rameau's Reviews > Grave Mercy

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers
Rate this book
Clear rating

by
4884555
I thought this would be about assassinations. I thought this would be about a kick-ass heroine killing people. It's really not. It's about repackaging a ya romance into something slightly paranormal, historical, and shallow. My status updates say it all.

I received an Advanced Readers Copy of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
5 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Grave Mercy.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

03/04/2012
3.0% "That's a rough beginning."
03/04/2012
6.0% "Say what? "At least I will not be the ugliest one here." No. No. Just. No."
03/04/2012
9.0% "I'm going to need the names of the poisons, please."
03/05/2012
10.0% "She excels at making poisons but I've yet to learn any of their names or formulas. This shouldn't irritate me as much as it does, should it?"
03/05/2012
10.0% "I don't understand the point of the first five chapters, all this superficial information could have been offered elsewhere in the book."
03/05/2012
16.0% "Why does he tell her his name so easily?"
03/05/2012
18.0% "She can't stand the idea of men touching her but she can't stand the idea of them slighting her either. The vanity of this girl."
03/05/2012
20.0% ""...this man in whose hands my fate now rests." This doesn't sound like Ismae at all."
03/05/2012
21.0% "Is this where I say "the gentleman doth protest too much?""
03/05/2012
23.0% "This is why I don't like first person present (or past) narrative. The long paragraphs dwelling on her attraction to him instead of advancing the plot."
03/05/2012
25.0% "These people can't keep their lies straight. Fine assassin she is."
03/05/2012
27.0% "It must be inconvenient to be an assassin when everyone appears to hear her thoughts!"
03/05/2012
27.0% "And now she's jealous?"
03/05/2012
28.0% "I smell another DNF coming. Hjälp mig!" 5 comments
03/05/2012
29.0% "She's a trained assassin and you *mock* her?"
03/05/2012
31.0% "Now there's little killing, finally, but how come she isn't trapped in those skirts of hers?"
03/05/2012
32.0% "The one scene I like, the killing of Nocturne, turns out to be a cheap (smut) trick to get them into the same saddle. Sans the smut since this ya."
03/05/2012
32.0% "She cannot muster the desire to search his rooms? What kind of killer is this?"
03/05/2012
33.0% "This element right here, her aversion to a man's touch, should have been a brilliant part of writing but right now it just comes across as an artificial obstacle to their romance."
03/05/2012
34.0% "I haven't mentioned the scars and privacy issue yet, have I?" 3 comments

Comments (showing 1-2 of 2) (2 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by Li (new) - rated it 2 stars

Li Seagull Ahhhh yes. We are in definite agreement, then.


rameau Painfully so.


back to top