❀❀Chikiboom❀❀'s Reviews > War

War by Laura Thalassa
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
61173395
POST READING THOUGHTS AND REVIEW FORM 07/26/19
Buddy read with The QT's
https://urlzs.com/7NVTX

description

I stayed up on the eve of July 11th until it went live so I downloaded and finished the same day. Fell in love with this book after the first couple of pages. It's quite large book and I read it all in about 12 hours, could not put the thing down. Definitely worth the buy!

Just one thing before I post my Buddy read review form. I'll follow the advice of Parvati, our buddy read organizer, and block all the negative reviews that don't make sense. I bet you many people just started to backlash this book hoping their vicious lies would gain momentum and they didn't even read the book. I did. And I stay categorically they're lying, I don't understand why, but I don't need people like that in my escapism place that is Goodreads.

Within the pages of this book, there's nothing, absolutely nothing...

... political anti-political
... religious anti-religious
... pro x ideology anti x ideology
... racist anti-racism.

It's just a paranormal romance.

The female main character is agnostic. Her mother was Jewish, her father was a Muslim and Miriam loved them both fiercely.

War, not the main character, but the real thing doesn't respect...
...creeds ...
... ethnicities...
...ages ...
... ideologies...
... countries...
... political postures...

... and this book reflects that. So I'm baffled about those people using their review space to lie about this book. I just don't get it.

So without further ado, here's my review form.

Characters: 4 stars
Both were way too stubborn, but I liked them. They are great together.

Character relationships: 4 stars
Just when things were getting interesting the book ended.

Pace: 6 stars
I didn't get bored once.

Steam: 1 stars
Just when things were getting good the book ended. I could have done without all the bj's of the first act.

Beginning: 4 stars
It went straight to the action, instead of getting to know Miriam and War. I'm a character-driven reader, and I like books better when things are the other way round.

Middle: 4 stars
It got a little bit repetitive, but it was never boring.

Ending: 6 stars
It was intense. I need Famine now.

Overall: 4 stars

Trigger warnings for cheating? rape?, gratuitous angst?):
No, kind of, no.
Graphic Violence. But you can infer that from the name of the book.

What I liked the most about War in 10 words or less:
War's feelings for Miriam.
War went from I would do almost everything for Miriam, except that. To I would do absolutely everything for Miriam, even that.

What I didn't like about War in 10 words or less:
War's pigheadedness.
I get it, he's here to kill people and frankly many deserved it, but if he could have at least listened to Miriam and see where she was coming from, if could have only seen her reasoning to stop him. He claimed to love her, but wouldn't do this thing for her, but if he had listened, the steamy moments would have been amazing.

My conclusion
Long story short read this book is well worth buying.

💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣💣
PREREADING UPDATES

07/03/2019 Update:

OFFICIAL PUBLICATION DATE: JULY 11
There won't be any pre-orders
Source:
http://www.laurathalassa.com/2019/07/...





Many of us are dying to get our hands on this one, and Goodreads had the wrong schedule date. Yesterday it was showing a January 1st release date.

To get the record straight on the publication date I'll say:

As of June 19th, 2019 there's no publication date, Laura Thalassa, the author says she's still editing. She will let us know when War is ready for publication.

I'll quote Laura Thalassa latest post on publication date

05/27/2019 Update: I've received a lot of questions about War's release date! Originally I was hoping for a May 2019 release, but edits have been taking longer than anticipated, so War will most likely release sometime in June 2019. I know this news blows for those of you who've been waiting on news about War's release. I promise I'm working hard to get this baby polished up, and honestly, I'm enjoying the sh*t out of the book while I do so. (Normally edits make me regret all my life choices, hehe!) On the positive side, the book right now is over 130,000 words, which is more than twice the length of some of my other books (which is partially why it's taking me so dang long to finish--it's much longer than anticipated). Nonetheless, I hope you can bear out these last few weeks with me! So, so, SO excited to share this one with you all!

Source:
https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...

Anyone anticipating this book should follow Laura Thalassa's blog. She probably will announce her publication date soon.

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show...

I recommend being patient. I don't like waiting, but I'd rather authors took their time editing.
42 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read War.
Sign In »

Quotes ❀❀Chikiboom❀❀ Liked

Laura Thalassa
“All religions want the same thing-salvation. We're all the same.”
Laura Thalassa, War


Reading Progress

Finished Reading
June 17, 2019 – Shelved
June 17, 2019 – Shelved as: to-read
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: apocalyptic
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: fantasy
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: kindle-unlimited
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: kindle-unlimited-fantasy
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: kindle-unlimited-dystopia
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: kindle-unlimited-romance
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: love
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: new-adult-fantasy
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: not-ya
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: smut
July 10, 2019 – Shelved as: paranormal

Comments Showing 1-21 of 21 (21 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

Parvati Patil Thank you!


Parvati Patil July 11th


Vicky I haven't seen you in a while. Is everything alright?


Tracy D. Great review! Social justice does not belong in my fantasy! Thank you!


 Ⓐℳⓨ ( pronounced Ⓐh-ℳeⓨ) ♔AntiExpensive books ProHiddengems Queen♔ Tracy wrote: "Social justice does not belong in my fantasy!"

EXACTLY!!!!!


 Ⓐℳⓨ ( pronounced Ⓐh-ℳeⓨ) ♔AntiExpensive books ProHiddengems Queen♔ I bet you many people just started to backlash this book hoping their vicious lies would gain momentum and they didn't even read the book.
AMYzing review Chiki-chan!!!!♥
I'm like a detective and spied on their shelves. They didn't read Pestilence, either. It was marked as read but unrated when I checked. Also coveniently, no highlights, quotations or anything in their "review." These people are trolls!!!!
*kisses block button*


Chantelle Well said


❀❀Chikiboom❀❀ Vicky wrote: "I haven't seen you in a while. Is everything alright?"

Everything is great, thanks. I went into a reading binge, that's all.


❀❀Chikiboom❀❀ Tracy wrote: "Great review! Social justice does not belong in my fantasy! Thank you!"

I stay away from the so-called SJW's. They're always everything but.


❀❀Chikiboom❀❀ Ⓐhℳeⓨ READERS COME FIRST ♔Antiexpensive ebooks ProDiscounts ProFreespeech ProDisclaimers ProHiddengems♔ wrote: " I bet you many people just started to backlash this book hoping their vicious lies would gain momentum and they didn't even read the book.
AMYzing review Chiki-chan!!!!♥
I'm like a detective and ..."

Detective pikachu? LOL.


❀❀Chikiboom❀❀ Chantelle wrote: "Well said"

Thanks Chantelle.


jordan Fabulous review! You eloquently said what I not so eloquently said 😆


❀❀Chikiboom❀❀ jordan wrote: "Fabulous review! You eloquently said what I not so eloquently said 😆"

Thanks. I think your review makes more sense that mine.


Tiffany Knight I don’t think they realize that the author is having them begin in different parts of the world. Why would War awaken and start in the same place as Petulance when he already killed a bunch of people. Wouldn’t they all start at different populated parts and go from there? I think the political BS that people bring into is just bc people want to complain about something today. Ughhh annoying. I didn’t enjoy this book as much as the first but I def liked it and don’t think it should get a bad rap bc of it’s setting.


message 15: by Summer (new) - added it

Summer Fab review!


Parvati Patil Lovely review. What you say is really important.


message 17: by Parvati (last edited Jul 29, 2019 04:32PM) (new) - rated it 5 stars

Parvati Patil I like this
Within the pages of this book, there's nothing, absolutely nothing...

... political anti-political
... religious anti-religious
... pro x ideology anti x ideology
... racist anti-racism.
It's just a paranormal romance.

The female main character is agnostic. Her mother was Jewish, her father was a Muslim and Miriam loved them both fiercely.

War, not the main character, but the real thing doesn't respect...
...creeds ...
... ethnicities...
...ages ...
... ideologies...
... countries...
... political postures...

... and this book reflects that.

I was thinking, you didn't post updates and that's part of our BR rules, I'm okay with that but this should appear in the updates because it's really important. Have you seen how many people post slanderous reviews? And they're saying nobody likes this book and that's also false. Could you please post updates with the facts?


message 18: by Corinne (new) - added it

Corinne They're trying to do to this book what they did to Carve the Mark. I don't know these people except one that I had already labelled as unreliable reviewer. I'm going to use the blocking option now.


Karen Great review Chikiboom!


message 20: by E. AustrenG (new) - added it

E. AustrenG So I'm baffled about those people using their review space to lie about this book.
I'm not. Dishonest reviews are the norm, not the exception in Goodreads and sometimes Amazon.


message 21: by E. AustrenG (new) - added it

E. AustrenG Tracy wrote: "Great review! Social justice does not belong in my fantasy! Thank you!"

Or mine.


back to top