Avid Series Reader's Reviews > The Doublet Affair

The Doublet Affair by Fiona Buckley
Rate this book
Clear rating

The Doublet Affair by Fiona Buckley is the second book of the Ursula Blanchard mystery series set in Elizabethan England. In 1561 Ursula Blanchard is still serving as lady-in-waiting to Queen Elizabeth, who forbids Ursula to leave with her daughter Meg and live with her husband Matthew in France. Before Elizabeth will grant permission, Ursula must complete another spying assignment. Ursula must return to Leonard and Ann Mason's home, this time as governess. She must investigate all who live there or visit, to determine if they are plotting to restore Mary Stuart to the throne.

Ursula pines for her husband, however diligently digs up information about the curious visitors who interact with the Masons. While the characters Ursula investigates are unlikable, their supposed inventions are interesting: a music box, and a glider launched from a rooftop.

Putting herself at tremendous risk, she uncovers a coinage scheme to destabilize Elizabeth's economy by pro-Catholic forces. Predictably, Matthew is involved, and Ursula takes further risks with and for him. But then...she makes a life-changing choice, based upon her deep-seated fear of Catholicism (in the first book, she heard and believed a vivid prediction that a return to Catholicism would mean mass burning at the stake for the general population).
2 likes · flag

Sign into Goodreads to see if any of your friends have read The Doublet Affair.
Sign In »

Reading Progress

May 25, 2019 – Shelved
Started Reading
June 16, 2019 – Finished Reading

Comments Showing 1-1 of 1 (1 new)

dateDown arrow    newest »

message 1: by C. (new)

C. I have never heard of this.

back to top