Avid Series Reader's Reviews > Dying in the Wool

Dying in the Wool by Frances Brody
Rate this book
Clear rating

Dying in the Wool by Frances Brody is the first book of the Kate Shackleton cozy mystery series set in 1920 Yorkshire, England. Kate is a young widow; her husband Gerald was last spotted in combat on a battlefield in France in 1916. Since his body was never found, Kate harbors a tiny hope he could return.

Kate served in the Volunteer Aid Detachment (VAD), where she met Tabitha Braithwaite. Since the war ended, Kate has successfully located several soldiers for their loved ones, using contacts from VAD days, with help from military men. Now Tabitha is getting married, and wants to hire Kate to find her father, Joshua Braithwaite. He wasn't in the military; he owned and operated Braithwaites' Mill and dyeworks, producing uniforms for the military. 7 years earlier, shortly after an apparent suicide attempt, he had disappeared without a trace.

Kate is excited to be a professional private investigator on her very first case. Her father, a policeman, recommends retired policeman Sykes to be her assistant. Kate stays with Tabitha and her family while she interviews Braithwaite family members, mill employees and village residents. Sykes works the case by blending into the background, his investigation not publicly linked to Kate.

Tabitha's fiance Hector was the boy scout who found Braithwaite, dazed and injured at the water's edge. It seems the scoutmaster bore Braithwaite a grudge over an invention, so he publicized the event as a suicide attempt. Kate's inquiries trigger the murders of the Kellerts, who knew why Braithwaite disappeared, then eventually lead to her own deadly confrontation with a murderer.

The story flows at a remarkably leisurely pace for a mystery, yet historical details keep it interesting. Kate is a likable heroine, Sykes a skilled detective; hope they work together on future cases.

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read Dying in the Wool.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 31, 2019 – Shelved
Started Reading
June 2, 2019 – Finished Reading

No comments have been added yet.