay wrote: "Great review, Kristen! I agree about books with great dialogues - that don't have enough of them! Grrrh... Sounds like the heroine had a bipolar thing going on - but just inside her?"

Thanks Lisa. Yes, she had some bipolar going on and as a reader you could tell her character wouldn't have been that way had the author not taken that liberty. Does that make sense?


Kristen Melanie wrote: "Nice review Kristen! I always enjoy getting your take on books :)"

Thank you so much Melanie.


message 21: by Emily (new)

Emily Minton I've said it before, and I'll say it again.... Kristen Ashley ruins her readers. No other author can compare.


Kristen Emily wrote: "I've said it before, and I'll say it again.... Kristen Ashley ruins her readers. No other author can compare."

Very true!!


Mamma23 what Kristen Ashley books ruined you?? I would live to know!


Kristen Hi Mamma23. When I wrote this review, I was reading a lot of Kristen Ashley at the time. At this point, I wouldn't say she ruins other books for me, but I do feel she is one of the best storytellers I've read.

Even though this book didn't fully work for me–because of my issue with narrative–I loved Charlotte Stein's book Deep Desires. It's excellent!


message 25: by Kathleen (new)

Kathleen Insightful and honest review. As such, it's helpful to me. Thanks!


Kristen You're welcome, Kathleen. ((Hugs))


message 27: by Richa (new)

Richa Love the way you put it all together...in such a concise, honest and wonderful manner! Great review, Kristen!! :))


message 28: by Kathleen (last edited Jan 25, 2013 08:19AM) (new)

Kathleen Kristen wrote: "You're welcome, Kathleen. ((Hugs))"

My first hug of the morning, here in California! Aww...right back at ya! :-)


Kristen Richa wrote: "Love the way you put it all together...in such a concise, honest and wonderful manner! Great review, Kristen!! :))"

Thank you so much Richa. I really like this author, she's got a great voice. I just wish I liked narrative more.


Kristen Kathleen wrote: "Kristen wrote: "You're welcome, Kathleen. ((Hugs))"

My first hug of the morning, here in California! Aww...right back at ya! :-)"


I'm glad I was your first hug today. :)


message 31: by PJ (new) - rated it 4 stars

PJ I loved this story. And your review was perfect...I, too, disliked her porn thoughts. 'Less is more,' they say, and this was a tad much. But, otherwise, I just loved the characters...and Van specifically,


Kristen Thank you, PJ. I agree! I loved Van. He was a very lovable hero. <3


back to top