Avid Series Reader's Reviews > A Perfect Square

A Perfect Square by Vannetta Chapman
Rate this book
Clear rating

A Perfect Square by Vanetta Chapman is the second book of the Shipshewana Amish Quilt cozy mystery series set in contemporary Indiana. The protagonist in the first book, Falling to Pieces, was clearly Callie, the "Englisher" newcomer who inherited her aunt Daisy's quilt shop. In this sequel, the protagonist seems to shift to Deborah, Callie's Amish best friend.

When an Amish girl is found dead on Reuben's farm, he follows the Amish code of honor: he will not lie, nor will he incriminate a friend, so he remains silent, even after Shipshewana police arrest him for the girl's murder. Deborah is certain that Reuben did not kill the girl, and resolves to find out all the facts. Both Deborah and Callie are inquisitive and caring women. They want to resolve the case quickly, so Reuben can be freed, and all can enjoy the upcoming wedding of Esther and Tobias.

Deborah's investigation alternates chapters with a subplot that gradually reveals how and why the girl was in Shipshewana, and what happened to end her life.

Ira Bontrager, an elderly gentleman suffering from Alzheimer's, appears at the quilt shop one morning. He asks Callie to find his long-lost daughter. Bontrager's son tells Callie there is no such person, but she is kind-hearted enough to look into details of the 1965 tornado disaster.

A pleasant, heart-warming read with interesting details of Amish life as well as Indiana history.

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read A Perfect Square.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

Started Reading
July 14, 2019 – Finished Reading
July 20, 2019 – Shelved

No comments have been added yet.